PMPS Dosing 11/16 Yoyo ,354,+1 297,+2 219 ,+3 199, +4 196, +5 184,+6 195, +8 249

Take heart! This WILL get easier. You're doing an excellent job testing and his patterns will settle and make more sense over time. You can give yourself - and his ears - a break and reduce the testing if you wish. Maybe try PS and a couple in the middle section of the cycle. :)
 
Last edited:
Maybe try PS, and a couple in the middle section of the cycle.
I agree. You are doing great, and things will get easier. We were all overwhelmed when we started.

Yoyo shouldn't plunge like he did yesterday because it's a smaller dose for today, but you still want to start gathering data. If it were me, I would do +2, +4 and +6, but I may not be the best person to give advice because I am a testaholic. :oops:

I added the link for the BD syringe rule to yesterday's post. Hopefully, it will help you.

Also, something else you can start doing. At the beginning of each day's thread, you should include a link to the previous day's thread. It creates an easy way to navigate through all of Yoyo's threads whenever there is a need to look into his history.

I know it's a lot of information. Just take it one day at a time.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree. You are doing great, and things will get easier. We were all overwhelmed when we started.

Yoyo shouldn't plunge like he did yesterday because it's a smaller dose for today, but you still want to start gathering data. If it were me, I would do +2, +4 and +6, but I may not be the best person to give advice because I am a testaholic. :oops:

I added the link for the BD syringe rule to yesterday's post. Hopefully, it will help you.

Also, something else you can start doing. At the beginning of each day's thread, you should include a link to the previous day's thread. It creates an easy way to navigate through all of Yoyo's threads whenever there is a need to look into his history.

I know it's a lot of information. Just take it one day at a time.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good Morning,
Hope the snow has stopped.
As for Yo and Me...hmmmmm.....I am upset with how I am dosing him, not sure he is getting the dose.
You mentioned to include a link to the previous day's thread. I have no idea how to do this. Please explain.
 
Thank you for sending the dosing info.
I am so nervous, now his reading is +1 440. I haven't taken +1 readings before but I don't think it should be higher than AMPS value. Again, the .5 is so small, I don't know if he is getting the dosage at all. Maybe I'm giving him air bubbles. I am shaking because I am so frusrated with ME.

Try to relax. The higher number is probably a food bump. Bailey has actually gone up 60 points at +1.

Hopefully, he got his dose. Did his fur feel wet? Could you smell the insulin on him at the injection site?
 
Here's a typical cycle schedule so you can get an idea of what to expect. As you can see, +1 is usually higher than the preshot number.
This is from the first sticky in the thread.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Try to relax. The higher number is probably a food bump. Bailey has actually gone up 60 points at +1.

Hopefully, he got his dose. Did his fur feel wet? Could you smell the insulin on him at the injection site?
Here's a typical cycle schedule so you can get an idea of what to expect. As you can see, +1 is usually higher than the preshot number.
This is from the first sticky in the thread.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

Try to relax. The higher number is probably a food bump. Bailey has actually gone up 60 points at +1.

Hopefully, he got his dose. Did his fur feel wet? Could you smell the insulin on him at the injection site?
You ARE GREAT! I needed to see that. I am stuck on numbers and amount of dosage and afraid of giving dose at PMPS and AMPS. FEARS ARE A TERRIBLE THING.
His fur was dry.
I don't know how to get into the thread that I created this morning to add his +1.... Please, I need help, not a good morning for me
 
Here are the steps I follow in getting the syringe ready. I had been having trouble getting rid of bubbles. Plus, my vet had originally told me to withdraw the insulin with the syringe, then to push back any extra into the pen. That is not a good idea due to risk of contamination. Additionally, be sure to store the insulin in the refrigerator, not in the door to the fridge. These are all mistakes I've made.

The steps:
1. Slide the plunger up and down the barrel a few times to take advantage of the lubricant on the inside of the barrel.
2. Push the plunger up to the top as much as I can before inserting into the pen.
3. Draw up insulin with a bit extra to make up for possible air bubble.
4. Pull back on the syringe pretty far down so that all the air accumulates at the top and all the insulin consolidates at the bottom.
5. Slowly push the barrel back up and watch as the air bubble gets squeezed out of then needle.
6. Feel the fur to see if it is wet, or smell fur to check for scent of insulin.

**Step 4 is where you can see that you actually have insulin in the pen.
 
I don't know how to get into the thread that I created this morning to add his +1.... Please, I need help, not a good morning for me
At the far right of the title section, above the first post, is a link called thread tools. That's where you can edit the title of the thread.
 
At the far right of the title section, above the first post, is a link called thread tools. That's where you can edit the title of the thread.
Ok...I did that but I can't edit the description under the title. I am assuming that can't be edited?
Also, how do I link the threads as you mentioned. Only reply when You have time. I don't mean to consume all of your morning. I know you have things to do also. I hope your kitty is doing well. All I talk about is my problems....I am sorry to be a pain in the butt.
 
Ok...I did that but I can't edit the description under the title. I am assuming that can't be edited?
You did it perfectly :)

how do I link the threads as you mentioned.
You can go to the first post in the thread, and on the right hand side each post has a number. When you click on the number, it will bring up the link you can copy and paste. If you want to get fancy, you can type something, for example the word "yesterday", then add the link to by highlighting the test and clicking on the link option in the menu bar for the post (7th option). It will give you a box to paste the url into.

All I talk about is my problems....I am sorry to be a pain in the butt.
You are not being a pain in the butt. We all started not knowing, and we all asked questions. That's how we learn. We are all kitty lovers, and we are all happy to help you keep your kitty safe and help your kitty get better. I just want to make sure I give you the best information to do that. Hopefully, other more experienced members will chime in and add their experiences.

Take the time to read other posts. I learned so much by doing that.

I'll check on you throughout the day :)
 
You did it perfectly :)


You can go to the first post in the thread, and on the right hand side each post has a number. When you click on the number, it will bring up the link you can copy and paste. If you want to get fancy, you can type something, for example the word "yesterday", then add the link to by highlighting the test and clicking on the link option in the menu bar for the post (7th option). It will give you a box to paste the url into.


You are not being a pain in the butt. We all started not knowing, and we all asked questions. That's how we learn. We are all kitty lovers, and we are all happy to help you keep your kitty safe and help your kitty get better. I just want to make sure I give you the best information to do that. Hopefully, other more experienced members will chime in and add their experiences.

Take the time to read other posts. I learned so much by doing that.

I'll check on you throughout the day :)
I copied and pasted. Not sure if I did it right, but I did something:)
Gonna go get +2 from the poor boys ear.
 
You did the right thing, but in the wrong place :)
So, once the url is copied, you will need to copy and paste it into the first post of the thread.
To do that now, you are going to click on the word edit which is at the bottom section of the post, next to the time stamp.

You should go and edit the title and take the url out of there :) You'll need that space to post updated numbers.
 
I copied and pasted. Not sure if I did it right, but I did something:)
Gonna go get +2 from the poor boys ear.
+2 = 343...so I guess he got some insulin in him this morning....yay!
He hasn't had food since rght before his insulin injection. Do I need to offer a small amount of food or give his normal amount around 10ish?
 
This is where I fall short. I know what to do with Bailey, but not sure how things will work with Yoyo because I haven't been on here long enough. Here's the way I see it, though.
His +2 is significantly lower than his AMPS. That to me indicates an active cycle. We don't know enough about how he handles insulin, and if he is a plunging cat or a cruising cat. Can you give him part of his 10ish food now, then give the rest at 10ish? That also breaks it up a bit.
 
This is where I fall short. I know what to do with Bailey, but not sure how things will work with Yoyo because I haven't been on here long enough. Here's the way I see it, though.
His +2 is significantly lower than his AMPS. That to me indicates an active cycle. We don't know enough about how he handles insulin, and if he is a plunging cat or a cruising cat. Can you give him part of his 10ish food now, then give the rest at 10ish? That also breaks it up a bit.
Okay...will do that now
 
Couple of questions for you.
1. Have you prepared a hypo kit?
2. Do you a way to test for ketones?
Yes, I have a hypo kit ready with Karo syrup and canned food. I have ketone strips but I haven't used them for two days. Overwhelmed with the insulin shot. It has consumed my life, not good!
 
Yes, I have a hypo kit ready with Karo syrup and canned food. I have ketone strips but I haven't used them for two days. Overwhelmed with the insulin shot. It has consumed my life, not good!
You are doing great! I was just asking as a preparation thing, but you are ahead of the game :)

Let's see how Yoyo does for his +3.
 
Good Morning Debra. It looks like last night was a night you could get some sleep.

Like everyone said, it will get easier. He is so new to this dance and eventually as the depot fills in ( it can take 4-6 cycles for a depot to get full ) then you will know how that dose is working for him.

We have all been where you are, overwhelmed, scared, and trying to absorb and learn. You are in good company. :bighug:
 
Good Morning Debra. It looks like last night was a night you could get some sleep.

Like everyone said, it will get easier. He is so new to this dance and eventually as the depot fills in ( it can take 4-6 cycles for a depot to get full ) then you will know how that dose is working for him.

We have all been where you are, overwhelmed, scared, and trying to absorb and learn. You are in good company. :bighug:
You are all WONDERFUL people with GREAT BIG HEARTS! I hope one day I can reciprocate to someone else should they need it!
 
Nice drop for Yoyo at +3.

Can you update the spreadsheet with his food after AMPS?

Maybe @Bobbie And Bubba can make recommendations for how often to test now that we have some numbers to go by.
Trying to save Yoyo from Bailey's experience. :)
 
Nice drop for Yoyo at +3.

Can you update the spreadsheet with his food after AMPS?

Maybe @Bobbie And Bubba can make recommendations for how often to test now that we have some numbers to go by.
Trying to save Yoyo from Bailey's experience. :)
Yoyo thanks you very much. Nut he is so good about it. He comes onto the bed and lets me get his blood count. Love that boy!
 
Yoyo thanks you very much. Nut he is so good about it. He comes onto the bed and lets me get his blood count. Love that boy!
I updated food by his BG #'s but the color Yellow disappeared on my page...any ideas?
He also had his FELIMAZOLE pill before insulin dosage. Had it with his food.
 
He comes onto the bed and lets me get his blood count.
Aw, he's just like Bailey. Does make it easier :)

If we don't hear otherwise from @Bobbie And Bubba, I say we get a +4.
What do you think?

I don't know anything about hypothyroidism and BG so hopefully someone else can chime in and give you some thoughts on that.
The yellow went away because you added the food in there. You can manually add the color back in using the paint tools in the menu.

I used to do that and put the food right in with the BG, but then I was told it can get cluttered so I started putting the food in the comments. You can decide for yourself what to do. What's most important is that it works for you.
 
Gotta go face the snow. :nailbiting::(:arghh:

I'll come back in to check on you get warmed up :)
I hope you are enjoying yourself outside. Throw a snowball for me!
I'm going to take care of my other pets and finally try and get dressed. I work from home inbetween testing Yoyo. I have so many windows open on my comouter! I need a break....be back in about a half hour, will get Yo's +5 and post it....thank you for everything again, you are a life saver!
 
Hi good morning (well maybe not really morning probably already afternoon for you), Yoyo is looking good, he is responding to the insulin, I think you are doing great.

Given his numbers I think you do not need to test every hour at this point maybe getting a +6 or +7 and depending on the result you get then decide if you need another test or if you wait until the preshoot test.

On a normal basis usually we try to get one or two tests during the cycle one being at +2 test to see if it is going to be an active cycle and one around the nadir +6 or +7 and same at night we try and get a +2 or close to that before going to sleep and if it looks good we call it a night if not you get out the night kit ( that is for you: coffee movie not to fall asleep late night snack etc) and depending on your schedule and life try and get one when you get up or if you wake up for something get a test then but you do have consider yourself and try and get some rest, remember he needs you to be ok too.

Diabetes is a marathon ( and a long one) not a fast race so you need to be patient and take everything one step at a time
 
Hi good morning (well maybe not really morning probably already afternoon for you), Yoyo is looking good, he is responding to the insulin, I think you are doing great.

Given his numbers I think you do not need to test every hour at this point maybe getting a +6 or +7 and depending on the result you get then decide if you need another test or if you wait until the preshoot test.

On a normal basis usually we try to get one or two tests during the cycle one being at +2 test to see if it is going to be an active cycle and one around the nadir +6 or +7 and same at night we try and get a +2 or close to that before going to sleep and if it looks good we call it a night if not you get out the night kit ( that is for you: coffee movie not to fall asleep late night snack etc) and depending on your schedule and life try and get one when you get up or if you wake up for something get a test then but you do have consider yourself and try and get some rest, remember he needs you to be ok too.

Diabetes is a marathon ( and a long one) not a fast race so you need to be patient and take everything one step at a time
Thank you for checking in on us...we really appreciate it!
I feel better starting at .5 units 2 x day. Giving 1 unit, especially at night, scared me if his PMPS was a low number. Afraid of hypoglycemia and very scary doing the injections at home. Thanks again..have a great day!
 
You are doing great! Yoyo looks awesome!

maybe getting a +6 or +7
+7 sounds good.
Maybe a +11 before PMPS could let you know if he is a double dipper. Bailey will do this, a second nadir, not quite has low as the first one.

Hope you can get a lot of your work done now that you are not testing hourly.
The snow in my driveway is kicking my butt. Too long and unpaved. :(
 
You are doing great! Yoyo looks awesome!


+7 sounds good.
Maybe a +11 before PMPS could let you know if he is a double dipper. Bailey will do this, a second nadir, not quite has low as the first one.

Hope you can get a lot of your work done now that you are not testing hourly.
The snow in my driveway is kicking my butt. Too long and unpaved. :(
That's the part I don't miss, shoveling the heavy wet snow. But I bet it's beautiful outside!
Yo went up to 180 at +6 test. I fed him 1/4 can ff about 20 minutes before test. Does food effect reading? Or is he just going up already?
CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT YOU FEED FOR A HIGH CARB FOOD IF NEEDED IN AN EMERGENCY. I just called Purina and spoke with their veterinarian dept and she gave me some choices that have 28% and 18% dry matter carbs. What do you keep on hand?
 
Last edited:
Does food effect reading? Or is he just going up already?
That's the magic question and reason why we try not to feed before testing.
It usually takes 20 minutes for the effects of the food to show up in the blood stream so definitely some of that number is food, but it's impossible to know how much.

Also, because it is a food induced number, it's impossible to know if he was already rising.
When you are testing, it doesn't have to be on the hour. If Yoyo is very hungry 30 minutes before you are due to test, you can test, then feed him and then note that accordingly in the spreadsheet. So, maybe 180@+5.5. Does that make sense?

CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT YOU FEED FOR A HIGH CARB FOOD IF NEEDED IN AN EMERGENCY.
One of the members here posted a picture of their high carb food stash. I will try to find that and share with you. What she posted is what I purchased, and it includes a variety of LC, MC and HC foods.

Is that 28% in dry food? Dry food carbs stay in the system for a very long time, affecting their numbers even into the next day. If those are wet food carbs, those are good to keep on hand.

But I bet it's beautiful outside!
It is beautiful. If I didn't have to shovel it or drive through it, I wouldn't hate it so much.

Gotta go so some more shoveling. :(
 
The 28% is dry matter as fed for carbs in wet canned food. It is Frisky Indoor Chunky Chicken & Turkey Gravy
That's perfect for a severe case!
Before you stock up too much, wait to see how Yoyo does. Bailey was at 49 today, and I've been steering her with LC food and LC gravy. I think the MC and HC was too extreme for her and made her bounce. I keep several cans of MC and HC on hand, but not too many because it would have to be an extreme emergency for me to break that out now. I'd much rather do the honey or karo syrup. Bring her up quick, carry her through with LC.
I see Yoyo is starting to come up. Hopefully, he doesn't go too high, and staying consistent with the dose will hopefully moderate his numbers more.
 
That's perfect for a severe case!
Before you stock up too much, wait to see how Yoyo does. Bailey was at 49 today, and I've been steering her with LC food and LC gravy. I think the MC and HC was too extreme for her and made her bounce. I keep several cans of MC and HC on hand, but not too many because it would have to be an extreme emergency for me to break that out now. I'd much rather do the honey or karo syrup. Bring her up quick, carry her through with LC.
I see Yoyo is starting to come up. Hopefully, he doesn't go too high, and staying consistent with the dose will hopefully moderate his numbers more.
Were you concerned at 49? I would have been a nervous wreck. Does Bailey respond well to the MC or HC wet food when needed? Is it a real quick response time?
If you needed to be with Bailey, you should have told me. I won't have bothered you with all the writing back and forth.
I hope Bailey is doing ok.
 
Were you concerned at 49? I would have been a nervous wreck. Does Bailey respond well to the MC or HC wet food when needed? Is it a real quick response time?
If you needed to be with Bailey, you should have told me. I won't have bothered you with all the writing back and forth.
I hope Bailey is doing ok.
I haven't taken another reading, I want to save the poor boys ears for tonight. He is going up, too bad he didn't surf more. I guess the .5 unit is small but I get to learn this way without too much stress. I still worry about dosing when numbers will hopefully be turning lower, but hopefully you will be coaching me and I will feel more comfortable. I don't know how everyone gets over the fear of dosing with low numbers. Do you change the dose as needed?
 
Bailey is fine, and I was concerned, but not scared. I don't take a 49 lightly, but I also know I have time to bring her back up. Still steering her now. She keeps wanting to drop, that little stinker. No, I don't mean that. She's a cutie :)

So, Bailey over-responds to food. I have experimented a lot with her, which is why I poke her so much.
Her winning formula: Her food needs to be watered down like a soup, and the gravy of the LC food is not given until the last feeding of the day. Including it at that point helps to sustain her longer so she is not walking all over my face at 4am.:rolleyes:

Here is how I handled today, and communicating with you did not interfere at all.

+5 49 She was already due for food, so fed her her 1/8 can with a drop of the LC gravy which is normally excluded
+5.5 51 Fed her 1 tsp with another 2 drops of LC gravy.
+6 65 No food, waiting to see if she starts to come up on her own
+7 61 She's stable. Let's see whats she does with no food.
+7.5 57 Well, she may be wanting to drop again so 1 tsp food w 1 drop gravy
+8 62 No food, waiting to see if she comes up on her own.
+8.5 54 She probably won't go lower because it is so late in the cycle, but playing it safe so 1 tsp food with LC gravy.

I will test her again in 30 minutes again to see what is happening. As long as she doesn't go too far below 50, I'm ok. Staying in normal range of 50-80 is good for her, and I don't want to kick her out of there too soon.
I know I do way too much testing, but the flip side of that is I have a lot of data so I can go back, look at a cycle, and compare what she is doing now to another day and have an idea how her body will react.

Everyone does things differently. Other mama beans would not keep steering her at this point because her number are relatively the same. I prefer to continue to steer her. That's the beauty of this board. We can all share great ideas, but ultimately you will decide on what's best for Yoyo, and you will continue to be supported because everyone here wants to put the safety and well-being of the kitties above all else.

For the record, we can contrast today to when I first started on this board. I think I put up a 911 when Bailey hit 125, or something like that. So lame. I used to freak out so much. Give it time. You will feel more comfortable in due time.
 
Thank you for checking in on us...we really appreciate it!
I feel better starting at .5 units 2 x day. Giving 1 unit, especially at night, scared me if his PMPS was a low number. Afraid of hypoglycemia and very scary doing the injections at home. Thanks again..have a great day!

Hang in there we all have been there at the beginning I literally sweated every time I had to give the shoots and I used to stare at Babu just to make sure he was breathing

I guess the .5 unit is small but I get to learn this way without too much stress. I still worry about dosing when numbers will hopefully be turning lower, but hopefully you will be coaching me and I will feel more comfortable.

Yes I do think that probably after the 7 initial days you will need to raise the dose a bit but in the mean time his numbers are looking good an in a very safe range.
Keep asking as much as you need

I don't know how everyone gets over the fear of dosing with low numbers.

Basically because you have to

Do you change the dose as needed?
The best way to do it is sticking with the protocol, trying to make a summary:

For SLGS
You hold the dose for 7 days and after that depending on his nadir you adjust the dose or you decrease the dose by 0.25 if at any time he goes under 90

For TR
At first you hold the dose for 5 to 7 days and after that for at least 6 cycles, after the 6 cycles and depending on his nadir you adjust the dose or you decrease by 0.25 the dose if at any time he goes under 50

But I do recommend you give the protocols a reading ( I had to read them quite a few times to get an idea )
 
Bailey is fine, and I was concerned, but not scared. I don't take a 49 lightly, but I also know I have time to bring her back up. Still steering her now. She keeps wanting to drop, that little stinker. No, I don't mean that. She's a cutie :)

So, Bailey over-responds to food. I have experimented a lot with her, which is why I poke her so much.
Her winning formula: Her food needs to be watered down like a soup, and the gravy of the LC food is not given until the last feeding of the day. Including it at that point helps to sustain her longer so she is not walking all over my face at 4am.:rolleyes:

Here is how I handled today, and communicating with you did not interfere at all.

+5 49 She was already due for food, so fed her her 1/8 can with a drop of the LC gravy which is normally excluded
+5.5 51 Fed her 1 tsp with another 2 drops of LC gravy.
+6 65 No food, waiting to see if she starts to come up on her own
+7 61 She's stable. Let's see whats she does with no food.
+7.5 57 Well, she may be wanting to drop again so 1 tsp food w 1 drop gravy
+8 62 No food, waiting to see if she comes up on her own.
+8.5 54 She probably won't go lower because it is so late in the cycle, but playing it safe so 1 tsp food with LC gravy.

I will test her again in 30 minutes again to see what is happening. As long as she doesn't go too far below 50, I'm ok. Staying in normal range of 50-80 is good for her, and I don't want to kick her out of there too soon.
I know I do way too much testing, but the flip side of that is I have a lot of data so I can go back, look at a cycle, and compare what she is doing now to another day and have an idea how her body will react.

Everyone does things differently. Other mama beans would not keep steering her at this point because her number are relatively the same. I prefer to continue to steer her. That's the beauty of this board. We can all share great ideas, but ultimately you will decide on what's best for Yoyo, and you will continue to be supported because everyone here wants to put the safety and well-being of the kitties above all else.

For the record, we can contrast today to when I first started on this board. I think I put up a 911 when Bailey hit 125, or something like that. So lame. I used to freak out so much. Give it time. You will feel more comfortable in due time.
It's amazing how you know how to do all of that and keep calm.
What is your normal feeding schedule for Bailey.
I have been feeding Yo about every 2-3 hours because he lost so much weight. He used to be 13.8. Today 11.8. He has been holding his weight for over a week now. He was loosing very fast. In 1 month he went down over 1 lb. That is why I took him to the vet. He was just at the vet for complete blood wk up at the end of July and his Glucose was normal at 171. His glucose had been around 245 in April but no glucose seen in urine and vet told me not to be concerned. Vet said it was high due to stress. When he was younger and healthier his glucose was always normal. I think having hyperthyroidism and being on felimazole helped bring on the diabetes. Felimazole is a pink sugary coated pill, I have read where the sugar in the pill also causes diabetes. Who knows the truth! But thyroid is hand in hand with diabetes. I should have had him on a low carb diet immediately when glucose was showing high readings.
Anyway, here we are now, doing insulin. Yo has been through a lot starting last December when he had his leg removed. That was a real shock to his system and to me! But he has learned to cope and he his happy enough and that is what counts the most, his happiness and well being. Oh well, enough of me taking up your time.
I hope Bailey's numbers are coming up where you want them.
Will you be available tonight to watch Yoyo's counts with me? I don't know if I am supposed to ask you that, so if not, you do not have to respond to that question. I don't know all the rules. But I thank you for your time and input througout today!
Hey, is it still snowing? How much did you get?
 
Last edited:
Great advice @Veronica & Babu-chiri . Couldn't have said it better myself :)

What is your normal feeding schedule for Bailey.
Bailey's feeding schedule is on the comments on her SS, but she is little runt of a cat weighing only 8lbs so I doubt that would work for Yoyo.

But I didn't know to do that!
Seems like everyone on this board has said that as some point. We're all learning.

Yo has been through a lot starting last December when he had his leg removed.
Poor thing. That must have been such a difficult time for all of you, but he is also very lucky to have a mama bean who loves him and cares for him very much.

Will you be available tonight to watch Yoyo's counts with me?
I don't know, but I can try. I'm pretty tired from the shoveling, and I wouldn't want to commit unless I know I can stay up. No worries though. There are so many experienced members on this board. You will not be left alone. The first step is to see how his numbers are doing tonight. Do you plan to get a +11? It would be helpful because if it happens to be low, you can ask for advice from the members. There are so many dosing experts that can tell you whether to hold the .5, skip, or continue to stall. It's very important not to feed Yoyo while you are waiting for a response if he happens to be a bit low. In that case, you will often be advised to stall without food to see if he comes back up on his own.
 
Great advice @Veronica & Babu-chiri . Couldn't have said it better myself :)


Bailey's feeding schedule is on the comments on her SS, but she is little runt of a cat weighing only 8lbs so I doubt that would work for Yoyo.


Seems like everyone on this board has said that as some point. We're all learning.


Poor thing. That must have been such a difficult time for all of you, but he is also very lucky to have a mama bean who loves him and cares for him very much.


I don't know, but I can try. I'm pretty tired from the shoveling, and I wouldn't want to commit unless I know I can stay up. No worries though. There are so many experienced members on this board. You will not be left alone. The first step is to see how his numbers are doing tonight. Do you plan to get a +11? It would be helpful because if it happens to be low, you can ask for advice from the members. There are so many dosing experts that can tell you whether to hold the .5, skip, or continue to stall. It's very important not to feed Yoyo while you are waiting for a response if he happens to be a bit low. In that case, you will often be advised to stall without food to see if he comes back up on his own.

I wil get a +11 reading around 6:30pm

So when I looked at the photos of the syringes the black rubber stopper, not sure what it is called, is just under the 1/2 unit marker LINE and just over the 1 unit marker LINE.
When I used the 1/2 unit marker LINE I went on top of the black Line, far away from the 1 unit Line. So tonight Yoyo may get the correct amount of .5 units and have a different reaction than last night but hopefully not too different. Fear is back!

Am I correct in what I wrote about the black ruber stopper and where it is placed. I find it hard to fill that syringe correctly. I break out in a sweat.

Also, when I do the +1 tonight when do I feed him. Last night Bobbie and Bubba informed me to give him some food. That is where I get confused. Please shed some light on feeding him during the night and the day times. I don't mean to interfere with his readings like I did at the +5 with food.
 
So tonight Yoyo may get the correct amount of .5 units
I'm not really good at the dosing stuff so this may be a good question to ask the board.
I wouldn't change it to .5. I would keep it where you gave it to him the other two times. The actual dose is not what's important, but rather consistency and seeing how he reacts. Yoyo did very well today on the dose you gave him, and he is still building his depot. Based on the pictures you saw, how much insulin do you think you are giving him? Might be better to update the spreadsheet than to change the dose.

For the feedings, here is a basic overview:
No food within two hours of shot time.

Try to test-feed-shoot within a 15 minute interval. If he doesn't eat, you don't shoot.

Feed the bulk of the food over the next several hours, with the bulk of the food being feed prior to typical nadir time of +6 or +7.

ECID though. So some people regularly give food at +6 and +9, other stop after +7, etc. You will figure out what works best for Yoyo.

i think I gave you the advice to give food at +1, but I think I was misinterpreting your SS. Do you see how today, Yoyo had a food bump at +1? Well, he didn't have that yesterday, and I was afraid his BG would go down too fast. Your goal is give him his food without rising his BG too much, but also slowing him down if his numbers are dropping too fast. of course, you also need to take your own schedule into consideration.

For now, why not maintain the schedule you have been doing for now, just to see if it works for him? He had a nice run today :)
 
I'm not really good at the dosing stuff so this may be a good question to ask the board.
I wouldn't change it to .5. I would keep it where you gave it to him the other two times. The actual dose is not what's important, but rather consistency and seeing how he reacts. Yoyo did very well today on the dose you gave him, and he is still building his depot. Based on the pictures you saw, how much insulin do you think you are giving him? Might be better to update the spreadsheet than to change the dose.

For the feedings, here is a basic overview:
No food within two hours of shot time.

Try to test-feed-shoot within a 15 minute interval. If he doesn't eat, you don't shoot.

Feed the bulk of the food over the next several hours, with the bulk of the food being feed prior to typical nadir time of +6 or +7.

ECID though. So some people regularly give food at +6 and +9, other stop after +7, etc. You will figure out what works best for Yoyo.

i think I gave you the advice to give food at +1, but I think I was misinterpreting your SS. Do you see how today, Yoyo had a food bump at +1? Well, he didn't have that yesterday, and I was afraid his BG would go down too fast. Your goal is give him his food without rising his BG too much, but also slowing him down if his numbers are dropping too fast. of course, you also need to take your own schedule into consideration.

For now, why not maintain the schedule you have been doing for now, just to see if it works for him? He had a nice run today :)

Do I need to change my Post thread by asking for someone to help me tonight? What would I write
Going to get the +11 reading. I fed Yo at 5pm, so this reading could be higher from food, but the PMPS will be over 2 hours with no food. Hope I did that right!
 
Edit the thread to include a question mark as the prefix in the title (There's a pull down menu for that).
Then put something like PMPS dosing question. need help.

Including the words need help lets people know you need assistance right away, and that it's not just a general question
 
Do I need to change my Post thread by asking for someone to help me tonight? What would I write
Going to get the +11 reading. I fed Yo at 5pm, so this reading could be higher from food, but the PMPS will be over 2 hours with no food. Hope I did that right!
I'm not really good at the dosing stuff so this may be a good question to ask the board.
I wouldn't change it to .5. I would keep it where you gave it to him the other two times. The actual dose is not what's important, but rather consistency and seeing how he reacts. Yoyo did very well today on the dose you gave him, and he is still building his depot. Based on the pictures you saw, how much insulin do you think you are giving him? Might be better to update the spreadsheet than to change the dose.

For the feedings, here is a basic overview:
No food within two hours of shot time.

Try to test-feed-shoot within a 15 minute interval. If he doesn't eat, you don't shoot.

Feed the bulk of the food over the next several hours, with the bulk of the food being feed prior to typical nadir time of +6 or +7.

ECID though. So some people regularly give food at +6 and +9, other stop after +7, etc. You will figure out what works best for Yoyo.

i think I gave you the advice to give food at +1, but I think I was misinterpreting your SS. Do you see how today, Yoyo had a food bump at +1? Well, he didn't have that yesterday, and I was afraid his BG would go down too fast. Your goal is give him his food without rising his BG too much, but also slowing him down if his numbers are dropping too fast. of course, you also need to take your own schedule into consideration.

For now, why not maintain the schedule you have been doing for now, just to see if it works for him? He had a nice run today :)
Edit the thread to include a question mark as the prefix in the title (There's a pull down menu for that).
Then put something like PMPS dosing question. need help.

Including the words need help lets people know you need assistance right away, and that it's not just a general question
Okay, I did that.
Time to go test, feed, and shoot....wish me luck!
Thank you for everything today, much appreciated!
Hope to hear from you tonight, but I understand if your tired.
 
Good luck!
I'll be around for the next few hours.

Bailey decided to hit me with a PMPS of 69. I hit back with a skinny shot. Ha, I'll show her whose boss.
No, actually she's the boss. Hope she lets me sleep.:facepalm:
 
This is a very long thread so copying your question to the bottom so anyone looking can find it quickly.

So when I looked at the photos of the syringes the black rubber stopper, not sure what it is called, is just under the 1/2 unit marker LINE and just over the 1 unit marker LINE.
When I used the 1/2 unit marker LINE I went on top of the black Line, far away from the 1 unit Line. So tonight Yoyo may get the correct amount of .5 units and have a different reaction than last night but hopefully not too different. Fear is back!

Am I correct in what I wrote about the black ruber stopper and where it is placed. I find it hard to fill that syringe correctly. I break out in a sweat.

Also, when I do the +1 tonight when do I feed him. Last night Bobbie and Bubba informed me to give him some food. That is where I get confused. Please shed some light on feeding him during the night and the day times. I don't mean to interfere with his readings like I did at the +5 with food.
 
Back
Top