PMPS BG 125, 12 hours later AMPS BG 430??

Status
Not open for further replies.

suwannee79

Member Since 2012
I've been checking George's BG for about a week now and he's usually in the 300s with a visit to the 100s and 200s every now and then. We're still trying to figure out his dosage so I was already planning on doing a curve for the vet today - when I checked his BG before feeding last night it was 125 so I didn't give insulin, 2 hours later it was 205 but he'd eaten so I expected it to be a little higher. I just did his pre-meal check for this morning and it came back at 430! I double checked and the 2nd time it came back at 446.

Any ideas how it jumped over 300 points in 12 hours?? He hasn't been in the 400s at all since I've been checking, this is so out of the norm, and to be so low last night....

Hopefully today's curve will shed some light on what's going on!
 
More than likely it is a combination of the skipped shot and a bounce from hitting a number that is lower than what his body is use too. You know that 125 is a safe number but his body is use to being in the 300s so when it finally hits something in the low 100s it thinks he is going hypo and sends out stored sugars and counter-reglatory hormones which sky-rockets his BGs.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
That makes sense, thank you!! Question though, at some point does their body stop overproducing insulin to compensate for what we know are safe numbers?
 
Oh yes, their liver eventually remembers what it feels like to feel normal again and they stop bouncing all over the place, that is why we usually hold a dose for 3-5 days before making adjustments and why we always test before giving insulin. Because things can and do change sometimes quite fast.

But they aren't overproducing insulin, they are releasing stored sugars and counter-reglatory hormones when they bounce like that...if they were over producing insulin they wouldn't be diabetics..they would be hypoglycemic (low blood sugar). We give the insulin because their bodies aren't producing enough by itself.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Boy had been doing that for a couple of days too....bouncing everywhere. Vet said it was most likely rebound. Went from 400's to 300's, now 200's yesterday, and mid-100's all day so far and have been decreasing the ProZinc to 1-2u as needed. Looks like his BG is settling out more now with the reduced doses. I know the dosing can be frustrating...and scary. I'm thankful my vet has been so good about my calling the last two days for dosing changes. Hope you have better readings later and they begin to level out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top