? PMPS at 4.3 mmol/L (77 mg/dL)... never been there, do I give him a partial dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele & Theo

Member Since 2019
I just took Theo's PMPS and it was at a level he has never been at 4.3 mmol/L... I retested immediately and it was 4.5 mmol/L. His morning reading was 21.8 mmol/L (292 mg/dL) which is where he normally is for both morning and evening.

He is eating now (he nibbles his food for the next hour or but ends up eating 99% of a can over the next 3.5 hrs; he then gets 1/3 can to last overnight)..he's acted normally all day (he does walk on his hocks due to severe neuropathy).

Question. Do I give him a partial dose later or totally miss the evening dose? His BG has dropped significantly a couple of other times but not this low (in the 7 to 8 mmol/L range - see spreadsheet). The advice I had from the emergency vet for those times was to feed him, and retest in an hour after eating and if the BG was above 12 to go ahead with the full dose. My vet mentioned once to possibly give him half a dose so he doesn't rebound, but again that was if his levels were in the 10 to 12 mmol/L range. He has thrown me for a loop with this 'normal' reading and I am not sure whether or not to give him the insulin even if his levels rise 1 hour post eating.

thanks for any help.
Michele
 
I think since you have never had a reading anywhere even close to that low before, I'd skip the shot to night as long as Theo has no history of ketones or DKA. You want to know what his reading is without food influence to decide whether to give insulin or not. Eating will raise BG but only temporarily.
 
The next time Theo throws you a low pre-shot reading, don't feed him and retest in 30 minutes to see if he is rising on his own without food in the picture.
 
Can you take the 911 off your message please. That is meant for kitties in distress (emergency situation like extremely low BG) so now that you are settled we don't want to alarm anyone.;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top