PMPS 92 WAY LOWER THAN NORMAL HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is acting normal and has been acting normal even with his ups and downs as seen on SS.
He is a 12 year old and had diabetes since 2006. He has always been on Lantus. He eats Fancy feast classic chicken and some 9 lives.
I am a little stressed out about his latest numbers.
 
Since you have already fed him rechecking him in an hour isn't going to tell you much since it will be an food influenced number. Personally I would just skip the shot altogether this evening and start fresh in the morning. Normally we advise not shooting under 200 until you have lots of data on how they will handle a dose at lower than usual numbers. Plus this being night where you won't be up all night to watch him. He maybe high in the morning but better high for a day than too low for a minute especially over night.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
yes I did look at his spreadsheet and it looks like you have been moving the dose around alot, Lantus works much better with a consistant dose, and dose changes should be based off the nadir, it looks like you maybe shifting the dose around based on his preshot numbers...Am I correct?

I'll be back in a few minutes I need to go test Musette. However, I would recommend that you wander over to the ISG (insulin support groups) here and check out the stickies (permanent posts marked with stars) on the Lantus TR group there is a wealth of information on Lantus and how it is dosed and when and how to increase and decrease doses.

BTW Welcome to the FDMB Family.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I did not think that I was moving him around. I guess I have alot to learn.
He was on .75 for 16 days and I thought he could go a little higher dose when I was seeing all higher numbers when I did curves.
So I started giving 1 unit going on day 6.
on 3/6 I gave AMPS.75 because I gave him a little .25 2 hours later than usual because of his PMPS of 110 the night before.
Guess it doesn't work that way.
 
The last full curve I see on him was back on 1/16 and there appears to be a lot of dose changes between then and now without a curve run, unless you have other numbers for him that aren't in his spreadsheet.

It also looks like there are a lot of one dose in the am and a different dose on the pm shot. Lantus needs the same dose given both am and pm because it works off a shed or depot under the skin. The biggest problem is that too much insulin can look exactly like too little. But on the shots where you only gave .5u he had better numbers than on the higher doses.

Those are just the things that pop out at me, however, I'm not a great one to give advice on Lantus as while I have had two diabetics on it, my first one went into remission very quickly and my second one Lantus wasn't a good fit for her so I have switched her to Levemir and getting a much better response from it in her case. She was way too bouncy on Lantus. However, if you would like some dosing help and since you have a spreadsheet up I would post to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum and ask them to give their opinions on what is going on. They are a great bunch of folks and will be more than will to help you get him all figured out so you can get him out of those high numbers and into a more normal range.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top