PMPS 88 stalling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie W

Member Since 2020
Two questions Pepper had a +11 this morning of 317. AMPS was 278. I just started testing as soon as I wake up, then after I get ready for work. Is it normal for it to drop? Yesterday was the first time I did it, and it went up. Fasting both days. This morning because of the drop and suggestions of lowering dosage, I decided to go back to 1U instead of the 1.5U. I guess with it being 88 now 12 hours later I'm glad I did. I have no idea how he did as I was at work. Question two, even if he goes up, since he's in the normal range what do I do? Thank you for any input!
Julie and Pepper
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...DbvDjFC7PFVM4g_d70x3mtE46mk/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
Token dose would be up to 0.25U at the lowered dosing amount just started. When I gave that before it seemed to do nothing but he was around 170s 180s. I gave 1U the other night and he did well, but got down to 77 at +6 before I had to get some sleep.i did feed, and thinking about the 0.25U though. Doing the slgs method.
 
So when do I not shoot? I definitely will be testing a lot, and feeding a lot. I was nervous to give it. Should I have given anything? Also, do I also drop his regular dose to 0.75 now since he was under 90 again?
 
Could you give us any more test data, for this evening's cycle? Any test after that pre-shot test would be good to see.

I would have recommended that you stall a bit longer, to see if the BG was coming up more at the PMPS test time. You can stall up to 1 hour with Prozinc, and still stay on schedule for the next cycle. Next time. Try that next time if you get a BG reading <150, to stall for longer without feeding.

I think the 0.75U would be too much for Pepper, as his regular dose. Still trying to find a dose that doesn't take him too low at the mid-cycle nadir time.

So I think no more than 0.25U for his regular dose amount. That is going to be hard to measure, so simply try the best you can to "eyeball" the dose since syringes do not have 1/4 unit markings on the barrel.
 
The first test was 88 @ 5:55 then 110 @ 6:27, and 230 @ 8:30. What number (range) am I looking for at the nadir? I would guess the normal range? So start 0.25U tomorrow?
 
What number (range) am I looking for at the nadir?
Since you are using the SLGS prozinc dosing method, you don't want the BG levels to be below 90 at nadir (or at any other time during the 12 hour cycle).
Higher than normal numbers are ok at nadir.
Numbers that are <90 need to have some food support to keep the cat's BG levels at a safe range.
Numbers <50 need even more proactive food support and testing for several hours.

So start 0.25U tomorrow?
Yes, I'd recommend that you start that very low dose tomorrow, in the morning (AM) cycle.

Let's see if that small 0.25U dose allows Pepper to stay a bit safer.

Don't worry about the higher BG numbers you have received this evening, 12/1/20. Those yellows and pinks are likely because of the food influence.

Food raises BG levels, insulin lowers it.
You're trying to balance the effects of the two things, the food and the insulin.
It's not an exact science, as there are other reasons the BG levels can fluctuate. Activity level, how much food is eaten and when, stress, sleeping more are some of those additional reasons for varying BG levels.
 
Since you are using the SLGS prozinc dosing method, you don't want the BG levels to be below 90 at nadir (or at any other time during the 12 hour cycle).
Higher than normal numbers are ok at nadir.
Numbers that are <90 need to have some food support to keep the cat's BG levels at a safe range.
Numbers <50 need even more proactive food support and testing for several hours.


Yes, I'd recommend that you start that very low dose tomorrow, in the morning (AM) cycle.

Let's see if that small 0.25U dose allows Pepper to stay a bit safer.

Don't worry about the higher BG numbers you have received this evening, 12/1/20. Those yellows and pinks are likely because of the food influence.

Food raises BG levels, insulin lowers it.
You're trying to balance the effects of the two things, the food and the insulin.
It's not an exact science, as there are other reasons the BG levels can fluctuate. Activity level, how much food is eaten and when, stress, sleeping more are some of those additional reasons for varying BG levels.
Ok, thank you! With him going so high is he still at risk of going hypo tonight?
 
He bounced back up!! was at 467 @ +9, and 569 at AMPS!!! Started the recommended 0.25U new dose, but worried the numbers are so high right now!! What did I do to my baby!?
 
He's bouncing from those low green BG numbers.
Give the lower dose at least 3-6 cycles to work, and see how his numbers trend.

You are looking for patterns over several days. Not only 1 cycle or 2.

Never hurts to do a ketone test.
 
I will. Thank you all for your help! I will figure out how to do the ketone test. I was looking it up today. I almost never see him pee.
 
This might give you some ideas, Julie:

Tips for collecting urine samples

BTW, if the urine testing proves too tricky, you can also get blood beta ketone meters (test the same way as you test blood glucose). Test strips for the ketone meters are a bit pricey but you don't need to use many.


Mogs
.
 
Thank you! I tried dipping a stick in the litter right after he went this morning, but it had soaked in, so all I got was litter on the stick. He always goes in the same spot in the litterbox, so that may be to my advantage.
 
Ok, and then just have to catch him when he goes. And I only need to worry about it when his numbers are really high, right? Unless he's prone to it.
 
Ok. He's actually eating like his old self again now, which makes me feel better! I caught him peeing this morning, finally and in my rush to get a stick...because I read the ketones evaporate quickly...I accidentally grabbed 4! oh well. I wasn't really worried, but wanted to see if I could do it. No ketones!! Thank you everybody!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top