PMPS 87 stalled twice 82 & 79 still dropping, gave dose/+1 108/+2 102/+4 107

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, just updated the SS. I see someone looking at it. Still have not fed Taffy, he is almost an hour overdue. I am thinking skip, although I want to cry because I don't want to waste an opportunity to see low numbers. But he has been so unpredictable, and I am EXHAUSTED and question my ability to stay awake and monitor.
 
I, again, was just planning to increase when he dropped. He has an upset tummy this week, don't know what from/why. Gave in last few days, S Boulardii to firm up stools, and some miralax and egg yolks in case constipated or hairballs. Maybe he came down bcuz he is feeling better. Also he had a little exercise today, for an old dude.
 
given the nice green, I think I would wait on increasing....
I would continue the current dose.... and set an alarm.... so that you can sleep some.....
you need to take care of yourself too.
 
I think I have decided to skip...so tired, as I have been caring for a senior with dementia all week. Or what about a reduced dose? Would that still need monitoring overnight? I really need some sleep, I have so much to do this weekend and I am mentally depleted.
 
I can't stay with you tonight, but if you have plenty of supplies like HC food, strips and can test as much as necessary tonight, I'd say to shoot the 1.5

The problem with stalling for too long is that you're also not feeding....the BG can continue to drop just due to that.

Remember, the next shot shouldn't "kick in" for a few hours, so feeding now should help......and I'd be sure to get a +1 and +2

If you don't think you can stay awake, your safest thing is to skip but I hate for you to lose this great momentum too! Even if you shoot a BCS, there's no guarantee that he won't drop tonight since the depot could continue to influence the numbers
 
I can barely think to post info here. Updating the past two days of Taffy's SS about made my brain shut down...:woot:
 
Dementia is very draining ..... I dealt with my dgm the last two years......

When I had to wake up to test in the night, I learned to sleep on my couch.... didn't sleep so soundly there as I did in the bed.....
 
If you're that tired, you'd best just skip, get some sleep and start over in the morning
Already done. You guilted me! (Well, I already felt guilty about skipping.) I am not afraid of shooting an 80, just so run down lately. Life has been kicking my butt!
 
Dementia is very draining ..... I dealt with my dgm the last two years......

When I had to wake up to test in the night, I learned to sleep on my couch.... didn't sleep so soundly there as I did in the bed.....
I already sleep on the couch every night! LOL. I'll test at +2 and set some alarms. Yes, the dementia thing is hard, especially I think at the beginning, when they still think they are fine, but you start to realize that they definitely are NOT able to care for themselves. It is a learning process for me.
 
It has a tendency to do that...especially when we least expect or can deal with it!!

I agree with Rhiannon too.....don't go to bed...it's too comfy and warm....sit up in a chair or lay on a lumpy couch so you'll wake to an alarm
Yup, I already sleep on the very lumpy, dumpy couch as a regular thing. I won't bore you with the details.

So, now, I gave his shot very late, at 11:20pm, so I have to stick to this time in the morning?
 
I had to learn to not correct, or argue, just nod and pretend that what she said wasn't so ridiculously wrong.....

Hugs to you for dealing with that.....
I hope they cure it soon because I'll be having it too.....
 
I took care of my dgm.... from age 90 to 92....
when she couldn't make it to the bathroom anymore.... was constantly on the floor.... and didn't even remember proper wiping ....that's when I moved her to the nursing home. Hospice thought she would only be there a week but she got so angry and ate junk food.... gained weight...and lived another year, miserable...
 
I have to get off the computer....I have an infected eye and it seems to really aggravate it to be on the computer

Surf safely Taffy!! I'll tell Deputy LagoonMistress China to keep the waterwings ready just in case!
 
Thank you, both. Good night! I hope your eye is mending, Chris.

I'm fine and know what I need to do. I hope Taffy is not too dramatic, but I think I can handle if he is. Eating Haagen Dazs for good luck!
 
Are you thinking the contraband/kibbles affected his numbers for several days? I hadn't thought of that. Of course, I haven't thought of much, lately.

Yes, you are right that I have shot low numbers many times and I feel comfortable doing it, but I guess the difference lately is that Taffy has been in mostly yellows for a while and just not as responsive to his insulin, so I was taken by surprise a bit. And my biggest concern was being able to monitor due to being so depleted.
 
{{{Julie}}}

I'm camping this weekend, so don't have reliable internet, but just read your condo and wanted to pop in with support, vines and hugs. You're dealing with so much right now. It's too bad because, under better circumstances, I'm sure you'd be thrilled to shoot green.

Taffy, your timing stinks! You're such a cat! :rolleyes: Please be a good boy and let Mama get some sleep tonight. Stay safe and save the drama for a time when she doesn't have so much stress going on.

I'll try to pop back in again before I go to bed (6.5 hours sleep the last two nights combined is catching up to me). Hang in there! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
{{{Julie}}}

I'm camping this weekend, so don't have reliable internet, but just read your condo and wanted to pop in with support, vines and hugs. You're dealing with so much right now. It's too bad because, under better circumstances, I'm sure you'd be thrilled to shoot green.

Taffy, your timing stinks! You're such a cat! :rolleyes: Please be a good boy and let Mama get some sleep tonight. Stay safe and save the drama for a time when she doesn't have so much stress going on.

I'll try to pop back in again before I go to bed (6.5 hours sleep the last two nights combined is catching up to me). Hang in there! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Aw, thanks! Enjoy your camping!
I did go ahead and shoot the green, so I am expecting a long night.
Got a +1 @ 108, and a +2 @ 102
I know we all deal with all sorts of stuff, so I know that I am not the only FD mama with lots of other stuff going on. I am just physically and mentally so pooped out, feeling my encroaching middle age, for sure. And, I have the opposite of supportive partner going on over here. I am not looking for anyone to feel sorry for me or feeling sorry for myself, just feeling frustrated with my low stamina and brain shut down!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top