PMPS-86 Dosing Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
thinking you'll need a +3...she's moving slowly but not much room. lets see what jill says
 
haley is protesting the tests?

i'd like you to feed one teaspoon food with a drop of karo syrup mixed into it and test again at +2.5.

we don't want to feed her too much because we may need her to eat more later in the cycle. we also don't want to feed her so much that she'll vomit.

i'll be here waiting for the next number...
 
for those following this thread...
i'm probably being a little more conservative than necessary. this is only day 2 on lantus for haley. we don't have much data to know how she'll respond. hence, the caution.
 
97 @ +4 is great, but we have 2 hours to go til *most* cats reach nadir (the time when insulin bring the blood glucose numbers down the lowest).
i'd feed haley now, take a nap for an hour or hour and a half, get up, test, and feed. if the number is the same or higher than 97, leave some food out for haley to nibble on and go back to bed.

if the number is lower than 97, you'll have to continue testing and feeding until the numbers come up.
 
i know, sorry. i have to be up to test-feed-shoot in a few hours myself.

if haley is under 100 in the morning, i'd skip the shot and talk to your vet.
if you don't shoot, feed her at her regular time in the morning and test her 3 - 4 hours later (if someone will be available to test her). if she can't be tested during the day at all, let's just see where she's at tomorrow evening.

oh, and don't forget to ask your vet if a fructosamine test was done to diagnosis her diabetes.
i'm beginning to wonder if the diet change alone was enough to bring her numbers down into the normal range. more spot checks will provide the answer.
i'll catch up to you tomorrow...
 
Morning, Haley is back up to 117 for anyone that is interested. Slept with us last night too which she hasn't done lately :-D

Maybe she doesn't hate us for poking at her 24/7.
 
About 2 hours to AMPS. and it's Mat (with one T) :smile:

Jay is Jayme, the other concerned parent of haley. Guess we didn't really introduce ourselves did we ?
 
I'll probably be around. Miriam may be around, too. Jill may check in but she's usually not an AM person.

I'd suggest getting a +11 or a +11.5. If Haley's numbers are still in this range, I'd probably drop the dose back to 0.25u. (I hope you practiced drawing this last night!!) Will anyone be home to monitor today? That may make a difference re. shooting.

When you post for the +11, how about starting a new thread? (We call our threads "condos".) Also, remember to put Haley's name in the subject line. The format for subject lines is date - cat's name - AMPS-#, +time-#

Don't worry about the intros. Usually we just ask -- especially since your name wasn't obvious from your initial user name. Somehow, I don't think many of us would have assumed Godwept was your name!
 
Will do Sienne. Thanks for the input again. I'll start a new thread @ +11.

Oh and I (Mat) will be home with her all day today. I'm sure Haley sees me as looking like this :evil:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top