PMPS-86 Dosing Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MatJay N Haley

Member Since 2011
Morning. We skipped Haleys PM shot last night due to her numbers still falling. She was 99 at +7 yesterday and then 95 for PMPS last nite so it was recommended that we skip the shot and try a lower dosage today. This morning she is at 133 (11 hours after the skipped insulin dosage, 23 hours since her last dosage) so she is still a little low but is climbing now.

I was thinking a shot this morning at .5u or less and check her BG every couple of hours. Any comments?
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Welcome to Lantus Land.

This is the link to your thread on Health from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 638#unread. I was the person recommending that you drop Haley's dose to 0.5u given the response to Lantus yesterday. I still think you'll want to stick with the 0.5u dose since the 1.0u dropped her into green numbers.

The 133 would be your +11 and not your AMPS -- it's not a pre-shot # unless it's the same number that you get right before you shoot. (I know -- it's picky!)

I would encourage you to read over the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will give you a firm foundation in using Lantus and this Board.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

Please let us know if you have questions. We're happy to help!
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

welcome to Lantus Land! Haley is getting a great response right off the bat. :smile:

Did you shoot this morning? If so, I suggest getting some early spot checks so we can see what she is doing with the insulin today. +1 would be a good start (one hour after the shot was given).
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Welcome to Lantus Land, and good job on getting your Spreadsheet up and running. Lots of information in the "Stickys" to digest; don't hesitate to ask questions!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

It's a nice number, but I would get a +4 to see where she's going. Looks like she's going to see more green today!
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Thank you! I honestly don't know what we would do with out all of you :) We have learned a lot of important info on here.
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Glad to see Haley set up in Lantus Land! You've had a busy few days! Wonderful that Haley is seeing such good numbers so soon! Fingers and paws crossed that it continues!
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Well Haley is up a bit in her numbers-@ +8 reading was 135. So we are thinking that we will give her .5 of Lantus tonight?
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Keep the dose consistent, so yes, shoot 0.5u tonight. Lantus likes consistency. You want to keep your initial dose for 5 - 7 days so you give the shed time to form.

Are you home during the week?
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

ditto to Sienne's post.
if you're up for it, how about a +11? that is a good heads up and a favourite of mine :-D
a nice cycle today!
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

So Haley just got 86.4 on her PMPS which is lower than 3 hours ago. We haven't given the insulin yet and she just ate some wet food and a bit of dry food. She was pretty stressed out becuase I suck at getting her to bleed (my poor girl).

To shoot or not to shoot?
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

Welcome, you'll get better at testing BG, it happens to all of us. I don't have enought experiance to give dose advise, tho 86 does seem low at PMPS. I'll bump your condo up, for those experianced in dosing. Click edit and Put your PMPS and BG # plus Dosing advise? in your subject line.
 
Re: 2/13 HALEY AMPS~133

You have a choice of giving a BCS (Big Chicken Sh*t) dose. Or shooting a skinny dose. Better option than missing the dose completely. Did you get a +11 as suggested? Are you able to test tonight?
 
hello and welcome to the group.
i may have missed this somewhere... is haley a newly diagnosed diabetic? first shot of insulin yesterday?
 
i just came online and haven't looked to see if there are other posts elsewhere on the board, so i am not familiar with haley's history. any illness... any diseases (heart, kidney, liver, etc.)?
 
Hi again, We don't generally give food if we are stalling to see if numbers are rising before giving insulin. Food causes a "food spike" and therefore clouds the issue. (You wouldn't know if your kitty was rising on her own, or if it was the food causing the rise.) Wait for some more knowledgeable advice before deciding what dose to shoot this evening.
Don't worry. You are doing a fine job today.

Oh, I see that Jill is here. You're in good hands! (crossed posts)

Ella & Rusty
 
one more question...
when you gave this morning's shot, did haley eat? i'm wondering because there's no food spike (which is unusual). the answer may influence whether you should shoot tonight or not.
 
She is asthmatic and has been receiving depomedrol injections since she was 3 (she is now 8). There were some very recent digestive issues (constipation, then bloody diarrhea, and urinary tract infections).

She did eat this morning right before her injection.
 
considering she ate before this morning's shot (and the numbers went down), she's newly diagnosed, and at a normal number now... i wouldn't shoot tonight.
test her 3 or 4 hours after she ate tonight to see where she's at.

if it's at all possible, could you test her an hour before her normal shot time in the morning, post the number and ask for advice?

was a fructosamine done when she was diagnosed?
 
The vet never mentioned a fructosamine. I will be receiving a call from her tomorrow and find that out. We will try to get a test done in the AM, 1 hour before shot time.
 
sorry, my internet is moving at the speed of molasses in january!

yes, it would be a good idea to see if a fructosamine test was done when diagnosed.
it's possible haley only needs a very small dose. here's a picture of what 0.25u looks like:

025unit-1.jpg


practice drawing 0.25u tonight.

once we see what kind of numbers haley gives you tonight and tomorrow morning, we'll have a better idea if you should shoot 0.25u or 0.5u in the morning.
 
Before you came on we already gave her a very small shot, probably less than .25 by the looks of the photo you sent. We figured it would be best to keep her on schedule. I'll be testing her again in about 40 minutes and then again @ +10 tomorrow morning. I'll post the results of both.
 
ok, if you gave her a shot you'll want to get a +1 and +2 tonight. if she's lower than that pmps number more testing will be required tonight.
 
sounds good!
if no one seems to be around later, you can always post on the Health forum. i'll try to stay up for at least your +1.
 
I'm waiting to follow this also...for future reference. good luck on this great start.
 
hmmm, ok. i'd like you test at +1.5, ok? post the number. i'll be here.

do you have any canned foods with gravy in the house? something with higher carbs than what she normally eats?
if you don't have hc (high carb) food, do you have any syrups such as honey, karo syrup, or maple syrup?

do you have a lot of testing strips if you need to test often?

i don't want to scare you. all i'm trying to find out is what you have on hand if haley's numbers drop a little lower than we want them to.
i need to know what we have to work with.
 
Lot's of testing strips, lots of maple / corn syrup. Some temptations treats, fancy feast. We tried to be prepared for low levels since she was testing low yesterday.
 
you know Jill if no one else is around I'm sure I can walk Matjay thru this. Done it before on pz and watched plenty of them here and on health. I mean if you need to go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top