PMPS 79 - Shot? (Round 2!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I should add she is on Glargine, and has been on 2u for two weeks now.

EDIT: Just saw Lantus subforum, so posted this there.
 
Personally I would not shoot a 79 preshot with no more data than you have at the moment, and especially not 2u. As there is a good chance that she dropped even lower than that earlier in the cycle. I'm not familiar enough with your situation to be comfortable in telling what to shoot if anything.

Were you started at 2u, or have you been raising to get to that dose? With no more data than you have on your spreadsheet I would skip tonight's shot and reduce the shot in the morning to maybe 1.75u, hold that dose and let it settle to see where she is at after a few days.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Its looking like still too much Lantus to me and you really aren't safe to shoot at this time. If you add some notes to the spreadsheet about what you're feeding, when, and how much, that will help folks advise you.

If you look at last night's level and this morning's level, I suspect Erland may have gone a bit low and the liver may have compensated, thus raising this morning's level. The response to that is to LOWER the next time you can SAFELY give insulin. As a new user, we generally recommend you not shoot below 200. This "no shoot" number may be reduced as you get more data and experience on how your cat handles insulin.

Have you read over and gotten the supplies for How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!?

Also, please stay on your 12 hour schedule - if you skip due to a low glucose, wait until the next scheduled time. Otherwise, the overlap in duration (aka 'depot' or 'shed') gets out of sync and you can wind up using too much insulin due to that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top