pmps 75 amps 138 dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fluffles

Member Since 2017
Hi Everyone, I missed a couple of days due to my meter constantly giving me an error message so I finally had to get a new meter. PMPS last night was 75 so I skipped the dose. Number stayed low throughout he night that I was up. His amps is 138, I'm assuming I should skip again? I was going to hold off on feeding and wait for advice, but my son fed him before leaving for school. My question is I'm assuming I need to lower to his dose if/when I shoot tonight. 1.25? Just want to make sure I'm doing this right so looking for advice. He seems to be feeling great!
 
Good morning. Have you decided if you are following TR or SLGS?

I don't know if the curve would be skewed because you did miss last night's shot. But if you want to do a curve today, then I would shoot today. You did shoot 1.5u on a 97 on 9/28. Do you have supplies if Fluffles goes too low?
 
If you are following TR, then 1.5u, but if you are following SLGS, then 1.25u because the 75 last night would have earned a reduction.
 
I would love to do TR but unfortunately I'm not home everyday so I believe I have to SLGS, right?
 
With TR, you check every pre-shot and at least another test during each cycle for 4 tests minimum a day. With SLGS, you check every pre-shot and whenever you can, plus a curve after 7 days on the dose to see if you increase or decrease.
 
Fluffles is strictly eating fancy feast chicken classic now however I am gone 12 hours a day 3 days a week so I guess SLGS it is. I did shoot 1.25 and will do a curve today
 
I will check in with you throughout the day. With SLGS, when Fluffles goes under 90, that's an automatic reduction and if it is at a pre-shot time, do not shoot.

Fluffles is a cute name. :cat:
 
Thank you very much Mandy! I continue to be blown away by the support I have found on here. I should also ask, my understanding of a curve is every 2 hours for 12 hours (full cycle), is this correct?
 
Correct - every 2 hours for 12 hours. Another option is every 3 hours for 18 hours. But if you see him going low, grab extra tests.
 
Good luck with the curve today, as Mandy said with the skipped shot draining the depot today's numbers might be higher than you would expect, it can take up to 6 Cycles for the depot to settle and for you to really see where this dose will get Fluffles.

I'm sure glad you got another meter!! That Pmps last night must've shocked you.

I keep a spare meter, and batteries, just incase the meter has an accident(George flung his in a water fountain once) or breaks down.
 
I love the new meter, it requires so much less blood than last one! The last one would often give me error messages so I would have to reprick his ear and then it stopped working at all, just gave an error message every time. I didn't even know it could be so much easier with the relion!! I had assumed most meters were pretty similar. I was very wrong, this one is so much easier!

As far as my son, he is only 12 and I'm not sure how he would do with it. I have thought about teaching him that and how to administer the insulin as I don't really have anyone else that I could have do it. I have 2 overnight trips planned in the next month where I wouldn't be around for both a pm cycle and an am cycle. I was thinking of talking to my vet to see if one of the vet techs could come out as I don't want to board him (he gets very stressed). I am not sure of the expense, do any of you know a ballpark?

As far as the curve, so far although they are not green they are a consistent blue with a slow, steady decline since +2 which, I believe, is what I want to see? Still new to this so any input is helpful. I am home Monday for the holiday so maybe I will try another curve then after the depot has built back up
 
It's a beautiful cycle for being so new to diabetes. You may see the numbers start climbing back up around +6 or +8, which is normal for Lantus. You may want to add the time and time zone when you give insulin. Example is 6 AM/PM CST. I was constantly being asked when I had to shoot. :)

I think your plan of doing another curve on Monday is a good one, but if Fluffles goes below 90 and you have to reduce between now and then, you may have to wait to let the depot adjust.
 
As far as my son, he is only 12 and I'm not sure how he would do with it
That is quite young, some kids at that age would be quite capable others not, it depends on his level of maturity, you'd be the best judge of that.

have 2 overnight trips planned in the next month where I wouldn't be around for both a pm cycle
I have no idea of cost, I do know that some folk have had petsitters come in and give shots, you could ask the question on your thread title, Does anyone know of FD suitable pet sitters in xyz area? You may want to ask the question on feline health as well so you get more eyes on it.

When I had some short vacations, a neighbor/friend looked after George, she shot and tested him while I was away, I showed her how to test and shoot, she came over and practiced with me supervising before she had to go solo, maybe that would be another option??

In your situation I would take the opportunity to gather info when you can. That said if on Monday after the first couple of tests it's apparent he's high and flat (bouncing) then give yourself, and flufles a break, if the cycle is active and you are available, gather the data, it helps to fill in the blanks where you can.
 
Wow, Fluffles was very flat today. If you're doing a +2, see if it's same or lower because that signifies an active cycle will happen.
 
Could you explain to me a little what flat and bouncing mean? I do understand that flat means all the numbers were very close in range and bouncing I think means when you get a reading way out of range. I think both of these mean that the cat is not well regulated? but any other info on them would be great to help me understand what I'm doing and what to look out for. Thank you!
 
Thank you! Just read over that link, lots of info to learn, but overall I'm feeling more optimistic and little less overwhelmed. He seems to feeling so much better! You are all amazing and such a wealth of information!
 
As far as my son, he is only 12 and I'm not sure how he would do with it

We had an 8 year old doing testing, so I'd be sure to give it a try!! You might want to write down some general rules for him....like "if under ### call (or text) mom and stay home until you hear back!!"

In another 4 years he'll be legal to drive a car.....I think he could handle poking the cat!!
 
lol scary thought! I am thinking of giving it a try but he's definitely not the most mature, responsible 12 there is, so….
Anyway for the night that I will be away would it be ok to draw up the insulin in the syringes before I leave for him to do a pm then am shot? I'm thinking this is probably a no, but I would love to make it as simple for him as possible
 
lol scary thought! I am thinking of giving it a try but he's definitely not the most mature, responsible 12 there is, so….
Anyway for the night that I will be away would it be ok to draw up the insulin in the syringes before I leave for him to do a pm then am shot? I'm thinking this is probably a no, but I would love to make it as simple for him as possible
No, but you could do a sample syringe, using one that has been used. Draw up colored water, tea, or coffee to what should be given so your son can match to that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top