PMPS 53 can't get her to eat!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I cannot get my cat to eat, she hasn't eaten hardly anything all day. I even tried feeding her dry food and she won't eat that!

Sugar went from 53 half hour ago to 54 now. HELP!

I am also supposed to be up in 5 hours to work a 12 hour day, someone shoot me now!!!!!!!!
 
(((((((((((((((((((((((SARAH))))))))))))))))))))))))

Have you tried the "out of the box" tricks.. like... yogurt, deli meat, kentucky fried chicken, mcdonalds patty, babyfood... at 53 I wouldnt go to the Karo syrup but you can always syringe that.
 
I have the karo and the hC food in the house... I don't have anything else and it's 1am here, hard to go out and get any of that. the only thing she wants to eat is cat treats i bought her today so i put those on top of the hC food and i'm hoping she will eat some of the food now
 
I gave her the full dose this morning.

Just re-checked her after she ate all the gravy off the HC food. she's up to 64. Is it safe for me to go back to bed yet?
 
i posted this reply on the lantus forum:

glad she's eating. 64 is much better.

you said she did not get a split dose this morning. did she get a split dose last night?


how about if you pick a forum and we'll stay in one place. :-D
 
lol ok i'm staying here. yes. split dose last night .75 at +12 and .75 at +14. then this morning 1.5 at +12 from second dose last night.
 
oh good. i'm glad this mornings shot was 12 hours from last night's second shot.

obviously, no shot tonight. you don't have the data yet to support shooting this low. if i were in your shoes i would continue to get her to eat and get at least one or two more tests with rising numbers before you go to bed. she may bobble up and down for a bit. leave food out for her when you do go to bed.

i can't tell how much overlap you may have going on here. the long-acting insulins can produce lower numbers for 14 - 16 hours after the shot. you may want those who have been guiding you on dose and schedule to take another look at things tomorrow.
 
it depends on the numbers you're getting. you'll want to see a nice rise and make sure she's staying up there before going to bed. if you're any good at naps, some cat nap for 30 - 45 minutes and set an alarm to wake them up to retest.

i wish i could say it's ok to go to bed now, but based on the limited data available and the split dosing technique... i can't.
you'll have to play things by ear especially considering baby doesn't want to eat.

sorry...
 
no HC food left. I went downstairs and grabbed some dry food from my room mate's cat's food. Also put parmesan on the HC food and she ate most of that.
 
ok thank you soooo much for helping me with this! I'm sorry i'm really grumpy about it. Doesn't it figure, it happens on the absolute worst day it could happen? lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top