PMPS 52

Status
Not open for further replies.
Chong just tested PMPS @ 52! Tested again right away--111. She ate about 1/3 FF. Tested at 122. Gave her wellness low carb dry (a favorite). Her numbers shoot on any dry, no matter the carb..

Chong has been taking Bupe for about 2 weeks. A 5 day cycle but when she went back into pain I gave her another cycle. I'm starting 3 rd cycle. TID. I'm squirt 2.5 into her mouth.

She gets Pepcid AC with or soon after every meal and fluids today. She didn't get fluids the last 2 days and today took a little less than 100 before she wouldn't tolerate anymore. I should be doing every 2 days.

Just tested +1 --173. Gave Bupe.

I don't know what to make of these numbers or how to proceed.

AMPS mostly 200s
PMPS everything from 103 to 350

See SS for exact #s.

Anyone have experience with numbers dropping without insulin? Thanks in advance.
 
Hi...

I certainly can't give "expert" advice, but can go over a couple of things with you.

Chong just tested PMPS @ 52! I tested again right away--other ear and she was 111.

Pretty unusual to have such a drastic difference in BG's with different sites (but there are exceptions from trauma, scar tissue, or medical issues that affect a specific local area). Any possibility that the strip was damaged? Does Chong usually, or ever drop that much during a cycle? Trying to pull up the SS....just super slow.

Lori
 
Thanks Lori. Good to see someone on so late.
I've never seen her drop like this. I tested 3 times. I just edited (make shorter) and added +1 at 173 to my post. That's still low for her when she's had dry food. I just gave Bupe. I didn't want to but she was hurting & her #s were up. Still nervous tho.

She ate like mad early in the day but not much tonight. Might be pain. She'll always eat dry & did but she's very carb sensitive.

I just don't know. It's never happened before.
 
+2 202. VERY irritable. Hasn't had any insulin. Maybe I waited too long on Bupe. 14 hours instead of 12. She's certainly miserable now. Biting & whacking when I test. Even moved away when I was petting her before. Letting me keep my hand on her now tho.
 
Always up late it seems....terrible sleeping patterns.

Okay....first, what is your no shoot number? Have you done the wait & test plan before? Did Chong eat (or really, not eat) this afternoon/evening? Any signs of hypo? When are you going to check his BG next?

The 52 just seems so out of place......not only because of the time within the cycle (basically over), but because you did a repeat immediately afterwards. Did the test strips come from the same bottle? I would be more willing to think that the 111 was a more accurate BG than the 52. Just went through this too low PS with my Boy last night.....his ss looks very similar to Chongs.



AMPS 235
PMPS 52, 111
+12.5 122 (after some FF)
+13 173
 
I hear ya! Made my cats wait 2 hours to eat....all 3 sat there and stared.

Does the Buprenorphine usually drop Chong's BG like that?
Do you have a specific "no-shoot" BG level? Also, how much food/what did Chong have when he was at 122? If the rise in glucose is attributed to what he just ate, you don't want to dose based on that number.
 
She ate like mad early in the day but not much tonight. Might be pain. She'll always eat dry & did but she's very carb sensitive.
Pain will usually make the BG go up, but I don't know a whole lot about the Bupe and side effects. About how long ago did Chong chow down, how much? Do you know how long it might have been timewise that he didn't eat anything? Is she miserable because it's dinner/eating time? [I apologize....kept referring to Chong as a "he", lol]


Boy has been getting really pissy with the BG and poking....even hissed which is so unlike him. I've been trying all kinds of things to try and get him to chill. So far what has helped all day and last night: Went back to the smaller gauge lancets and used the device to do an auto poke. That.....he seemed pretty okay with. Maybe he had to be poked quickly twice, but it was enough. I was using a 26g by hand and really having a tough time. When I can't get too much, I'll use the neosporin w/pain relief (wipe most off before poking), and sometimes poke on the fur side to get a sample (he's usually wriggling around a lot by then). I give him his treat to eat as I'm holding his ear (a little shaky, but I get it), so he's distracted and doesn't care a whole lot about the lancet.

Did you give any insulin yet?
 
Glad Lori was around to help last night. It is a guessing game to know how the Bupe is affecting the insulin, but I think you just have to compensate for it and shoot the numbers you get. The reduced food may have lowered the number also.

I would reduce the dose this am. She may be high if you skipped, but that's because she has been a long time without insulin. I would reduce to .5 and monitor. You can always raise it the next dose if it's too little.
 
Not sure if I was of much help....but even a reply makes us all feel better when we're panicky. I don't know much about the relationship with Bupe and abnormal glucose levels. The 52 reading threw me though.

Glad you were able to answer her this morning though Sue!!
 
Lori, it was very helpful to have someone to talk to esp In the middle of the night!

Chong never showed any signs at all of hypo except not eating more of her FF, per her usual. Normally she'd be at me now for food & she doesn't seem interested but she seems alert & ok otherwise. I just tested & her BG is 326. I still haven't given insulin.

Her no shoot number I about 170. Reduced dose between 170 & 200. I know this sounds crazy but a reduced dose makes her numbers rise....?

I'm thinking of offering food to see if she'll eat. But what about insulin?

Barb & Chong
 
Glad I could be around....even if just to talk to.

Okay, 170...Chong was only @ 173 max last night I think. How many (+) hours was the 346 done at? Is this her AMPS? The rise would be expected without any insulin. You might want to give a reduced dose this am since she hasn't had any since yesterday am. The food, without any insulin will make her sky rocket. Giving .5u as Sue suggested is probably a good way to go if you can monitor her. Too much insulin will start doing some crazy things. Insulin is needed though to help stabilized the glucose as the food is being metabolized. I'm guessing that the 52 you got last night maybe was just a fluke.
 
Did you skip last night? If so, that and the possible bounce from the green last night can be part of your am number. Will you be around to monitor? It is part guessing game because you can't be sure how the Bupe affects the bg levels. I'd try .5. If you are feeling confident and will be around, you could do .8 or something close to that?
 
I gave her about 1/2 FF & she ate all of it although not pushing for more. She has used the litter box since last night. She doesn't seem to be feeling good but it doesn't seem like active pain. I just gave her some pepcid AC.

I'm tempted to just go back to normal. I'm not sure what else to do. I can give her Bupe, fluids, insulin, more food, ... but what?
 
Hi, just read everyone's post after I posted. I will be out of the house for about 2 hours, around lunchtime. It is 9 am now. I might even be able to stop back in quickly during that time. Do u think that will be OK if I give her 1/2 U now?
 
Did she eat before you got the 326? And did you check for ketones? She could be coming down with a slight URI, or has a virus, and just doesn't feel like eating yet.,..or her tummy isn't a Mr. Happy this morning, You might still want to give her some insulin (especially if she just ate, or ate recently). You can retest her in about 1.5-2 hours after she has eaten to see what her BG is. If she ate, and her BG is already 346, she will keep rising most likely.

Fluids can always make her feel better, especially if you think she might be getting dehydrated. She could show symptoms of dehydration with fever, change in her coat/fur, dry mouth, and the skin turgor/cap. refill test., heart rate, etc. Not sure about giving the Bupe yet. If she doesn't seem like she's in her usual active pain, you might want to wait a little bit until you are okay with her BG's.

A reduction in dose can make the AM/PM BG's rise, but will also prevent her from getting very high, especially with eating. You will want to check her BG at +6 though (even at +4). When did you say she ate the FF?
 
I'm sorry to come in and go away. My computer died and I had to buy a new one, then it wouldn't let me into the message board. I was trying to use everyone else's and get mine going. I finally figure it out that if I came in through google it would let me in.

I think we've turned a corner here on the Bupe. I haven't given it to her since yesterday am and she seems good. I wish the diabetes would fix itself.

Thanks for your help. I was able to read on my phone but that was all---but it was a HUGH help.

Thanks.
 
Stinks when the computer isn't cooperating....but glad you were able to get a new one!

That's great that you haven't had to give the Bupe in a few days....at least that is one thing you might not have to concentrate on for a bit!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top