PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4 119

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Oops...one last thing to ask....if you could take down the 911, that would be great.

Pls be sure you read my post above.

Night!
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Thank you for staying up and helping us through this. I'll check at +4. You're right, Ava did a great job. I'm extremely proud of her for stepping up. We make a great team, with your assistance :smile:

Sleep? Yes, please!

Georgette and Clare, thank you for the welcome. You're absolutely correct, LL is full of caring and knowledgeable people. We're very lucky they're here.
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

You are very welcome. We all want to see JuJu do well :-D

See you tomorrow! I hope the rest of the night is uneventful for you at work.

And thank you for taking down the 911 :-D
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Welcome to LL Matt and Ava. What a ride you have had. You both did great. It will only get easier from now on after such a beginning!!
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

You have had quite the day - Good call on the 0.25u. :cool:

I want to make sure that will all that transpired tonight you did not miss the below important information-
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
:!: If you have not already done so, please purchase a package of Ketostix so that you can monitor Jujus urine for the presence of ketones. This is critically important. You can find them at practically any pharmacy but do call and make sure they have them in stock beforehand. If you don't have them I urge you to get them today. Jujus urine should be tested several times per day at this time. Ketones can quickly develop to life threatening levels - my BK went from "negative' to "large" in 24 hours, which meant a second trip to the ER and hospitalization. Testing is easy, you just have to catch him in the litter box and place the strip under the urine stream for a few seconds.

BTW, how old is Juju? What is his current weight?
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Good morning Matt, Ava, and JuJu

I hope you all got some rest and JuJu is feeling and eating well today.

When you have a chance today it would be good to go back to through this condo and read all the posts....esp the one left by Sandy early, early this morning. It's always a good idea to check the condo from the previous day for the night owl postings that might occur.

One thing I'd like to address for new members or members who read but don't post is In regard to the reason we had you feed HC/karo at +12 with JuJu in the 40s.

The post on Dealing with Low Preshots suggests that if you get a 40 something number at PS:

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

(The bold is mine). By feeding LC as suggested in this post, it's safer to shoot the rise if/when it occurs. However, it might not occur within a timeframe that the CG could shoot. Example: one night Gracie gave me a 40 something at +12. I followed the guidelines with feeding a small amount of LC and even after two hours, she was still in the 40s so I did the safest thing and skipped.

Why did we have Matt feed HC/karo? Because JuJu just had a bout with DKA and it's important these kitties get insulin. There was flexibility in shooting and we were hoping that because he was very new to Lantus, he would bounce big and we could later get some insulin in him.

The take home is this was a very special situation and JuJu and Matt had many eyes on them to help. In normal and most situations, please do not give kitty HC/karo to get them up to shoot. Follow the guidelines to stay safe. A skipped shot in a kitty that has not had DKA and is not showing ketones is usually not problematic and they recover quickly from the skipped shot.

:-D :-D :-D
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

My apologies, didn't see this until now.

Yes, I will purchase urine stix for testing ketones. Hopefully, CVS has them. I have an asthma inhaler waiting for me at CVS.

Junior is closing in on 6yo. Unusually young for a sugarcat. See, Junior has always been a big cat but he was up to 20lbs back in January. We free fed him kibble, we didn't know any better. I decided to start feeding him Purina Cat Chow Healthy Weight. He started losing weight at a healthy pace, 1lb per month. He got down to 15lbs. He looked great, had increased energy and a purfect coat. Well, he dropped to 13lbs and I started to get concerned. My wife and I agreed that his demeanor was still good, so we waited to take him to the vet. Big mistake on our part. About a week later I woke up to 4-5 piles of vomit around the house. That's when we rushed him to the Emergency Vet and he was diagnosed with DKA and HL. Trust me when I say, I've been beating myself up ever since. Maybe if I would've trusted my gut and taken him to the vet sooner, we could've avoided the DKA and HL. He's currently 4.5 kilos, a shade under 10lbs.

His headed to get his bilirubin checked in a coupe hours. They'll get his weight and temp. Not sure what they charge but it may be a good idea to have them check for ketones while he's there.
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Thanks Marje, we did get some rest.

I will go back through and read the condo again.

Originally, the doc told us to only feed JuJu twice a day (AMPS/PMPS). Yesterday was the first day he showed a good appetite, show we allowed him to eat a few times intermittently. Is it okay to continue that, or best to try and get him on a twice a day cycle, assuming no <50 numbers?

PMPS 254/+2 342/+4 314/+8 321/+10 226

Getting ready to take AMPS. Assuming his number is still dropping, I'm not sure about his next dose. 0.25 or 0.50?
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

what a story!

there are other cats that have had FHL here - it's a disaster and can be a hard thing to recover from. I'm so glad Junior came through it and is now doing better. You'll want to try to decide what a healthy weight is for him and let him get back to that weight.

Getting ketone checks at home is easy and will be something you'll want to learn to do regularly. When a cat has had ketones, as Sandy experienced, they can come back with a vengence and quickly if you're not monitoring. Most people post-ketones-crisis will test a couple of times a day so that if there is any sign of them returning, you can get aggressive to prevent them growing.

One thing you can immediately do is to be adding as much water to his food as he will tolerate.

Great job handling everything last night. You're getting the wild ride start to feline diabetes!

It would probably be a good idea for you to start a new thread when you're ready to shoot this morning. We open a new thread (condo) every day so the information is current and easy to read to find the important stuff.

I'm off to work, but someone will no doubt be around when you're ready to shoot.
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

Agree with Julie...post a new condo with the preshot and I'll watch for you.
 
Re: PMPS 43! (No shot) +1 46/+1.5 62/+2 70/+2.5 94/+3 79/+4

OK, thanks again for all the help. I'll post a new condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top