Pmps 4.6(83), then 3.5(63) don't know what to do?

While I agree Luna has to eat, it would make more sense to try to get her onto wet food now and only serve the dry IF she won't eat the wet. Why stabilize her on dry food only to have to chase numbers and make dose adjustments again later because removing the dry food will likely reduce the amount of insulin she needs. Friskies pates are fine. Check the 2017 food list done by Dr. Pierson in the list in post # 32 above for food options. You ideally want to get food 6% or less but anything under 10% is fine. Also until you get more data I would not give insulin unless BG is over 11 mmol (200).
 
Just throwing this out there...
Kate, if you like your vet you may want to make an attempt to work with them... see if you're able to become partners in Luna's care.

The starting dose of 3 units twice a day is reminiscent of Dr. Rand's initial dosing strategy using Lantus. Actually, your vet was being conservative. Following Rand's dosing method the starting dose would have been closer to 4u bid. FYI to those following along: Rand's method actually brought kitty's into 'normal' numbers quickly, usually in about 4 weeks and OTJ in eight. The dosing method was never accepted on the FDMB because 'The Wise Ones' felt it was too risky/dangerous for newbies who had just begun the sugar dance.

That said, I agree with MrWorfMen's Mom. Your vet has not stayed up-to-date with Lantus use in feline diabetes. It could be something really simple as an older vet showing your vet outdated information or your vet stumbling across outdated dosing info on the Internet. There could be all sorts of reasons for the starting dose your vet gave you. My point is, if your vet is good in other areas, you might want to salvage the relationship rather than terminating.

I'm glad your vet agreed with holding the dose at 2u twice a day. However, 2u may quickly become too much if you're successful at transitioning Luna to an wet food diet. I'm glad you're home testing.
 
Just throwing this out there...
Kate, if you like your vet you may want to make an attempt to work with them... see if you're able to become partners in Luna's care.

The starting dose of 3 units twice a day is reminiscent of Dr. Rand's initial dosing strategy using Lantus. Actually, your vet was being conservative. Following Rand's dosing method the starting dose would have been closer to 4u bid. FYI to those following along: Rand's method actually brought kitty's into 'normal' numbers quickly, usually in about 4 weeks and OTJ in eight. The dosing method was never accepted on the FDMB because 'The Wise Ones' felt it was too risky/dangerous for newbies who had just begun the sugar dance.

That said, I agree with MrWorfMen's Mom. Your vet has not stayed up-to-date with Lantus use in feline diabetes. It could be something really simple as an older vet showing your vet outdated information or your vet stumbling across outdated dosing info on the Internet. There could be all sorts of reasons for the starting dose your vet gave you. My point is, if your vet is good in other areas, you might want to salvage the relationship rather than terminating.

I'm glad your vet agreed with holding the dose at 2u twice a day. However, 2u may quickly become too much if you're successful at transitioning Luna to an wet food diet. I'm glad you're home testing.
Thank you, i appreciate your perspective. I'm glad I'm home testing too. Still having trouble trying to figure out her curve, but I'm going to do my best. Thank you.
 
Still having trouble trying to figure out her curve, but I'm going to do my best.
It'll all become clearer as you collect more data. The high numbers you're seeing today are simply a reaction/a response to the lower numbers you saw yesterday. Someone mentioned 'bouncing' in an earlier post:

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Seriously, hang in there. There's a lot to learn and you're doing great!
 
Back
Top