PMPS 388/ +3.5 @ 57 YIKES

Status
Not open for further replies.
Had posted this on your last condo, so just reposting it here:

If he dropped from 388 to 57 in 3 1/2 hours, then my first thought is that the 2 units may be too much.....Let's see if he drops below 50.....if he does, he will definitely earn a reduction and I'd probably say to go back to 1 unit (or even 1.5 might be a good place to start) and start over.....and if you're up to try TR for awhile, he won't stay at 1U for more than 3 days if he's still not getting into some green nadirs....we'd increase him slowly until we hit the dose that works best for Fred
 
Thanks Chris. I was anxious and wanted to make sure my thread was seen. I think I would have a difficult time with TR as my schedule changes ( retail for Sleep Number).
 
Looks like he's coming back up nicely :)

Oh, and on SLGS he has earned a reduction tonight too. Congrats on that! :D

I'd go with what Chris said and reduce more than 0.25 this time around - if he earned his reduction on the first dose after a messed up week and a skipped (or at least late) shot, you might want to go a bit lower and increase after a few days if necessary.
 
In principle, I disagree with the feedback you're received about dose. However, with the 4.5 days of no data, there's no way to know exactly what's happening. Some cats have a marked initial response to insulin at the outset or after not getting their insulin for a few days.

Reducing the dose so you don't have to fight low numbers given a changing work schedule makes sense. It's easier on the nerves to need to increase vs. the panic attack in response to a low number surprise. If you don't already have one, you may want to get a timed feeder so food is available for Fred should his numbers drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top