? PMPS 321 +4 145 + 5.5 129 +6 132 Why dropping so much so fast

babyg

Member Since 2019
Hi, everyone,

I'm trying to see how to post my spreadsheet so give me a sec...I don't understand why her glucose is dropping so much and so fast. About a half hour ago I fed her some more food but it still went down. Is this anything to panic over yet? I'm not used to lower numbers like this.

edited to add: she was on 3 units for quite a while, then I tried 2.75 for a little bit and was just about ready to put her back up to 3 units until I overslept a couple days ago and so that's why her doses look a little funky because I was trying to compensate and get her back on track.
 
She is clearing a bounce and hence the extra downward momentum. Is she getting a tsp of food after each test? She is still over the normal range of numbers, so there's nothing to worry.
 
edited to add: she was on 3 units for quite a while, then I tried 2.75 for a little bit and was just about ready to put her back up to 3 units until I overslept a couple days ago and so that's why her doses look a little funky because I was trying to compensate and get her back on track.
I don't know why you reduced from 3U to 2.75U. If you are following SLGS, she earns a reduction if her BG drops below 90, which it didn't. I would stay with 3U for now.

Btw, I can help you combine both 2022 and 2023 spreadsheets into a single file.
 
She is clearing a bounce and hence the extra downward momentum. Is she getting a tsp of food after each test? She is still over the normal range of numbers, so there's nothing to worry.
Thank you so much for the quick reply. Usually she free-feeds dry but I also opened her a can of Fancy Feast salmon classic pate and she went to town on that; also gave her a few Temptations treats. Now she's just relaxing. I've been checking every half hour so will be checking again in about twenty minutes.
 
Btw, I can help you combine both 2022 and 2023 spreadsheets into a single file.
That would be nice, but do you know if it will take a long time to load if they're together? For some reason with my single file it takes a while before I can scroll all the way through it.

I just took a look at your spreadsheet and see what you mean...I like the idea of the tabs. Yours doesn't take forever to load like mine does.
 
Thank you so much for the quick reply. Usually she free-feeds dry but I also opened her a can of Fancy Feast salmon classic pate and she went to town on that; also gave her a few Temptations treats. Now she's just relaxing. I've been checking every half hour so will be checking again in about twenty minutes.
Purina Dry and Temptation treats are super high carb. If you could get her off the dry, she could actually see much better numbers and might need much less insulin. If she is happy to eat wet food, is there a reason you are feeding dry?
 
I agree; I wish she would eat the wet all the time. She's super picky and very on/off with what wet food she will eat. The can I opened a little while ago is a flavor she seems to consistently like, but since it's a fish one and I read somewhere about not giving them fishy stuff every day, she doesn't get it often.
 
I agree; I wish she would eat the wet all the time. She's super picky and very on/off with what wet food she will eat. The can I opened a little while ago is a flavor she seems to consistently like, but since it's a fish one and I read somewhere about not giving them fishy stuff every day, she doesn't get it often.
And she won't touch the low carb kibble? Young Again or Dr. Elsey's?

152. Maybe she's finally surfing/leveling off.
Yes. This is +5?
 
+5.5 129. She's dropping still. I wish she would stop dropping so I can stop worrying and go to bed. That's an overall drop of about 200 points from where she started. That seems crazy to me.
 
Back
Top