PMPS 300 - Should I increase Lantus??

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy

Member Since 2011
Good Evening Everyone,
I need to know if I should increase my Annie's Lantus shot. How do I know if her storage shed is full??? She seems to be doing okay. She is actually running in the house which I have not seen in a long long long long time and playing with the toy DA BIRD.
I feed her wellness wet food and fancy feast classics. I leave it out because she likes to nibble and then go back for alittle more. Her spreadsheet is attached.
Any suggestions on whether I when I should increase her insulin shot.
Thank you angels,
Judy and Annie
 
Dose adjustment of Lantus is based on the nadir (lowest value) in a cycle, not on the preshot level, so you can't changed based on that.

You may find it helpful to read over this link: Tight Regulation Protocol
 
I'm not sure who has been helping you with dosing. It looks like you are shooting a consistent dose at AM and PM. That's exactly the right thing to do. Before you do anything with dose, you need to get spot checks during the cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, or lowest point of the cycle, not on the pre-shot test information. Without knowing how low Annie's numbers have gone, we really can't recommend anything with respect to dose.

Please take a look at the sticky on the tight regulation protocol as well as this post on nadir checks.
 
Hi BJM and Sienne,
So in order for me to find out Annie's lowest nadirs (lowest numbers) I guess I need to do a curve. Am I right?? If we do that do I test every 2 hours or every 3 hours etc. Do I do that for a few days in a row or just once a week??? I have been testing her ketones and it is normal.
Thank you everyone for the advice.
Hugs
Judy and Annie
 
A curve is wonderful if you can get one. A full curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours) or a mini-curve (i.e., testing every 3 hours) would be great -- which ever will work for your schedule. If you can get a spot check or two during the PM cycle and get a curve tomorrow morning and post the results, we may have enough information to help you with adjusting Annie's dose. We may need more info if there's a bounce going on so how about planning on taking it one step at a time?
 
Hi Sienne,
Yes we will take it one step at a time. It looks like we can do a curve on Annie on Wed. We can also check a few times tomorrow evening after we give her the pm shot.
I want to red all the information under the lantus board tomorrow. I will post her results tomorrow. Thank you for your help.
Hugs
Judy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top