PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 +7 134 9+ 120 10.5+ 183 Oliver HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
I Have an appt in an 20 min. which is right at shot time in 1/2 hour.. I was going to give it a lil early and go for a bit. like 2 hours. as #'s have been high and not as worry some.
I will check again in like 40 min and post but am scared to shoot a 116 or lower Heck i ma scared to shoot a 150 and leave? OH lord what to do now?
Now with the #'s low at 11+ I am not sure what to do UGH.
Can someone please advise me right away.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

Are you saying that your are going to be gone for 2 hours?

I'm going to look at your spreadsheet, now.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

If you have to leave in 10 minutes, then why don't you test now and let's see what his numbers are.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

Yes i need to leave like now for 2 hours but have set time back a bit to deal with Oliver first or ??? IDK what to do now? UGH
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

I just did 5 min ago and it was 113 now. Still going down it seems. have to leave now in like 25 min.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

The 113 and the 116 are basically the same number, so he isn't dropping at least.

Post your test number.

Does he eat reliably?
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

So, the 113 is more like the PS (+12) number?

The numbers 113 and 116 are really good numbers. Do you have some medium carb food that he would eat? Maybe, you could give him his regular LC food and add a teaspoon or two of MC on top. Lantus usually doesn't have an onset until about +2, and he will have eaten by the time you leave, and that will bring his numbers up a bit. When was the last time he ate?
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

I am going to have to go now nad come back and see how Oliver is then... Unfortunately this is going to screw my # 's and schedules up!
Will check in when iu return thanks all
Advise please
Thanks
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

I am guessing you mean you are going to stall the shot for 2 hours?
Normally, when we stall, we do not feed, and test again in 30 minutes. I guess if you are going to be gone for 2 hours, you could feed him a very small meal, and come back and test and shoot at +14. Just remember you next shot will be 12 hours after you shoot tonight.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

Ok so feed High and low carb combo shoot and leave and return in 2 hours should be OK?
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

Yes, I think he will be okay, because the HC will get his numbers up a little, and the regular food will too. He is at the end of his cycle and the new dose shouldn't take affect until about 2 hours from the time you shoot. You will be home in 2 hours, no more?
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

How about if you feed him first to make sure he eats well and give the dose. If you are uncomfortable, you can always give a BCS (temporarily reduced) dose, like 1.50 and then go back to the 2.00 tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 Oliver HELP

I ended up feeding quickly and then giving the shot the 2 units.
Went to Appt which took longer then expected about 3 hours. Got back did the BG it was 94. Will check through the night and before bed in a bit.
Hope he is OK? Which I believe and am praying he will be.
Thanks all for you help
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

hi kelly! just want to make sure you see your other condo from today. looks like he's doing ok. a lot of times when you shoot lower, the overall range of the next cycle is flatter and lower.

i'm glad to hear you're getting another test tonight. whenever you shoot a number that's lower than you've shot before, you want to monitor and learn what it does.

have a great rest of your evening.
 
Re: 113 PMPS Oliver HELP

That PMPS and +3 look awesome! It's definitely a good idea to get some more tests in, but he does look great!!
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 Oliver HELP

6+ is 48 This is crazy low for us? What to do now? If anything? Please HELP :( confused_cat
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Looks like you just earned a dose decrease.

Do you have some medium carb or high carb gravy?
You have nothing to prove for the rest of the night.... you could give him a teaspoon or two and test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

I can try but he has ate all his other food earlier? IDK may work. Some treats too i will try Thanks.
Nothing to prove? What does this mean?

A decrease? Earlier we were say an increase. Have you seen the SS ? Ugh its all over the place. :(
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Hi Kelly, your new dose tomorrow morning will be 1.75U.

Try giving Oliver just a tsp of high carb. Try to give him just the gravy if you can, that's where the carbs are. Then retest again in 30 minutes after he's eaten. Nothing to prove means you can give him carbs to get him higher - he's earned his reduction this cycle.

We'll be here tonight with you if you need help. Here is the sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. Look at the bottom. But we'll walk you through it.

And don't forget to breathe!
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Oliver just went below 50 which means dose decrease. Your new dose will be 0.25 less than today.... so 1.75 u.
Given what just happened tonight, it is possible the other day he had a low green too.... and then bounced high.
You caught the low bg tonight.

Gravy is better... because it's not filling....

I'll go back and read your previous posts.... but I see dx was September.... so that means he earns a decrease for going under 50.
I'm sure you want to go to bed eventually but for now you need to get him up so he doesn't continue to drop.
You will be with him now until his bg rises on its own without food influence. ( You want him at least back up in the 70's)


Edited to Add: Wendy and I are typing almost the same speed. :-D
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

He did eat some more meow mix is all I have with sauce. He usually eats Pate Fancy feast. Hope this is good enough. I am breathing but am very nervous for him. I am also exhausted. Hope #'s up soon so we can sleep for a bit in a bit ;)
What do you recommend for checking in the night?
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

you need to stay with him right now .... and test again in 30 minutes to see if he's responding.... and you want him to go up....(obviously) ... not down.

Don't you have any gravy canned foods... just a little liquid in the can is all you need.
Dry food/ treats take too long to metabolize and it will likely spike his bg way up.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Do you have anything like karo, honey, syrup on hand? A drop or two of that will do if you don't have high carb gravy. You can put the honey/karo on a tsp of wet food.

When you get a chance tomorrow, go shopping for some for some of the gravy foods, preferable something 15% or above in carbs.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

I did feed him a couple teaspoons of Meow mix wet Tuna and shrimp in sauce. Not sure of Carb % but I would think its higher then Pate?
I will test in 15 ish and then would i do the Karo if its not up?
He seems fine following me around and ate a lil again well.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

We expect him to be fine.... and hopefully hungry if he drops any more...
You just don't want to leave him and sleep. You want to keep him safe. There isn't a lot of wiggle room downward.

The good news is he's earned that reduction.
He's improving.....
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Oliver doesn't eat dry food and hasn't since DX in Sept. Did eat boiled chicken early afternoon, instead of treats.
Which I am trying to weed them off of those but that is hard.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+6 48 Oliver HELP

Do you have any of the Meow Mix Savory Morsels? Not sure what the carb count is, but it's got wheat gluten in it so the gravy is probably higher carb than the other ones you have.
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 +7 134 Oliver HELP

Thanks I did post the next test which was a +7 134 just a few min ago :) So is this a comfortable spot to get some rest? Or does it have to be a few hours after eating and see how it is not induced by food?
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 +7 134 Oliver HELP

Was +6 the last time he got any food? If so, then it's been an hour. I like to wait two hours after food, because high carb food can last about two hours and start to wear off after that and the numbers could come down. So, if it's been an hour, you can probably get a nap for another hour and test again at +8. If he's the same or up, then you are good for the night.

By the way, when you get a low like that, you should always test 1/2 hour later, just in case kitty is still going down and you have to give more food. Looks like you were OK this time.

The first low is always stressful - it will get easier. Good job so far! :thumbup
 
Re: 113 PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 +7 134 9+ 120 Oliver HELP

This late in the cycle, you are probably OK. The +9 is 3 hours after his last food so the effect of the high carb has worn off. The 134 and 120 are also within meter variance, so essentially the same.
 
Re: PMPS 3+ 94 6+ 48 +7 134 9+ 120 10.5+ 183 Oliver HEL

This AMPS 487 WOW now what? I have posted New Condo I guess please answer there. Thanks No decrease I take it ? ASAP someone I am late already. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top