PMPS 224 10/18

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Little Bit’s Mom, Oct 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  2. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Little Bit is 115 for AMPS—will wait 20 minutes and test again. @Panic @JanetNJ
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  3. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Now he is at 119
     
  4. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Should I give the token dose of .5? I won’t be home after +4-5 this afternoon until his PMPS, so don’t want him going too low.
     
  5. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I have skipped so far since he’s below 150.
     
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    AGREE lol my heart was in my throat. lol
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  7. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Oh goodness I’m sorry! Promise I read and try my hardest to follow the rules here. :) :) He is happy and resting now. Ate nearly a whole can and received his inhaler.
     
  8. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol its ok...:bighug:;):coffee:
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  9. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  10. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Just attempted to test and couldn’t get a large enough sample. It turned a bit chilly here and I suppose I didn’t heat the ear enough. He is eating now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Cold weather can make it trickier to get samples. Warming the ear for longer definitely helps.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Chilly? whats that? lol
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  13. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Lol I’m in Florida, so it is all relative :p
     
  14. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I will have to try again so I can get a test in before I leave home. Thank you!
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I've only been to the States once and that was to Florida in late January. Weather was beautiful! :D


    Mogs
    .
     
  16. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Skip for sure
     
  17. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! Glad I did the right thing. He’s at 365 now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    It is nice in January! It is the hot that I cannot stand. Which makes you wonder why I live here... lol.
     
  19. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
  20. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I assume that he is ok to be given 3.25 units?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  21. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You know what to do! :D
     
  22. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You can always set an alarm to check on him. :oops:
     
  23. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    he did drop on his own didnt he?
     
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Dose Elizabeth help you? "painc"
     
  25. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes ma’am she does
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  26. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    The drop this morning? Yes ma’am. That was 12 hours past his last insulin.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  27. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    want me to tag her?
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  28. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    @Panic sorry would you mind looking at this spread sheet?
     
    Little Bit’s Mom likes this.
  29. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Please! I need to give him his insulin pretty soon—he just ate! :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    DONE
     
  31. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Thank you! I’ll wait for a few minutes :)
     
  32. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    HMM. Let me tag @Deb & Wink
    It could just be me (which is why I'm tagging Deb LOL) but it's starting to look like that 3.5u is giving too low of pre-shots the next morning for you to give full dose. So maybe 3.25u is better.

    Deb might have already been on tonight and might not see this till tomorrow, not sure. You could try 3.5u again and maybe try to snag a late-night test maybe at +6 or so (set an alarm)?
    Because 3.25u really isn't giving low nadirs ... but 3.5u is affecting your ability to give full dose. XD
     
  33. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    you are an ANGEL Elizabeth:bighug:
     
  34. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Yes, perplexing! That little quarter of a unit is making a big difference.
     
  35. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    One idea might be giving a "fat" 3.25u ... or a "skinny" 3.5u. But it's been a long time since I've even done that myself I'd need to read up on it again. :confused:
     
  36. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    That might work. Kind of in between the two?
     
  37. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Agreed!:bighug:
     
  38. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  39. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm calling it a night. see Y'all in the morning.

    BE SAFE WEAR A MASK
     
  40. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Goodnight! Thank you so much for your support—I appreciate you!
     
  41. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Yes, from my understanding it's "barely" more than (fat) or barely less than (skinny) the regular dose. So if you did a skinny 3.5u it would be just a hair less, maybe take out a drop or two?

    Night Jeanne! :kiss:
     
  42. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Ok. I will try my best! Hopefully I can get it just right. :) Thank you! I was so surprised by that low AMPS!
     
  43. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Yup, in between the 0.25U doses are what we call "Fat" and/or "Skinny" doses. So just a touch more insulin or a touch less, can make a difference with some cats.
    Record them on the SS as either 3.25F (F for Fat) or 3.5S (S for skinny).

    @SashaV is using skinny and fat doses with her insulin sensitive cat Mauer. See her posts over in the Prozinc ISG forum here.
     
    SashaV, Panic and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  44. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    It did seem to help. He wasn’t too low to dose this morning. I will continue on with a 3.5S. Thank you. :)
     
  45. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    224 PMPS — not too bad!
     
    JanetNJ and Deb & Wink like this.
  46. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :D Gnite Olivia and Lil
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  47. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Goodnight! :bighug:
     
  48. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    @Panic @JanetNJ would you ladies look at LB’s SS and tell me your thoughts, please?
     
  49. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Hmm can't say for sure without recent mid-cycles but might be time for a bump, will have to see!
     
  50. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    I’ll start taking more mid cycles—was letting the little ears have a break. :cat:
     
  51. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I agree
     
  52. Little Bit’s Mom

    Little Bit’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page