PMPS 191, HELP ~ ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

kitten68

Member Since 2024
hiii :)

BG is 191.. PMPS. stalling rn. but due at 8:35.. will re-test.

on 2 U AM/PM rn. thinking to just give .5 U or maybe 1 U.. think should be ok. (have done 212 ~ and gave 1.5 and was ok..)

if anyone can advise. :woot::woot::woot::woot:

vet suggested no shot if below 175, above/around near 200 to give 1 U or .5 U..
 
well, re-checked.. 222.. then 204.. then 200.. oh boy. I just let him eat.. so those are the numbers. thinking to just give .5 U. due around 8:20..
 
Last edited:
My Veterenarian, who is quite knowledgeable, said this: If his glucose is between 120-150 I would say you can give a ½ dose of insulin regardless of eating, which in this case would be1 unit. If it is less than 120 mg/dL I would personally skip that dose or try again after giving him the opportunity to eat more.

Big HOWEVER. I did not follow this. Because, on this forum the suggestion for newly diagnosed kitties (if I am not mistaken) is to either give half or hold under 200. For me.... I will skip the shot if it is near 200. Better high than low. This is just what has worked for me. So, if I am incorrect on any of these points, it is not deliberate. For me, I don't feel comfortable giving a dose of Glargine at 200, based on what I know about Pumpkin. Sometimes, I refer to the spreadsheet to see what had happened at similar numbers as a guide. :)

Edited: I saw Pudge's spreadsheet, and I would have done the exact same. But, have you started Lantus or (Glargine generic) ?
 
Last edited:
:woot::woot::woot::bighug::bighug:
My Veterenarian, who is quite knowledgeable, said this: If his glucose is between 120-150 I would say you can give a ½ dose of insulin regardless of eating, which in this case would be1 unit. If it is less than 120 mg/dL I would personally skip that dose or try again after giving him the opportunity to eat more.

Big HOWEVER. I did not follow this. Because, on this forum the suggestion for newly diagnosed kitties (if I am not mistaken) is to either give half or hold under 200. For me.... I will skip the shot if it is near 200. Better high than low. This is just what has worked for me. So, if I am incorrect on any of these points, it is not deliberate. For me, I don't feel comfortable giving a dose of Glargine at 200, based on what I know about Pumpkin. Sometimes, I refer to the spreadsheet to see what had happened at similar numbers as a guide. :)

Edited: I saw Pudge's spreadsheet, and I would have done the exact same. But, have you started Lantus or (Glargine generic) ?
thanks for trying to give some advice!! :cat: y’know.. (second time no one was able to answer at time.. lol… yikes) but feeling same!! exactly. here they said be careful if below 200.. cause ideally pre-shot is upper 200s, 300.. kitty was pretty high tho later in evening.. but glad was conservative. he couldve had 1 U i think.. but idk. i tried getting nadir but missed it… the saying is to see the trend and response of the insulin.. o_Oo_O and i remembered you telling me better high than low (tyyy!!!!)… woof.

Ty for looking at sheet!!! yay.. well. right?? cool! thats what it looked like to me.. :) i was like, give something. just not a lot. :cat:

Lantus getting started tmw AM…. :woot::woot::woot: got pen syringe everything. need more strips maybe.. Shell im so excited…. slightly nervous but eh. thinking of starting low tho here too.. 1 U.. even thought been on Vetsulin for around 6 weeks.. (wish he had been on it in the first place!!!) alas. :rolleyes:
 
:woot::woot::woot::bighug::bighug:
thanks for trying to give some advice!! :cat: y’know.. (second time no one was able to answer at time.. lol… yikes) but feeling same!! exactly. here they said be careful if below 200.. cause ideally pre-shot is upper 200s, 300.. kitty was pretty high tho later in evening.. but glad was conservative. he couldve had 1 U i think.. but idk. i tried getting nadir but missed it… the saying is to see the trend and response of the insulin.. o_Oo_O and i remembered you telling me better high than low (tyyy!!!!)… woof.

Ty for looking at sheet!!! yay.. well. right?? cool! thats what it looked like to me.. :) i was like, give something. just not a lot. :cat:

Lantus getting started tmw AM…. :woot::woot::woot: got pen syringe everything. need more strips maybe.. Shell im so excited…. slightly nervous but eh. thinking of starting low tho here too.. 1 U.. even thought been on Vetsulin for around 6 weeks.. (wish he had been on it in the first place!!!) alas. :rolleyes:
Yes, if in immediate doubt I will go with the safer option until someone does respond, such as not giving a full dose if in question. If anything, I just will use the knowledge in the future if / when the same event happens again.

An example was I learned is to never give 2 doses in ANY amount. Such as if there is a fur shot. One time I gave a half dose due to low numbers. My question had been if I should give the remaining half dose if numbers rose after eating. I didn't get an immediate answer, so I did not administer what was my idea. The next day, I discovered that a 2nd dose should never happen. No matter what! Just passing on the good info in case the question ever arises. 1 dose and 1 only regardless. Even if it ends up a fur shot.

No worries with Lantus. At least, I have found it so. It is simply a long acting insulin. And, it's stored inside the kitty in what's referred to as Depot Insulin. I'm not sure if you saw the sticky in the Lantus forum, but it is a pretty good insightful read. :)
 
Last edited:
Yes, if in immediate doubt I will go with the safer option until someone does respond, such as not giving a full dose if in question. If anything, I just will use the knowledge in the future if / when the same event happens again.

An example was I learned is to never give 2 doses in ANY amount. Such as if there is a fur shot. One time I gave a half dose due to low numbers. My question had been if I should give the remaining half dose if numbers rose after eating. I didn't get an immediate answer, so I did not administer what was my idea. The next day, I discovered that a 2nd dose should never happen. No matter what! Just passing on the good info in case the question ever arises. 1 dose and 1 only regardless. Even if it ends up a fur shot.

No worries with Lantus. At least, I have found it so. It is simply a long acting insulin. And, it's stored inside the kitty in what's referred to as Depot Insulin. I'm not sure if you saw the sticky in the Lantus forum, but it is a pretty good insightful read. :)
will def answer more later but if can lmk below!
~ with Lantus, understand there's a depot and that it also takes 5-7 days to see how things are.. in addition to seeing things normalize potentially taking time. does this mean his sugars will be high during this time?.... tried reading the sticky and still not clear on that.. like does it actually work immediately, but its also building up in the system? or what can I expect? he's been on Vetsulin since mid April..

And Shell! just came home and he was +8 134.. :woot:o_O:woot:o_O oh boy. i dont know how to deal w small numbers lol.. learning again.. lowest ive seen since diagnosed!? will see at shot time… just feel bad if he got lower while gone but dont think so (?) his food bowl is full of wasted food lol
 
Yes, if in immediate doubt I will go with the safer option until someone does respond, such as not giving a full dose if in question. If anything, I just will use the knowledge in the future if / when the same event happens again.

An example was I learned is to never give 2 doses in ANY amount. Such as if there is a fur shot. One time I gave a half dose due to low numbers. My question had been if I should give the remaining half dose if numbers rose after eating. I didn't get an immediate answer, so I did not administer what was my idea. The next day, I discovered that a 2nd dose should never happen. No matter what! Just passing on the good info in case the question ever arises. 1 dose and 1 only regardless. Even if it ends up a fur shot.

No worries with Lantus. At least, I have found it so. It is simply a long acting insulin. And, it's stored inside the kitty in what's referred to as Depot Insulin. I'm not sure if you saw the sticky in the Lantus forum, but it is a pretty good insightful read. :)
right! that was my thought.. esp since it was at night and I'd be asleep o_O.. I seen that too!! the info pages always say that.. never give 2, or try again if it messed up.. cuz its not certain how much got in.

and good to hear on Lantus.. again not sure what this all means if by chance can see my last reply :cat::cat:
 
will def answer more later but if can lmk below!
~ with Lantus, understand there's a depot and that it also takes 5-7 days to see how things are.. in addition to seeing things normalize potentially taking time. does this mean his sugars will be high during this time?.... tried reading the sticky and still not clear on that.. like does it actually work immediately, but its also building up in the system? or what can I expect? he's been on Vetsulin since mid April..

And Shell! just came home and he was +8 134.. :woot:o_O:woot:o_O oh boy. i dont know how to deal w small numbers lol.. learning again.. lowest ive seen since diagnosed!? will see at shot time… just feel bad if he got lower while gone but dont think so (?) his food bowl is full of wasted food lol
Ah, so he is a grazer. Of course, could be lower if he ate less today.

And from my experience, it takes a few days. Sometimes even more... for me to starting to see reductions in numbers. My Vet goes by 10 days in full before any kind of dosage increase. However, here it's said to be safe after 7 days. I do 7 now because I've been trying to manage Pumpkin's for a little while now. At first I was doing 10, but I am a little more familiar with his reactions to it. You've been trying to manage Pudge's for a couple of months. Not sure, but if it were me I'd wait the 10 days to decide on any increases early on. Especially since he's just going to be starting it. However, the 7 day option is another time to assess, whichever you prefer.

He may get lower, he may get higher today by PM shot time. I guess we will have to see :)
 
Ah, so he is a grazer. Of course, could be lower if he ate less today.

And from my experience, it takes a few days. Sometimes even more... for me to starting to see reductions in numbers. My Vet goes by 10 days in full before any kind of dosage increase. However, here it's said to be safe after 7 days. I do 7 now because I've been trying to manage Pumpkin's for a little while now. At first I was doing 10, but I am a little more familiar with his reactions to it. You've been trying to manage Pudge's for a couple of months. Not sure, but if it were me I'd wait the 10 days to decide on any increases early on. Especially since he's just going to be starting it. However, the 7 day option is another time to assess, whichever you prefer.

He may get lower, he may get higher today by PM shot time. I guess we will have to see :)
that must be part of it... mm! im trying to think tho on other days when he refrained eating when I was gone whether it was STILL high or not.. omg. can't recall....

he sure is, he sure is ~ I mean, he gets a number of small meals throughout the day, two biggest PS.. and ohh no.. he'll be high for some time in the beginning on Lantus??... guess he was on Vetsulin too while acclimating to meds.. ohh im sad :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye: lol... *cries. well.. right. will keep in mind.. oh boy.

hmm I suppose I will see right.. maybe will be able to tell in 7. maybe will do 10. :woot::woot: maybe will do 10..
 
that must be part of it... mm! im trying to think tho on other days when he refrained eating when I was gone whether it was STILL high or not.. omg. can't recall....

he sure is, he sure is ~ I mean, he gets a number of small meals throughout the day, two biggest PS.. and ohh no.. he'll be high for some time in the beginning on Lantus??... guess he was on Vetsulin too while acclimating to meds.. ohh im sad :blackeye::blackeye::blackeye: lol... *cries. well.. right. will keep in mind.. oh boy.

hmm I suppose I will see right.. maybe will be able to tell in 7. maybe will do 10. :woot::woot: maybe will do 10..
Oh! Since he's already on insulin therapy, I don't know if the switch to Lantus will raise numbers. It does not seem that it should. I don't know if any other member has switched Insulins that could share experience. Perhaps ask your Vet? But, I don't know if they are well versed in treating Diabetic Kitties.

For instance, my Vet told me her preference is Lantus. I am very picky about Vets, too. And, I trust this one's better judgement, she's done good for him. But, I will say that Lantus might not reduce the numbers futher on day 1. That would be a guess. Because it is long acting, my guess would be that it functions differently than Vetsulin. Meaning that it lasts longer.
 
Oh! Since he's already on insulin therapy, I don't know if the switch to Lantus will raise numbers. It does not seem that it should. I don't know if any other member has switched Insulins that could share experience. Perhaps ask your Vet? But, I don't know if they are well versed in treating Diabetic Kitties.

For instance, my Vet told me her preference is Lantus. I am very picky about Vets, too. And, I trust this one's better judgement, she's done good for him. But, I will say that Lantus might not reduce the numbers futher on day 1. That would be a guess. Because it is long acting, my guess would be that it functions differently than Vetsulin. Meaning that it lasts longer.
makes sense.. until you find the dose.. but because Lantus is longer acting.. there hopefully won't be so many ups and downs and back up again :) so glad u have a vet u like! (im on the market we'll see lol.. they'll do for now I guess..)

and ohh he was back up to 310 PS.. ugh. got his meds for sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top