? PMPS 187 - Do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can you monitor tonight Patti? Often with Levemir the lowest number or nadir can be around preshot time. That might be what you are seeing now. He hasn't come down a lot in the last four hours.

If you can monitor, this is a safe number to shoot. However, I cannot stick with you tonight as I have a dinner out. I would get a +2 test to start out if you shoot. But do shoot that reduced dose he earned.

I don't think you need to wait.
 
Well, I screwed up. I put his food down before I tested, and now he is chowing down, so I'm not sure what to do.
 
Thank you, Wendy. I will shoot a reduced dose and test at +2 and probably be awake watching him all night. :(
 
That was quite a difference in BGs! Hopefully he'll come down gently and safely and you'll wake up to a nicer number than that.

How is Rhett?

Just a reminder, Patti, that we ask everyone to only do one thread a day. Just change your subject line when you have a new issue you need help with, and add a reply to state the problem. That way all your info for the day is in one place and easier for others to follow. ;)
 
How is Rhett?
Rhett didn't want to eat today, so I went to PetSmart and bought some new food that I despise - Royal Canin Renal canned. He is clearly uncomfortable, but I'm not sure what else to do besides subq fluids, miralax, pumpkin, slippery elm bark, cerenia and zantac. He hasn't pooped, so I assume it is constipation, but what else can I do?? I am so incredibly stressed by all of this and not being able to help resolve their health issues. I tried a curve on Jett today and all I got was "Hi" numbers. I have no idea what I am doing.
 
Did he eat it?
Thanks, Tricia. Rhett ate the Renal-T canned last night, but doesn't want it this morning. He has eaten a few bites of the Renal Support dry. I know he is constipated and nothing is working. I teach at the university and have to give an exam tonight, so I realistically can't get him to the vet until Wed. It all seems out of control despite my 24 hour efforts in helping them feel better. Thanks for your sweet note on my other thread. I do feel all alone, so thank you so much for your encouragement and help.

Patti
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top