Susan and Timmy
Member Since 2017
Hi, Well Timmy was high this morning at 404 at AMPS. Now PMPS is 179. Do I skip his dose tonight? I don't know what dose would be safe for him now.
He has not eaten for two hours. He hasn't had blue numbers at shot time very often. He was high this a.m. so I posted and got help. Now I'm posting because he is too low. Ugh.You'll get better help soon. Has he eaten? Is this unusual for him? What would his "average" numbers be?
Okay, I will test again in about 20 minutes. Just was rereading the earlier post from today to get a better handle on the night doses.Stall without feeding and retest in 20 minutes. If necessary, stall for another 20 minutes up to a total of 60 minutes if needed. If he gets above 200 you could try 1 u and test again at +2.
Yes. Give what you're comfortable with. Feed, wait 20-30 min as per our recommendation for Vetsulin and then give the dose. Test again at +2 to see what he's doing.Test now is 215. So 1 unit or .75 unit is safe to give him now?
Test of 215 was stalling for 20 minutes. Shots are 12 hours apart with no eating 2 hours prior.@MrWorfMen's Mom @Larry and Kitties. ETA was the test done 12 hours from his shot? If so, stall for 30 minutes retest and if it's under 200 do not shoot. 1 unit even .5 unit could cause him to go too low. Better high for a day than too low for a second.
This happens because the AM dose of insulin has worn off and the BG is beginning to rise on its own. That's the reason for the stall technique. It helps you see where you are in the waning of the dose. The thinking is that by the time you've fed and waited 20-30 minutes there's no more of the AM dose left and the BG is rising because he's a diabetic with no more insulin in him and also there's food on board.I am not understanding his numbers. How could 20 minutes ago he be in the blues and questioning dosing and then now yellows, without food.
Thank you for the explanation. It really helps. I have collected a good amount of info on Timmy, but I am not sure how to read it. That, and my brain gets stuck because he is my fur baby and I am afraid I will do something wrong. I will be giving him a shot tonight though. I just tested him and he is 235. DH says 1.0 unit. Yes?This happens because the AM dose of insulin has worn off and the BG is beginning to rise on its own. That's the reason for the stall technique. It helps you see where you are in the waning of the dose. The thinking is that by the time you've fed and waited 20-30 minutes there's no more of the AM dose left and the BG is rising because he's a diabetic with no more insulin in him and also there's food on board.
I'm sorry if the different dosing advice you're getting is confusing you. Ultimately it's up to you. If he was my cat I'd be giving him insulin this evening.
Is that 235 after another 20 minute stall? If so, he's definitely on the rise and should be fine with 1 u. I'd test again at +2 to see if he's heading down too soon/quickly. You can steer with food if that happens.Thank you for the explanation. It really helps. I have collected a good amount of info on Timmy, but I am not sure how to read it. That, and my brain gets stuck because he is my fur baby and I am afraid I will do something wrong. I will be giving him a shot tonight though. I just tested him and he is 235. DH says 1.0 unit. Yes?
Yes, that was after another 20 minute stall. He just ate so I'll wait about 10 minutes and give him the 1 unit. I will definitely be testing him at +2. Thank you for your help today on both posts. I am learning a lot and I appreciate it so much.Is that 235 after another 20 minute stall? If so, he's definitely on the rise and should be fine with 1 u. I'd test again at +2 to see if he's heading down too soon/quickly. You can steer with food if that happens.
The only way to get the BGs down into blues and greens is to push the dosing envelope a bit when it's safe to do so. You only have one green so far on your SS so I don't think he'll dive really low.
You're welcome! Your +2 for me will be midnight so I won't be at my computer. If you need help steering with food at +2 and beyond you can post a new thread with the question mark icon in its title (icon is in the drop down menu to the left of the thread title bar). If he's dropping far too fast and it's scaring you you can use the 911 icon to get attention fast. I don't expect that will happen though.Yes, that was after another 20 minute stall. He just ate so I'll wait about 10 minutes and give him the 1 unit. I will definitely be testing him at +2. Thank you for your help today on both posts. I am learning a lot and I appreciate it so much.
I does help...a lot. Thank you so much.I just checked your SS and I see that he was at 274 two and a half hours after his shot. Whew! I'm glad he didn't nosedive. I was quite confident that he wouldn't but you never know with kitties ...
Learning how to give doses when you're using an in-and-out insulin like Vetsulin is tricky because there are no rules that say if BG is x then give y or if BG drops to a certain number, reduce by a certain amount. So much depends on your own kitty's responses. I recall there was discussion on your other thread of sliding scale dosing versus consistent dosing. My opinion is that sliding scale dosing is a good approach to try once you've stuck to consistent dosing for a while and need to tweak your method to get better results. Some cats do well with it while others like consistency.
Your SS shows that you've varied the dose at different PSs when it might have been better to hold the dose or you've changed it too much in response to a different AM vs PMPS. It's tricky to know when to change the dose and by how much, especially early in the FD game when you're new to it and kitty's body is still adjusting.
Here are some ideas for your consideration:
I hope this helps. It's very confusing in the early days. It takes a lot of data accumulation and a bit of (safe) experimenting to learn your kitty's responses and you can ask for help any time.
- try a "not too high/not too low" dose for the next 3 days and keep it unless a dive in BG warrants a change. I suggest 1.5 u. You gave this dose many times on a pink PS and never on a yellow but 1 u last night on a yellow PS didn't send him diving. If 1.5 u makes you nervous on a yellow PS, try 1.25 u. If he's pink at AMPS, definitely try 1.5 u.
- some of the erratic BG behaviour is probably due to Timmy bouncing with the up/down dosing that's happened
- if he's a bouncy kitty - and I think he might be - calming everything down by minimizing changes should help.
Okay. Those numbers help so much. It gives us parameters for now. Thank you.Susan, as long as you get pre-shot numbers of 200 or more and aim for a nadir (lowest cycle reading) of no less than 90 to 100 right now, Timmy will be fine. If nadir drops lower than 90 or pre-shots are lower, it might be necessary to re-evaluate the dose. I'm suggesting 90 as low goal just to give you an extra cushion to avoid having readings drop too low until you get Timmy figured out.