PMPS=171, +1=210, +2=124, +3=72, +3.5=56, +4=66, +5=98, +6=120

By the way, I've been through dozens of hypos with Leo. And dozens with members here.
 
rooting for you -- my vote would be yes -- been there done that -- honey in a squeeze bottle is much easier than honey in a jar (for the next time) only make sure it really IS honey and not that adulterated-with-corn-syrup junk -- I get mine from a neighbor who keeps bees
 
He is still not technically hypo. But I would say he is headed there. And I don't like messing around. How about some HC for the little guy.

HC or honey is fine.
 
Please test at +4hr. He will probably go to 90+. A teaspoon is pretty small. We'll give a larger amount if +4 is low.
 
So I opened the can and he got right up in there. And now he’s looking at me like where’s the food? Perhaps I should have just offered him regular food?
 
The problem with that strategy of - regular food. If he goes lower, then we need to shove carbs in him. The regular food will interfere.

We could do it at 12:00 if he comes up from that HC you just gave him. I'm also CST timezone (Austin TX).
 
Please test at +4hr. He will probably go to 90+. A teaspoon is pretty small. We'll give a larger amount if +4 is low.
Shoot. I just freaked out and I didn’t want to ruin all the work we’ve done with his curve today :( Will test again and +4.
 
The problem with that strategy of - regular food. If he goes lower, then we need to shove carbs in him. The regular food will interfere.

We could do it at 12:00 if he comes up from that HC you just gave him. I'm also CST timezone (Austin TX).
BTW - love Austin!
 
Not to worry. You're doing fine. Sometimes it takes a bit to fine tune their insulin and balance it with food.:bighug:
 
A couple things, when you have time. First, put “SLGS” in your signature, so we can better help you with dosing. On SLGS, if a kitty goes below 90, the dose should be reduced by 0.25 units.

When kitties first go below 100, it is a good idea to give a couple tsp of regular low carb food, to slow them down a bit. And to encourage them to spend time in healthy but safe healing numbers. Save the high carb and honey for numbers below 50.

Next, numbers below 50 are not hypos, unless kitty is experiencing hypo symptoms. We call them low numbers events. In five years, my girl never had a true hypo, in spite of occasionally dropping into the 30’s. However, we do what we can to get the, above 50 as fast as possible, as it is not a good place for cats on insulin. Is Velcro experiencing hypo symptoms? If not, please don’t call it a hypo as it raises alarm bells here,
 
Austin is great, DH has a bunch of relatives in the area -- his one grandmother was a Wimberley from Wimberley ...
actually pick most any town in Texas, he's got a cousin there

oh, and don't worry about "ruining" anything, it's amazing what our cats can and will do --- it does take a while and a lot of work to get things a bit more stable -- then they throw some sabots into the machinery and dare you to figure it all out
 
Austin is great, DH has a bunch of relatives in the area -- his one grandmother was a Wimberley from Wimberley ...
actually pick most any town in Texas, he's got a cousin there

oh, and don't worry about "ruining" anything, it's amazing what our cats can and will do --- it does take a while and a lot of work to get things a bit more stable -- then they throw some sabots into the machinery and dare you to figure it all out
Thanks :) ❤️
 
A couple things, when you have time. First, put “SLGS” in your signature, so we can better help you with dosing. On SLGS, if a kitty goes below 90, the dose should be reduced by 0.25 units.

When kitties first go below 100, it is a good idea to give a couple tsp of regular low carb food, to slow them down a bit. And to encourage them to spend time in healthy but safe healing numbers. Save the high carb and honey for numbers below 50.

Next, numbers below 50 are not hypos, unless kitty is experiencing hypo symptoms. We call them low numbers events. In five years, my girl never had a true hypo, in spite of occasionally dropping into the 30’s. However, we do what we can to get the, above 50 as fast as possible, as it is not a good place for cats on insulin. Is Velcro experiencing hypo symptoms? If not, please don’t call it a hypo as it raises alarm bells here,

Gosh I read back through my strings the last two days and I don’t think I called it a hypo, though the emergency vet who’s care he’s been under did call it that yesterday when I called them about the low numbers. My sincere apologies for any trouble I caused or I missed a reference. No, Velcro has not expressed any hypo symptoms. And ya, shoot I wish I had offered him more regular food earlier. He just doesn’t normally eat this late.
 
I would give some regular LC food (now) and continue to monitor with BG tests at 1am and 2am.
I'll check at 1am here. Your kitteh should be fine tonight.
 
No worries. Not saying you called it a hypo, but others did here. I was really wondering if he was exhibiting hypo symptoms.

I would not go to bed just yet. The down side of feeding high carb food is that it can raise the numbers for a couple hours. When the carbs wear off, the numbers can go back down. So, best to test for a couple hours after feeding high carb. For next time, try low carb first, then if his numbers go up, you know it’s his cycle naturally going up and it is safe to go to bed.
 
He’s happily lapping away at his normal LC food, not acknowledging his mama’s stress at all. And his non-diabetic brothers are enjoying part of the open HC can as a treat. Testing again at 1 (+5).
 
He will be fine tonight. One good way to learn more about managing Velcro's diabetes is to follow a few other cats who are regulated. You can then see the habits they are applying.
 
He will be fine tonight. One good way to learn more about managing Velcro's diabetes is to follow a few other cats who are regulated. You can then see the habits they are applying.
I have been stalking spreadsheets the last 2 days. Perhaps my takeaway is that he needs another small meal 2 or so hours after he dose. That seems to be the pattern; and in line with his natural eating habits before we were dealing with stomatitis and diabetes.
 
That's great - monitoring other spreadsheets.

Some people free feed, and some do controlled feeding. The +2 meal works. Leo used to get a bunch of small meals, and others have used that method as well.
 
+5 = 98. He ate food to the size of a small meal and finished all in the plate. About 35-40 calories. Acting fine, and in fact he has decided to head to bed. I will test at 2 just in case - yesterday after I gave him honey he went up then fell sharply a couple hours out.
 
He should be okay for tonight.

The HC and honey/karo are short acting, and generally not that healthy. We are really looking for 2 hours of same or higher BG after the last food. With his current numbers tonight, he should be fine.
 
He should be okay for tonight.

The HC and honey/karo are short acting, and generally not that healthy. We are really looking for 2 hours of same or higher BG after the last food. With his current numbers tonight, he should be fine.
Thanks for your help tonight.
 
Back
Top