PMPS=171, +1=210, +2=124, +3=72, +3.5=56, +4=66, +5=98, +6=120

AEHawkeye

Member Since 2019
Yesterday my newly diagnosed Velcro dipped down to 68, got him up to 133, then down to 58 in the AM cycle. Did not dose in the PM with guidance from vet. Tested a few times and he’s been pretty flat in the 200s. Need to pretest and decide on insulin in and hour. Full dose or half dose if he’s still in 200s?
 
Last edited:
He was up in 290s so I gave him a full dose. Will retest throughout the day and let him have another LC meal when he’s hungry.
 
Last edited:
My guy needs his cutey-rest! After a 1.5 hour nap post dosing, he popped up looked around, and headed straight for the food he leftover from this morning’s feeding. I don’t think the twice a day feedings the vet recommended are going to work as long as he has an appetite.
 

Attachments

  • 1CA21C40-26C5-491F-AE57-4E728A8F2309.jpeg
    1CA21C40-26C5-491F-AE57-4E728A8F2309.jpeg
    51.7 KB · Views: 108
He fell 140 in 2 hours so maybe we are going to be in for another low day. He’s still eating what he left over this morning, so I added a bit more.
 
My guy needs his cutey-rest! After a 1.5 hour nap post dosing, he popped up looked around, and headed straight for the food he leftover from this morning’s feeding. I don’t think the twice a day feedings the vet recommended are going to work as long as he has an appetite.
It would not work for my Ti-Mousse also. What is suggested is many small meals during the day and no food 2 hours prior AM and PM shooting!
 
He fell 140 in 2 hours so maybe we are going to be in for another low day. He’s still eating what he left over this morning, so I added a bit more.
Yes, looks like an active cycle! I'd make sure he eats enough but also will be hungry later for when you need him to be aka when he's dropping. But I hope Velcro stays nice and safe for you.
 
Fell again at +4, down to 90. Being newly diagnosed this is not in my comfort zone. He did eat a bit right around the time I tested him.
 
Last edited:
Keep the food coming - forget that vet advice about twice a day - let's just focus on what your kittieh needs and right now it's food to keep his BG's from going too low...if he's hungry, let him eat his low carb - he's making adjustments to his new diet (I presume you used to feed him dry or other foods?)

Hang in there and ride that nice wave Velcro! You are looking fabulous today out there in the lagoon - try not to scare mama half to death with any diving today, k?:D:D
 
Have you given any thought on what dosing method you’d like to follow? I’m getting the impression you may feel more comfortable with SLGS.

If that’s the case, it would be time to decrease Velcro’s dose to 0.75 units.

@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bron and Sheba What do you think of Velcro’s dose?
Yes I think SLGS would be my preferred method. Both due to my nature and the amount of time I can devote regularly to testing.
 
Keep the food coming - forget that vet advice about twice a day - let's just focus on what your kittieh needs and right now it's food to keep his BG's from going too low...if he's hungry, let him eat his low carb - he's making adjustments to his new diet (I presume you used to feed him dry or other foods?)

Hang in there and ride that nice wave Velcro! You are looking fabulous today out there in the lagoon - try not to scare mama half to death with any diving today, k?:D:D
Thank you. This is so stressful! He mostly was on a wet food diet because I was doing a lot of syringe feeding. I thought it had to do with mouth sores but in retrospect in missed that sign for diabetes . His food was low carb (Sheba perfect portions) but he was also getting a gel supplement and olive oil to boost his calorie intake.
 
But just a word of warning: you may be giving a smaller dose tonight but his cycle may still be influenced by the 1 unit dose this morning. So you may see lower numbers through the night. That’s the depot talking. But you also drained the depot last night by not shooting. Or Velcro may bounce and produce high numbers and let you sleep. ;) Basically, continued low numbers may or may not happen tonight.
 
But just a word of warning: you may be giving a smaller dose tonight but his cycle may still be influenced by the 1 unit dose this morning. So you may see lower numbers through the night. That’s the depot talking. But you also drained the depot last night by not shooting. Or Velcro may bounce and produce high numbers and let you sleep. ;) Basically, continued low numbers may or may not happen tonight.
So I ideally want low numbers right, it’s just that his body hasn’t regulated that this is such a problem, right?
 
My guy needs his cutey-rest! After a 1.5 hour nap post dosing, he popped up looked around, and headed straight for the food he leftover from this morning’s feeding. I don’t think the twice a day feedings the vet recommended are going to work as long as he has an appetite.
Cutey rest! Ain't that right :joyful:
 
So I ideally want low numbers right, it’s just that his body hasn’t regulated that this is such a problem, right?

Yes, ideally you want Velcro to stay within 120 - 50. But because Velcro is so new to insulin, we want to stay safe. Until you gather enough data and know what Velcro will do with insulin, it’s best to play it safe. The numbers you’re getting today are perfect and beautiful though.

I don’t - and also my syringes don’t have partial units. I have read the sticky on the method, will read again.

You may need to eyeball the 0.75 unit dose for now. I’d suggest getting calipers and syringes that have half unit marks.

Take a look at this post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
 
Yes, ideally you want Velcro to stay within 120 - 50. But because Velcro is so new to insulin, we want to stay safe. Until you gather enough data and know what Velcro will do with insulin, it’s best to play it safe. The numbers you’re getting today are perfect and beautiful though.



You may need to eyeball the 0.75 unit dose for now. I’d suggest getting calipers and syringes that have half unit marks.

Take a look at this post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/
Thank you!
 
Coming up to 77 at +7.5. Yesterday he spiked up and then fell lower between +7 and +9, but yesterday I gave him honey twice per vet (68 and then later 58), so maybe we can ride out this cycle and see what it really looks like without further intervention.
 
That pic of Velcro zonked out is adorable! We free-feed around here, there's no way feeding Perry only twice a day would work. Does anyone (maybe @JeffJ or @Crista & Ming ?) know whether there's a sticky on managing the curve with food? I've read about it here and there, but I can't remember if there's a sticky somewhere that specifically addresses it.
 
That pic of Velcro zonked out is adorable! We free-feed around here, there's no way feeding Perry only twice a day would work. Does anyone (maybe @JeffJ or @Crista & Ming ?) know whether there's a sticky on managing the curve with food? I've read about it here and there, but I can't remember if there's a sticky somewhere that specifically addresses it.
We have 2 other cats, one of which won’t touch wet food. The other will eat anything, and as fast as possible. So we’ve never free fed - but we did feed small meals 6 times a day. The meal times were convenient for work and bed, but don’t necessarily revolve around Velcro’s BG needs right now. I have until mid-August to have it sorted out.
 
Kudos to you for getting the spreadsheet, the signature, and the consistent dosing all setup and going. It gets easier from here.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Perfect numbers today. Agree with Crista on 0.75 to be safe. And the need for more tests to get some nadir patterns established.

I don't know about regulating the daily curve with food.
 
Kudos to you for getting the spreadsheet, the signature, and the consistent dosing all setup and going. It gets easier from here.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Perfect numbers today. Agree with Crista on 0.75 to be safe. And the need for more tests to get some nadir patterns established.

I don't know about regulating the daily curve with food.
Thanks. I’ve worked as an analyst before so using a data points in a spreadsheet to identify trends is a natural step! Will retest before dosing and yes, probably do a .75.
 
Ok guys - do I shoot a 171 (0.75) or not? Last night I did not shoot at 218 based on advise from the vet, but today’s curve was less scary. Also probably would have been fine yesterday but I was nervous.

Or do I stall? I couldn’t keep him from eating any longer. So he’s eaten.
 
If you’re stocked with HC and honey I would shoot. Get a +1 and +2

You can stall 20 mins for your own peace of mind but he has eaten so it’s most likely food influenced
Ok I dosed him what was probably closer to 0.5 than 0.75 since my syringe doesn’t have half marks but I want to be safe - Velcro is too new for me to know what is going to happen.
 
I used to get syringes from Walgreens $18 for 100. Dosing consistency is important. Some people are using calipers (I always eyeballed it).
 
This may sound like a dumb question but how much does Velco weigh? The starting dose of Lantus (if using TR) is based on weight: initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms. Usually, this calculates out to around 1.0u unless your cat is a smaller sized kitty. (With SLGS, the starting dose is lower -- 0.5u if your cat is on a low carb, canned food diet.
 
NO question is dumb, not here (actually not anywhere) -- if that was in your introduction, I either missed it or forgot

and by the way, love the name, is there a story behind it?
 
Velcro weighs between 8 and 8.5 lbs. I know that is a decently wide range but he has been a finicky eater for the last year. I guess at least recently because of diabetes, but he has stomatitis and sometimes his mouth hurts so much he can’t eat easily.

He came out of a 4 day hospital stay on a Thursday. The vet gave me no method to follow, just the following instructions. 1 unit of Lantus at 8am and 8 pm. Test and feed before. No real guidance about what I was testing for and they really don’t want him to eat between doses. But in his whole life he has never been a large meal all at once kind of kitty. Before all of this, he got 6 very small meals a day. That feeding hasn’t been working as his blood sugar drops in the afternoon, so now he gets a little more food when he is hungry.
 
NO question is dumb, not here (actually not anywhere) -- if that was in your introduction, I either missed it or forgot

and by the way, love the name, is there a story behind it?
Behind Velcro’s name? Yes, and kinda long and probably only funny to my husband and I. But when we were dating, and before we had Velcro, we moved him 4 hours away from where we were living. It was a long day by time we got the truck loaded, drove, and unloaded. My future in-laws came to take us to dinner and my MIL was talking about this cat their daughter had to Velcro in his cage. So, after such a long day, we were laughing hysterically and picturing a cat strapped against the back of the cage in a Velcro suit stuck to the cage. What she meant, but didn’t provide any of the detail for up front, was that the clip was broken and she had to Velcro it shut. No kitties were injured in the storey :)
 
+1 was 210. Checking the SS, this is my first +1 reading I’ve done. Is the rise likely from the feeding?
 
That is fine, and that is a safe number.

Let's say we get into lower numbers tonight - not likely but possible. Have you prepped for a hypo?
 
LOL -- loved the story -- totally different than the one I'd imagined ...

was imagining a kitten clinging to you with all four paws with claws extended, imbedded in sweater or hoodie or ....

I've known cats who could unlatch carriers .. might be that Velcro is one of the most secure ways to hold doors shut
 
I've been on a bunch of threads tonight. Can you please summarize Velcro's feeding habits, and food tonight?
 
my, that curve is looking more like a Vetsulin curve than one on Lantus -- wishing you the best, I'll be around for another half hour at least
 
I've been on a bunch of threads tonight. Can you please summarize Velcro's feeding habits, and food tonight?

He ate just before dosing, probably a little less than I would have liked, maybe 55 - 65 calories (1/3 of 5.5 oz can). I did let him have two small meals this afternoon as he was visibly hungry and his BG was falling, so that probably had to do with tonight’s volume. I think earlier he at a little more than half a can combined, 80-90 calories. He eats Friskies Pate.

His feeding since coming home from the hospital Thursday has been a big improvement as to before where I was mostly syringe feeding him. I think he had about 20 calories less then the vet would say is optimal. But that’s been typical over the last 4 days.
 
Back
Top