? PMPS 152- to shoot or not to shoot- advise please - +1 134 +2 120 +3 104 +3.5 135 +4.5 117 +5.5 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
Our PMPS is at 152, then 146 when I immediately checked again. Lowest that I have seen him in quite some time- we have never actually shot below 200.
I will be waiting about 15-20 min. without feeding then checking again.

I am looking for advise on how to proceed- I have high carb food, karo syrup, and lots of test strips. I will be home to check on him.
I am not sure if I should give him his whole (new ) dose of 7 units or go with a lower dose.

Thanks for your help!
 
I'd get the next check in 20 minutes to see if he's rising or still dropping at least. Hopefully someone else will be able to let you know whether to shoot or not. If you do go ahead and shoot, it's only 4 pm here so I can be here through a good part of his cycle if you're advised to shoot by someone who can't stick around for long this evening. Personally, I'd go with giving the shot as long as he's not still dropping to see if he can get into green numbers, but I'd rather someone with more experience confirms that for you before you give the shot as it's a fairly big dose on a fairly low number.
 
Thanks April,
We have never seen green numbers so it would be both exciting and terrifying at the same time!
He is not happy with me right now- due to the food delay, but I will check and repost his new numbers.
 
April is totally correct

If he's rising at the next test, shoot!!....if he's about the same...shoot!!...even if he drops a little...shoot!!

This may be his "breakthrough" dose so we don't want to be too scared to let him earn a reduction if that's what he has in mind

As long as you're home, able to test and have the supplies....SHOOT!! :)
 
Thanks for confirming @Chris & China. I'm completely happy to stick around and give help if he drops low, but I always like a little extra confirmation on the "safe to shoot" side with the higher dose kitties! :)

Sounds good Andrea - I'll check back with you in an hour, though if you've got any concerns go ahead and post any time you need to - I'm watching the thread so I'll get an alert. :)
 
The problem is that if you continue stalling and not feeding, the number MAY keep dropping because of no food...then you end up watching the number go down, down, down until it really might not be safe to shoot

You've gone up the dose ladder in a safe manner, so even though he's at a higher dose, as long as you're there to monitor him, it's going to be best to just keep going

Good luck!! Would be nice to see him earn a reduction instead of always going up in dose!
 
I'd stick with your normal feeding schedule for now and get a +2 test to see where he is at that point. If he's dropped a lot in the next hour (but still above 50 of course) you might want to just give him maybe 2/3 or 3/4 of the food he'd usually get so he'll be hungry later on if you need him to eat (unless he's one of those cats who'll eat as much as you give him every time of course). At the moment, he could be having a bit of a food spike so we'll still want to keep an eye on him for a while yet. Depending on where he is at +2 you might need to keep testing fairly often or you might be able to wait until +4 - it'll be easier to tell once we have the next number. :)
 
He may have a PJ party in mind tonight....we'd usually expect to see a little higher number at +1 due to the food

Let's see where he's at at +2 ....I think you're fine to give him a snack then too
 
He will eat as much as I give him, unfortunately. He is asking for food now, but I'm going to try to wait at least until + 1.5 to give him more.
I am planning On at a minimum a + 2 and +3 and then I'll see how he is at hat point. I have no problem setting an alarm If I need to.
 
He will eat as much as I give him, unfortunately. He is asking for food now, but I'm going to try to wait at least until + 1.5 to give him more.
There are times when that can very definitely be a good thing!

+2 and +3 sounds good for now - that should give you a good idea of where he's going tonight (I'm thinking PJ party too at this point). ;) So it really helps that you can set an alarm for later tests if you need to. :)
 
He's doing great so far. Nothing too concerning by way of a drop at this point - let's see where he is in an hour. :)
 
Glad he's getting a snack...that's a pretty good drop at +2 compared to PMPS and that can be your early warning that it might be an exciting night!!

Nice to see these better numbers!! :cool:
 
That's good - those mini meals really can make a difference. :) I'm sure he'll take to the auto feeder just fine once he realizes it has his food in it!! ;)
 
The noise scares a lot of them so you might want to start out by just putting some food into it without the "auto" part
If only anything like that would stop some of the cats in this house grabbing all the food in the first 2 minutes! The two here that get dry as well as wet are usually the first trying to steal the wet food the minute it appears. :rolleyes:
 
I'm hoping to slowly transition him. He is a pretty mellow cat. Not too much scares him, but I'm still going to slowly phase it in. First let him get used to the noise, then let him eat out of it without it moving then eventually switch over to just the feeder. I'm more worried about him breaking in once he figures out it has food inside.
Right now it's just sitting out in the room.
 
Just about right on cue based on his earlier numbers too! He's fine at the moment of course, but you will need to keep a fairly close eye on him over the next hour or so at least.
 
You could probably let him go until +4, but +3.5 might be more comfortable for you so you know exactly where he is a bit earlier.
 
I might as well try a +3.5. That will be in about 10 min.
Now that we're here, I want a green number!!!:)
I cant even imagine the bounce that he's gonna have after this
 
That'll work - I'm switching to my phone for a little bit, but I get notifications on that too so I'm still here even if the site shows that I'm not.

He might just not bounce too badly - he's had quite a few blue numbers already so he might manage a few green numbers better than you think. :)
 
+ 3.5 135
It looks like he may have decided he is not ready for the green yet!
He wants to go to bed now- when should I check again?
Is +4.5 too late?
 
Looking great!

Punkin was kinda skittish but he had the enormous appetite of a cat with acro. He was leery the first timE it rotated, but as soon as he figured out there was food there, he didn't care about the noise. I just set it, let him smell there was food hidden inside, and when it opened he sucked it up.:rolleyes:
 
I hate to say it, but I think I would test again around +5.5. He's doing really well, but he's just a little bit up and down around those numbers - I don't think he's going to go very low, but at the same time he just might.
 
What a great cycle for Tennie tonight!!

As hard as it is on us beans, it's sure nice to see those pretty blue numbers

Here's hoping that this was the "magic" dose that starts him down the road to reductions!
 
I think you should be OK - it looks like he's surfing that blue for tonight. As long as he's got plenty of food he should be good. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top