PMPS 140, +1 158,+2 165

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

I would not feed, and stall. That means, test again in 15 minutes or 20 minutes or so, to see if he's going up or down (without food). While you're waiting, you can check out this link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894 Others will be along to help you soon. Everything is okay.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Dyana said:
I would not feed, and stall. That means, test again in 15 minutes or 20 minutes or so, to see if he's going up or down (without food). While you're waiting, you can check out this link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894 Others will be along to help you soon. Everything is okay.

Stalling is definitely what I'm doing. Nervous as a cat in a drooler pen ! Thank you !!
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

You're doing good.
I don't know how much "room" you have to stall. Your shot tomorrow morning will need to be 12 hours from tonight's shot.
How much time do you have to "play" with, before it causes a problem with tomorrow's shot schedule?

By the way, congratulations on your lowest pre-shot :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Dyana said:
You're doing good.
I don't know how much "room" you have to stall. Your shot tomorrow morning will need to be 12 hours from tonight's shot.
How much time do you have to "play" with, before it causes a problem with tomorrow's shot schedule?

By the way, congratulations on your lowest pre-shot :mrgreen:

Now I am 20 past normal shot.Going to test now. Thank you :-D
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104-113 help

No shot,stalling. 23 minutes past scheduled shot BG is 113.Will retest in 15 mins.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

I think you can go ahead and shoot now. You've seen two rising numbers. But do what makes you feel comfortable.
Just remember that you will have to shoot 12 hours tomorrow morning from the time you shoot tonight,
unless you see a real high number tomorrow morning, then you can shoot a little earlier.

I am going to need to go to bed soon. So, get a +1 and +2 to start, after your PMPS (the PMPS is when you shoot the insulin), and post your numbers. People will be here help you. Be sure to leave a little extra food out for him when you go to bed tonight, too.

Congratulations on a nice set of numbers :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Dyana said:
I think you can go ahead and shoot now. You've seen two rising numbers. But do what makes you feel comfortable.
Just remember that you will have to shoot 12 hours tomorrow morning from the time you shoot tonight,
unless you see a real high number tomorrow morning, then you can shoot a little earlier.

I am going to need to go to bed soon. So, get a +1 and +2 to start, after your PMPS (the PMPS is when you shoot the insulin), and post your numbers. People will be here help you. Be sure to leave a little extra food out for him when you go to bed tonight, too.

Congratulations on a nice set of numbers :mrgreen:

Thank you but we now have a falling number :smile: Gonna keep testing every 15 for another hour.
PMPS 104 no shot
+23 mins 129
+38 mins 129
+55 mins 125
Good night Dyna. Thank you very much
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Great job, Brian. Several of us West Coasters will be up late if you have any problems with his numbers going downhill. Do you have lots of strips, lancets, high carb food, etc? Not to worry you but just in case. If he does get a low number and you get really worried, you can always click the 911 but like I said, there are several of us West Coasters that could walk you through bringing his numbers up if you need any help.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Hi Brian
129 and 125 are essentially the same number. It looks like Saber bounces from blue so I think he may go up from here. If you are comfortable, have high carb food, and will be home to test I think you can shoot now so you don't get too far off schedule. I know this is the lowest ps you have had so do not do anything you would not be ok with.
People are here all night to help you. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Great job, Brian. Several of us West Coasters will be up late if you have any problems with his numbers going downhill. Do you have lots of strips, lancets, high carb food, etc? Not to worry you but just in case. If he does get a low number and you get really worried, you can always click the 911 but like I said, there are several of us West Coasters that could walk you through bringing his numbers up if you need any help.


Thank you very much :-D Trouble is I just don't feel data ready.Trying to get in touch with Dr. Lisa but she is a very busy woman.I know the goal is low numbers but I don't have enough data to shoot this low confused_cat Still a learner !
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Brian --

A 129 and a 125 are pretty much the same number. Saber is surfing.

Dyana asked how far off schedule you can afford to be. The AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. Stalling can mess with your schedule. I just want to check on how a late shot tonight will effect you in the morning.

Also, in case you need it, do you have a supply of strips and HC food?
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Miriam and Putty said:
Hi Brian
129 and 125 are essentially the same number. It looks like Saber bounces from blue so I think he may go up from here. If you are comfortable, have high carb food, and will be home to test I think you can shoot now so you don't get too far off schedule. I know this is the lowest ps you have had so do not do anything you would not be ok with.
People are here all night to help you. :mrgreen:

Still very new at this.It took me a week to get my first BG test.Poor kitty thought I was torturing him.Only have 6.5 days of numbers.
Thanks for you help
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Sienne and Gabby said:
Brian --

A 129 and a 125 are pretty much the same number. Saber is surfing.

Dyana asked how far off schedule you can afford to be. The AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. Stalling can mess with your schedule. I just want to check on how a late shot tonight will effect you in the morning.

Also, in case you need it, do you have a supply of strips and HC food?

Got strips and HC food.Never had to use the HC.Schedule is not a problem as I am currently unemployed.I will adjust his shot 12 hours from tonight's shot.
Thank you :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Brian:

No one is going to twist your arm to shoot a low number. Did you have a place in mind where you would feel more comfortable? We always ask about issues like strips and HC because sometimes our kitties throw us a surprise. (Take a look at Gabby's condo from last night!)

Just let us know how we can help with this. I'd hate for you to be waiting hours for Dr. Lisa to be able to get back to you.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Brian

Sienne is so right...you need to be comfy with what you are shooting. We are all here to support you. Sienne or Miriam can better advise you but you might throw out the question of shooting a reduced dose....then you at least get some juice in Saber. But be sure you are ok with whatever you decide to do....as I've been told, you hold the syringe.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Sienne and Gabby said:
Brian:

No one is going to twist your arm to shoot a low number. Did you have a place in mind where you would feel more comfortable? We always ask about issues like strips and HC because sometimes our kitties throw us a surprise. (Take a look at Gabby's condo from last night!)

Just let us know how we can help with this. I'd hate for you to be waiting hours for Dr. Lisa to be able to get back to you.

Honestly surprised to have low #s so soon ! His BG has been very poorly managed by me and my local vet.Just in the past two weeks I decided to research this myself.Soooooo,here we are :-D
Thank you very much
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Brian...you will get desensitized :lol: :lol: I remember telling someone that I could NEVER shoot below 150. So my first 91 to shoot was adventurous and all she did after the shot was come up. The other night, I shot my lowest ever...a 67 and I was up ALL night; but I'm still a baby compared to what a lot of people around here shoot without blinking an eye. You are right, helps to have the data and lots of strips, HC food, and coffee.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Brian

Sienne is so right...you need to be comfy with what you are shooting. We are all here to support you. Sienne or Miriam can better advise you but you might throw out the question of shooting a reduced dose....then you at least get some juice in Saber. But be sure you are ok with whatever you decide to do....as I've been told, you hold the syringe.

Now that I know more about diabetes,I don't like holding the syringe ! As I've been told ... it is what it is.Responsibility.Just got another blue # . BG - 126 just a few minutes ago.Reduced dose? I was thinking that.Maybe half a unit or "some" insulin. confused_cat

You girls/guys rock :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

You can always PM Sienne and ask her about shooting a reduced dose and how much or change your subject line to state "SHOOT REDUCED DOSE?"....that will also get her attention.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Brian...you will get desensitized :lol: :lol: I remember telling someone that I could NEVER shoot below 150. So my first 91 to shoot was adventurous and all she did after the shot was come up. The other night, I shot my lowest ever...a 67 and I was up ALL night; but I'm still a baby compared to what a lot of people around here shoot without blinking an eye. You are right, helps to have the data and lots of strips, HC food, and coffee.

Desensitized ? :lol: Maybe ! I just lost my beloved dog a month ago.He was epileptic and I had to put to sleep :YMSIGH:
It was very traumatic.He went into seizures one morning and never came out of it.Very bad as he was only 7.5 years old !
I know everything lives and dies. Just nervous because I don't want to kill Saber.Him and his brother been with me for 10 years.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

BrianandSaber said:
Trying to get in touch with Dr. Lisa but she is a very busy woman.

That is an understatement these days...currently dealing with a rescuer/hoarder....the lady died on Sat and I am dealing with a houseful of cats living in the ceiling and the smell is more than I can stand....

Brian....*I* would shoot the 1 unit...but I have developed those BOS (balls of steel) that we talked about.

For *you*, I would suggest 0.75 units as a reduced dose. I assume that you are going to be around with HC food and a lot of testing strips.

I am in a huge hurry and have looked at Saber's chart but not as carefully as maybe I should so go with what the board says.

Gotta run....
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Lisa dvm said:
BrianandSaber said:
Trying to get in touch with Dr. Lisa but she is a very busy woman.

That is an understatement these days...currently dealing with a rescuer/hoarder....the lady died on Sat and I am dealing with a houseful of cats living in the ceiling and the smell is more than I can stand....

Brian....*I* would shoot the 1 unit...but I have developed those BOS (balls of steel) that we talked about.

For *you*, I would suggest 0.75 units as a reduced dose. I assume that you are going to be around with HC food and a lot of testing strips.

I am in a huge hurry and have looked at Saber's chart but not as carefully as maybe I should so go with what the board says.

Gotta run....

Dr Lisa,you're awesome ! I've been to a rescuer/hoarders home before.I work as a HVAC tech.Had to leave that guys place before I got sick.Do not envy you !
Thanks for your help once again !!
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

No need for a PM. I've been following every post -- and I bet Miriam and lots of others have, too.

How much time has elapsed since your usual shot time? If you want to shoot 0.75 - 0.5u, that's fine.

For future reference, take a look at the link Dyana provided you -- the info from Libby on handling low pre-shot numbers. When you stall, it's like shooting a reduced dose. Shooting a reduced dose AND stalling means the shed takes a double hit. While every situation is different and your comfort level and confidence are important, the goal is to shoot your full dose on time (providing it's safe). Otherwise, to shoot either a reduced dose or stall and shoot the full dose is the next best alternative. You may want to think about what number will feel comfortable for you.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

BrianandSaber said:
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I just lost my beloved dog a month ago.He was epileptic and I had to put to sleep :YMSIGH:
It was very traumatic.He went into seizures one morning and never came out of it.Very bad as he was only 7.5 years old !
I know everything lives and dies. Just nervous because I don't want to kill Saber.Him and his brother been with me for 10 years.

Brian....so sorry about the loss your beloved puppy.

You are doing great!!!! You are leaps and bounds above my comfort level when I started. And you are asking great questions and getting good feedback. It only gets easier when you've gone through a few of these bumpy periods and see how you Saber fairs. Its OK to be cautious....and go at your own pace. We are here to support ya.
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Sienne and Gabby said:
No need for a PM. I've been following every post -- and I bet Miriam and lots of others have, too.

How much time has elapsed since your usual shot time? If you want to shoot 0.75 - 0.5u, that's fine.

For future reference, take a look at the link Dyana provided you -- the info from Libby on handling low pre-shot numbers. When you stall, it's like shooting a reduced dose. Shooting a reduced dose AND stalling means the shed takes a double hit. While every situation is different and your comfort level and confidence are important, the goal is to shoot your full dose on time (providing it's safe). Otherwise, to shoot either a reduced dose or stall and shoot the full dose is the next best alternative. You may want to think about what number will feel comfortable for you.


Almost 2 hours since normal shot time. Learning curve feels like a roller coaster sometimes :-D Gonna test again now.If he's surfing I'll do reduced dose 0.5 or .075. If he's rising I'll shoot 1 u. What's a PM? I did read that link.Just makes understand how little I understand this !

Thanks again
 
Re: 11/22 Saber +10 130 PMPS 104 help

Tena and Curry said:
BrianandSaber said:
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I just lost my beloved dog a month ago.He was epileptic and I had to put to sleep :YMSIGH:
It was very traumatic.He went into seizures one morning and never came out of it.Very bad as he was only 7.5 years old !
I know everything lives and dies. Just nervous because I don't want to kill Saber.Him and his brother been with me for 10 years.

Brian....so sorry about the loss your beloved puppy.

You are doing great!!!! You are leaps and bounds above my comfort level when I started. And you are asking great questions and getting good feedback. It only gets easier when you've gone through a few of these bumpy periods and see how you Saber fairs. Its OK to be cautious....and go at your own pace. We are here to support ya.


If you could've seen me last night ! :lol: :lol: Blue full moon and Sabers #s were very odd.My comfort level is pretty low I assure you :-D
Thank you so much
 
Re: 11/22 Surfing blue,reduced dose ?

PM = Private message. If you look below the FDMB logo, there is a line that has (0 new message). If you click on it, there is an internal e-mail system, or PM. If you look to the right of the text block for every post in a thread, there is also a PM icon.

Having people walk you through the process of low shots and managing low numbers with food is nerve wracking the first couple of times. That's why we all hang out with you -- been there, done that!! We'll lend a hand if you need it or if you're heading off course.
 
Re: 11/22 Surfing blue,reduced dose ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
PM = Private message. If you look below the FDMB logo, there is a line that has (0 new message). If you click on it, there is an internal e-mail system, or PM. If you look to the right of the text block for every post in a thread, there is also a PM icon.

Having people walk you through the process of low shots and managing low numbers with food is nerve wracking the first couple of times. That's why we all hang out with you -- been there, done that!! We'll lend a hand if you need it or if you're heading off course.

Very good :-D Guess that's why it's called a "support group" . The depth of my appreciation is hard to express. Digital hugs from me and Saber :-D
I'll get this .... eventually
 
Re: 11/22 Surfing blue,reduced dose ?

You'll want to put the # you actually shot in your subject line and on your SS as your PMPS. Because this is the lowest you've shot, please get a +1 and a +2. If you remember what the "ideal" curve looks like, your +1 should reflect a food spike. If it is lower than your PMPS or pretty much the same, it means you may have a busy night. Getting those early spot checks when you're shooting lower than usual, gives you some perspective on how the cycle is going to go.

Please keep your subject line updated with the numbers as you get them. We'll be scanning to make sure you're OK.
 
Re: 11/22 Surfing blue,reduced dose ?

Wow...I'm impressed that you get Dr. Lisa AND Sienne in your condo!!! Very, very sorry to hear about your dog...I'm sure there isn't a person in this group who doesn't understand the loss of a very much beloved companion. You're doing great and you have a community of people here who care and will answer your questions. It's good that Sienne is watching so she'll help you through. She's a great one to learn from.
 
PMPS 140, .75 units reduced from 1 u.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wow...I'm impressed that you get Dr. Lisa AND Sienne in your condo!!! Very, very sorry to hear about your dog...I'm sure there isn't a person in this group who doesn't understand the loss of a very much beloved companion. You're doing great and you have a community of people here who care and will answer your questions. It's good that Sienne is watching so she'll help you through. She's a great one to learn from.

Just very fortunate Marjorie :-D Duncan was the sweetest dog. Sabers brother "tolerated" him.He even used to sleep with sometimes and groom him :-D
My cats are awesome and I will take all the help i can get.
Thanks to all that have helped tonight ! :mrgreen:
 
Re: PMPS 140, .75 units reduced from 1 u.

Good job..we're all around if you need anything. Don't forget the +1 and +2 like Sienne requested. ;-)
 
Re: PMPS 140, +1 158

Looks like Saber is heading up from a food spike. Please make sure to get a +2.

(You might want to put Saber's name in your subject line, too!)
 
Re: PMPS 140, +1 158

Brian...your SS now is a little confusing; I think you can collapse your numbers that you took before your PMPS of 140 into one column. Take a look at Gracie's SS and you'll see the other night (11/20) I stalled and took a few tests. I put them all in the +11 box and just made the font smaller...if you do that, we'll know you didn't shoot. Then you'll have your PMPS number, etc. Want to give that a try so the "no shot" up at the top isn't so confusing because it looks like that's what happened every day instead of just one day. Sorry....

I'm gonna stay up a while and keep checking in on you to see how Saber's numbers are going.
 
Re: PMPS 140, +1 158 +2 165

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Brian...your SS now is a little confusing; I think you can collapse your numbers that you took before your PMPS of 140 into one column. Take a look at Gracie's SS and you'll see the other night (11/20) I stalled and took a few tests. I put them all in the +11 box and just made the font smaller...if you do that, we'll know you didn't shoot. Then you'll have your PMPS number, etc. Want to give that a try so the "no shot" up at the top isn't so confusing because it looks like that's what happened every day instead of just one day. Sorry....

I'm gonna stay up a while and keep checking in on you to see how Saber's numbers are going.

SS is not my strength.I'll edit it per your suggestion tomorrow.Saber seems fine.His + 2 165.Everyone here has been a huuuugge help :-D
Don't have a woman here to help me with SS's and other organizational chores :lol:
Thanks,get some rest.Going to bed.....
 
Brian

Are you sure you're ok with just getting a +2? The +1 could be a food spike and I usually try to get two rising numbers after I know I don't have a food spike....esp this early in the cycle because he could possibly turn around depending on when his nadir is. Just a suggestion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top