PMPS 139, +12 124, +1.5 142, +2.5 139, +4.5 147, +6.5 213 First blue cycle!

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/19/20
A little easier this morning for the test. Only problem is he still moves and it keeps ending up in the same or very near the same place a lot of the time. Still won't let me touch his left ear. Good appetite and took his injection well today.
Something funny happened last night. I decided to get their food ready before I gave him his before bed test. I gave Hidee hers and left Thomas' on the table since he prefers it room temperature. Then I got his test done and came back to give him his food and a third of it had been eaten off the top. She'd jumped on the table and eaten it. She hasn't bothered it when it's left at his normal eating spot so I guess she decided since it was on the table it was free range.
Thomas also played a little last night too. Glad to see him playing even if it's not much. I think he's starting to feel a bit better.
I hope everyone's doing alright this morning.:)
 
He did better for his mid day test. Still took 3 pokes because I couldn't get enough blood the first time. He was a little aggravated but quite patient. Just ate their lunch. Hoping the rest of the day goes smoothly.
 
His PMPS is in the lower blues (139). Should I stall or shoot? I have corn syrup, honey, and some high carb dry food. Only low carb wet food at the moment though, no medium or high carb wet food. I already planned on picking some up this weekend though.
I haven't fed him yet, I'll retest in 15 minutes and see if it's going up before giving him his insulin.
 
Last edited:
When you stall, you don't feed and retest in 20- that's right ! I'd try that and see which way you are headed but since you are following TR, that number is shootable if you can test/ monitor and have supplies.
 
....just looked at your SS.
Since you don't have too much data shooting a number like this and then the +2,+4 that follow, I would see if he'll get above 150 before shooting....not a hard rule for TR, but I don't want to steer you wrong without more data and with my limited experience. I can stay with you until someone with more experience comes along. I'll check and see who's around
 
When you stall, you don't feed and retest in 20- that's right ! I'd try that and see which way you are headed but since you are following TR, that number is shootable if you can test/ monitor and have supplies.
He went down to 124. It's 15 minutes past his injection time now. I'll shoot and monitor.
 
He went down to 124. It's 15 minutes past his injection time now. I'll shoot and monitor.

Ok. You can definitely move injections by 30 minutes in a cycle and not need to adjust so, no worries in stalling a bit past the shooting time. Being safe is more important
Definitely grab a +1/+2. When I've shot lower in the past, I has MC food to offer with the +2 if it looked like we were going to see some action and might need to slow the BG down from dropping before the onset.
 
....just looked at your SS.
Since you don't have too much data shooting a number like this and then the +2,+4 that follow, I would see if he'll get above 150 before shooting....not a hard rule for TR, but I don't want to steer you wrong without more data and with my limited experience. I can stay with you until someone with more experience comes along. I'll check and see who's around
Saw this after I shot or I would've waited. I'm available to monitor him so I believe it'll be alright.
 
Ok. You can definitely move injections by 30 minutes in a cycle and not need to adjust so, no worries in stalling a bit past the shooting time. Being safe is more important
Definitely grab a +1/+2. When I've shot lower in the past, I has MC food to offer with the +2 if it looked like we were going to see some action and might need to slow the BG down from dropping before the onset.
If he's still going low I'll feed him some wet food with corn syrup mixed in and see how that goes.
 
@Si am cat mom ?
Should Brittany NOT add corn syrup unless under a specific number? (Good job Britt! Too funny about your girl snagging an extra meal, I can relate to her! LOL)

hopefully won't need it
I don't like adding corn syrup unless they are under 40 and heading down still... I was thinking that a few dry kibble treats might be better than the corn syrup on the tummy, but I will defer to someone else for that. We generally try and
LC- 50s
MC 40s
HC 30's ...... I believe- unless a kitty has proven to be not very carb sensitive and then sometimes you will need to offer MC a bit earlier to stave off a dive that would be harder to raise back up to safer numbers. ECID
 
Just for reference : post on stalling and lower preshot numbers

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
hopefully won't need it
I don't like adding corn syrup unless they are under 40 and heading down still... I was thinking that a few dry kibble treats might be better than the corn syrup on the tummy, but I will defer to someone else for that. We generally try and
LC- 50s
MC 40s
HC 30's ...... I believe- unless a kitty has proven to be not very carb sensitive and then sometimes you will need to offer MC a bit earlier to stave off a dive that would be harder to raise back up to safer numbers. ECID
Unfortunately don't have MC or HC because they've been out of the ones I've wanted and I couldn't find any other decent ones. Going on Saturday to look again or might buy some online. I would only give some syrup if he was in those low numbers and wasn't being raised by food.
 
Just for reference : post on stalling and lower preshot numbers

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.

    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
Thank you. I reread that earlier while I was stalling. I knew I could shoot, was just nervous because it was my first blue preshot. He was also getting lower after 20 minutes so I was unsure as that's unlike him. Probably could've waited another 20 minutes then checked and adjusted tomorrow's shots. I'm available to monitor all night if needed so I figure it'd be fine.
 
Last edited:
Thank you. I reread that earlier while I was stalling. I knew I could shoot, was just nervous because it was my first blue preshot. He was also getting lower after 20 minutes so I was unsure as that's unlike him. Probably could've waited another 20 minutes then checked and adjusted tomorrow's shots. I'm available to monitor all night if needed so I figure it'd be fine.

Moving forward, whenever you can grab those +2 PM test- I would. Often , by the time you see lower numbers around that +4 timeline it can be too late to prevent anything and we just play " catch up". We wanna be ahead of the numbers as much as possible to be able to follow a trend and intervene sooner rather than later. You will likely see lower number than you are used to and more data will always empower you to make decisions :)
 
Praying for a safe surf into blues - and maybe his first greens - for Thomas. I think you did the right thing to dose, but please do monitor and check in here. Do you have any hard kibble in case he gets low? That might help, in lieu of HC or LC food.
 
Praying for a safe surf into blues - and maybe his first greens - for Thomas. I think you did the right thing to dose, but please do monitor and check in here. Do you have any hard kibble in case he gets low? That might help, in lieu of HC or LC food.
she does have dry food on hand and LC wet
 
Moving forward, whenever you can grab those +2 PM test- I would. Often , by the time you see lower numbers around that +4 timeline it can be too late to prevent anything and we just play " catch up". We wanna be ahead of the numbers as much as possible to be able to follow a trend and intervene sooner rather than later. You will likely see lower number than you are used to and more data will always empower you to make decisions :)
I agree. I need to do more early and late tests. He's such a difficult tester though and will attack if he's upset. I need to work with him more.
 
Praying for a safe surf into blues - and maybe his first greens - for Thomas. I think you did the right thing to dose, but please do monitor and check in here. Do you have any hard kibble in case he gets low? That might help, in lieu of HC or LC food.
Me too. I do have some HC dry food.
 
Thank you. I reread that earlier while I was stalling. I knew I could shoot, was just nervous because it was my first blue preshot. He was also getting lower after 20 minutes so I was unsure as that's unlike him. Probably could've waited another 20 minutes then checked and adjusted tomorrow's shots. I'm available to monitor all night if needed so I figure it'd be fine.

yes, in the future you would want to wait and shoot a rising BG after stalling. You can always just adjust the shooting time the next day- if you can't some folks give a token dose or give the kitty MC carb food with the shot and at the +1/+2 to help them surf safely from onset to nadir.
Live and learn :)
If he is tricky to test also, I might try and grab some baby food ( chicken or turkey stage 1- beechnut is a good one) or broil some chicken to have a better treat to give him to tolerate testing. You can often set up and go though the motions of testing, but not test and then reward then for tolerating the actions of " testing".
 
+1 142 He's fairly carb sensitive though. I'll try a +2 and +4. I'll do more tests if he's dropping.

That's good he went up a bit...it's almost the same as that (137) though with the variance in testing meters. This would actually be a +1.5 I believe with the timing...
I would feed some LC wet now anyways if it were my cat- I think you do that anyways...maybe a teaspoon or two.
I'll see you in about 40 mins or so for the +2 or +2.5 depending on the timeline here.. I think you shot at 6:50 so
 
yes, in the future you would want to wait and shoot a rising BG after stalling. You can always just adjust the shooting time the next day- if you can't some folks give a token dose or give the kitty MC carb food with the shot and at the +1/+2 to help them surf safely from onset to nadir.
Live and learn :)
If he is tricky to test also, I might try and grab some baby food ( chicken or turkey stage 1- beechnut is a good one) or broil some chicken to have a better treat to give him to tolerate testing. You can often set up and go though the motions of testing, but not test and then reward then for tolerating the actions of " testing".
I agree. I give him plain white meat chicken as a testing treat. If he's upset though he'll refuse. He wasn't happy about the +1 and refused the treat.
 
You might have to up your game on the treats then...they really gotten be irresistible. My guy started with turkey meat from the deli and then it was a small scrambled eggs and then it was a tiny amount of "special" canned food ( salmon and mackerel). Now, he doesn't really care but we did cycle through quite a few options :)
Thank you for updating the title to your post !
 
That's good he went up a bit...it's almost the same as that (137) though with the variance in testing meters. This would actually be a +1.5 I believe with the timing...
I would feed some LC wet now anyways if it were my cat- I think you do that anyways...maybe a teaspoon or two.
I'll see you in about 40 mins or so for the +2 or +2.5 depending on the timeline here.. I think you shot at 6:50 so
I shot at 6:50 near 7 so I figured 8 p.m. would be the +1? It was about 10 minutes after 8 so I guess that is about +1.5 I'll see if he wants any food, he may refuse.
 
You might have to up your game on the treats then...they really gotten be irresistible. My guy started with turkey meat from the deli and then it was a small scrambled eggs and then it was a tiny amount of "special" canned food ( salmon and mackerel). Now, he doesn't really care but we did cycle through quite a few options :)
Thank you for updating the title to your post !
I try some scrambled eggs, see if he likes that or not. He's never been much for human food until recently so maybe he'll like it. No deli meat at the moment, I'll test that when I pick some up next.
I do have some pink salmon, I'll try that. The problem is he won't usually eat his treat unless I hold it in my hand for him. If I set it in the floor he'll just stare at me. I guess I can deal with stinky fish hands lol.
Thank you for all the help!:bighug:
 
Sometimes warming the food up can help....I think I told you I also scramble eggs and do hard boiled egg sometimes and add it to my cats food. Anything you can think of to make it seem more interesting. :)
lets face it ....cats are weird
shoot for deli meat that has limited ingredients and hasn't had any added sugars or brine...it should say on the ingredients. I use the organic turkey breast from Applegate
 
good stuff.

how do you feel about grabbing a +4 and checking in?
I just want to make sure he stays around this range here and see how he does with the onset? Your nadir could be +5 to +7...he did move about 100+ points during the day on this dose today and at (139) you don't have that much room...
 
good stuff.

how do you feel about grabbing a +4 and checking in?
I just want to make sure he stays around this range here and see how he does with the onset? Your nadir could be +5 to +7...he did move about 100+ points during the day on this dose today and at (139) you don't have that much room...
I can do a +4 as that's when I give them a before bed feeding. As long as I don't sleep through the alarm I could probably do a +6 or something. I didn't expect him to have a lower nadir today. Should've known better and gotten a +3.
 
I can do a +4 as that's when I give them a before bed feeding. As long as I don't sleep through the alarm I could probably do a +6 or something. I didn't expect him to have a lower nadir today. Should've known better and gotten a +3.



you'll know for next time.. .
Sometimes that flat, yellow cycle you had yesterday can signal that some action is on the way.... see how his BGs for the past 30 hours or so before the (174) were about the same ...with grabbing some more +2's and even +10's in the future - you will be able to see what's coming and prepare for it ... usually :)

see ya in a bit
 
you'll know for next time.. .
Sometimes that flat, yellow cycle you had yesterday can signal that some action is on the way.... see how his BGs for the past 30 hours or so before the (174) were about the same ...with grabbing some more +2's and even +10's in the future - you will be able to see what's coming and prepare for it ... usually :)

see ya in a bit
Oh, I didn't know that. I did think it was odd he was so flat. I'll remember that. Thank you.
 
I think we posted at the same time and upset the FDMB system :D

Sounds good.
Even if it's a bit early- anything after +6 is good....sometimes I know I am not sure I will hear my alarm and get up if I hold off on a test , so I might grab it 15-30 mins early or so.
 
Hope you guys continue to have a nice cycle!
Looks like he may have gotten a boost from his meal a couple of hours ago. +6.5 213
Should I just get a +10 or do you think I should get a test before then? I wonder if he may have a late nadir. Thank you for all of your help!:bighug:
 
Last edited:
Lovely blue cycle tonight. That's Lantus at it's best - shoot low and stay low and flat.:cool:
yes, in the future you would want to wait and shoot a rising BG after stalling.
Not really. Stalling just tells you what direction they are going. Stalling is for you, not for the cat, as long as the numbers are above 50 and it's safe to shoot. This post is a good read, debunks some misconceptions floating about TR. Post #6 talks about shooting a dropping number.

Should I just get a +10 or do you think I should get a test before then?
Go to sleep, he's not going down anymore. He's bouncing from that lovely long stretch of blue. I would sleep until just before AMPS.
 
Lovely blue cycle tonight. That's Lantus at it's best - shoot low and stay low and flat.:cool:

Not really. Stalling just tells you what direction they are going. Stalling is for you, not for the cat, as long as the numbers are above 50 and it's safe to shoot. This post is a good read, debunks some misconceptions floating about TR. Post #6 talks about shooting a dropping number.


Go to sleep, he's not going down anymore. He's bouncing from that lovely long stretch of blue. I would sleep until just before AMPS.
So no +10 or +11? Alrighty. I'll read the post you mentioned tomorrow. Thank you.
 
Back
Top