PMPS 136, No Shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

It has been awhile since I have posted but Catee's numbers have slowly been leveling out.

Tonight's PMPS was 136 at 7:30 pm. I will retest again in two hours. But would greatly appreciate if some of you could look over his spreadsheet and let me know what you think.

I thought tonight I might give him half a unit depending on where his number is at.

thank you
D
 
I took a look at your spreadsheet on the PM doses of 1.4 units where the numbers dropped to see what kind of drops happened.
191 - 83 = 108
193 - 121 = 72
181 - 157 = 24
182 - 118 = 64
Results in an average drop of about 67 mg/dL, but as much as 108 and as low as 24 mg/dL
if 1.4 units can drop as much as 108 mg/dL, it is possible that 0.7 units might drop maybe 54 mg/dL
That looks like 0.5 units might be safe to give; do get a +2 to see how much he drops by then, and maybe a before bed so you can decide if sleep is OK, if you want to stay up and monitor.
 
Thank you so much for calculating that. He went up to 164 at +2 so I gave him .60

So happy it is coming down... but then do not know what to do when it gets that low at preshot.

Thank you again, I really do appreciate it.
 
I did not give Catee a shot this morning. He was at 145. Went home and took his BG at 2:30 pm and it was 142. If he does not go up at 7:30 pm or stays below 200, should I give him a insulin or see how he does?

I am taking him to the vet Friday, would like you all opinion if you think he might be going into remission or if he is being regulated by the insulin?
 
He might be working towards remission.
Whenever you are home to test and see how low he goes, you may very cautiously try shooting small doses. Maybe test a token dose of 0.2 units the next time he is between 100-150 mg/dL and you can monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top