pmps 135--please advise, using Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simonsmama

Member Since 2013
Hi guys,
Simon's blood sugars are all over the place lately. But tonight before dinner his bs is 135. Not sure if I should give him any insulin. I am home all evening so I am able to more sugars as needed. Please take a look at his ss and let me know what you think.
 
You don't have that much data, but it's a good start. Usually, we advise a newby with little data to not shoot below 150, but if you are going to be home tonight and can stay up to test, and have lots of strips and high carb food just in case you need them, and are comfortable with it, maybe you can shoot his regular dose. I say regular dose, because a BCS (a one time reduced dose) will probably act the same as a reduced dose because of the way Lantus works off the depot it has stored in your cat's body. Another thing you can do, is stall, if you haven't fed yet. Have you?

Here is some reading or re-reading for you to do: Dealing with Low Pre Shots and Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers

A lot depends upon your comfort level.
If you do shoot, please keep posting on this board with your numbers in the Subject Line of your first post, so that we can keep track of how you are doing.
 
I'm guessing you decided to skip the shot, as the units column in your ss is empty. If so, please change the pmps to pmbg or +12 in the Subject Line of your first post. pmps to us means that you gave the shot.
 
Did you shoot? If you didnt then please get a +2 so we can see how he behaves. If you did, please let us know asap so we can help you. But definitely get a +1 if you did!
 
Good morning.

I see now on your spreadsheet that you shot a half a dose last night. Please enter in your spreadsheet what time (what + number) you eventually gave the shot. And, please remember that Simon's next shot will be 12 hours after that shot was given.

If you need to get back to your regular shot time, you can give the insulin earlier by 15 minutes each cycle (or earlier by 30 minutes once per day) until you are back on the shot schedule you prefer.

Did you get any more tests last night?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top