PMPS=124 What dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer and Katie

Member Since 2011
We went to the vet earlier, so Katie's mid number was reflecting stress. Now her nighttime number is a lot lower. I gave her 1 1/4 u this morning, what dose should I give her now?
 
Jennifer, did you post over on PZI? There's not much traffic over there today though so it was a good idea to post here. You should hold off, don't give any food & retest again in 20 mins.
 
Ok, the only problem is if I looked at it right your SS indicates her PMPS is lower than midcycle? Just FYI, never shoot a falling #, that's why you want to wait 20 mins & retest with no food since food can influence the #. Are you going to be up for awhile? I would test her in an hour & see where you are, unless someone with more experience comes along & says differently. The dose you gave her is pretty small so she might be high in the morning but you can adjust from there.
 
Yeah, typically you won't get much action when the dose is reduced that much, I wouldn't be too worried, but still a good idea to get an early cycle spot test in to be sure. You shot 1u though on a blue PS before and got good numbers, so my expectation on .25 would be that you will just see higher numbers.

When your PMPS is lower than the mid-cycle like today, it can be a sign the dose is too high, so you may want to reduce a little in the morning, maybe go back to 1u, or you could try something like a fat 1.

Hope her poopy problems are resolved soon. Do you think it's from the canned food? I know it took us a number of tries to find an LC food that agreed with Bix. Once we found the right one though, he did a lot better than he had on dry.

If the fortiflora and metro don't fix things and you've already tried other foods and stuff, I would ask about giving Budesonide a try. It helped Bix a lot with vomiting, and affects their BGs a lot less than something like Pred (should the vet suggest that).
 
And to repeat what Barbara said you do want to be sure the number is rising, and I would not shoot under 150 in the future. The dose is so tiny though, I wouldn't be too worried. If you had stuck with something close to the full dose, then I would be more worried.
 
Jennifer,
Glad to see the blues! I'm in agreement with the others that have posted. You'll likely see a red in the AM, but don't chase it with a higher dose. The .25 tonight should not be a problem, but if possible get a test before bedtime? With the 186 at +8, you can assume she was a bit lower at +6, so that's probably a 70% drop you got with 1.25 this morning. You might consider 1u in the morning. I am not sure what (if any) effect the meds/flora would have on her BG.
And what Barbara said about checking for a rising number? Very good advice.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top