? PMPS 120 Charlotte

Well do you have supplies and can you monitor? Lots f times shooting low leads to a flat cycle. Even if you lower the dose there’s no guarantee you won’t end up with low numbers. Are you worried she won’t eat?
 
Well do you have supplies and can you monitor? Lots f times shooting low leads to a flat cycle. Even if you lower the dose there’s no guarantee you won’t end up with low numbers. Are you worried she won’t eat?
I can continue to monitor her. It’s just every time I back down or skip she ends up bouncing super high. I sprinkled some fortiflora on her ff and she ate some. Usually her appetite gets a little less when she is in the lower numbers.
 
Only ate a little of salmon ff for me just now. Thanks!

Is that typical of her evening meal? If so, proceed to give her the insulin. Please get a test at 2+ to see if she's dropping, if so you'll want to check again this evening to make sure she doesn't go too low. It looks like you've shot a low number previously...
 
Is that typical of her evening meal? If so, proceed to give her the insulin. Please get a test at 2+ to see if she's dropping, if so you'll want to check again this evening to make sure she doesn't go too low. It looks like you've shot a low number previously...
She has no consistency yet with her numbers that I can see. Lantus is very difficult to see a trend that is why I am asking all the gurus for help bc maybe your experience sees something that I can’t!
 
Right. Hard to see any patterns just yet.

I was just asking if she's a grazer...eats some now for her evening meal...then will go back and eat a little more later? As long as she's eating ok and you can test later, I would suggest you go ahead and give her the usual dose of insulin. She needs it. Maybe she will visit the lagoon again tonight :)
 
Right. Hard to see any patterns just yet.

I was just asking if she's a grazer...eats some now for her evening meal...then will go back and eat a little more later? As long as she's eating ok and you can test later, I would suggest you go ahead and give her the usual dose of insulin. She needs it. Maybe she will visit the lagoon again tonight :)
Thanks! I did give it as I didn’t want to be more than half hour off. She does graze and seems to eat well at night in the 1-4 am zone. I just offered her some CN which has slightly more CHO than FF and she ate it all. Will check again in 1-2 hours. :D
 
I think Charlotte is surfing! :cool:

if you’re a little nervous you could try grabbing a +5 but I think you’ll see Charlotte dip briefly (and safely ) into greens before she starts to come back up :)
 
I think Charlotte is surfing! :cool:

if you’re a little nervous you could try grabbing a +5 but I think you’ll see Charlotte dip briefly (and safely ) into greens before she starts to come back up :)
Ok. I’ll try one more as I have to go to work in the morning so I’m up at 5:45. So what does this mean in the long run? Do I continue with the current dose? And if so, how much longer? Til the numbers are all in the greens? I’m a newbie at this! Thanks for your help!!
 
If you have to go to bed you can always ‘abort the cycle’ by leaving out some MC food. However I really think Charlotte is having a safe surf so it shouldn’t be necessary.

on SLGS Charlotte would earn a decrease in dose if she goes below 90. No decrease yet! But let’s see what your +5 is :)

remember that dose changes for Lantus happen based on the lowest point that Charlotte goes (aka nadir). SLGS method states:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
make sense? So far no decrease! :)
 
If you have to go to bed you can always ‘abort the cycle’ by leaving out some MC food. However I really think Charlotte is having a safe surf so it shouldn’t be necessary.

on SLGS Charlotte would earn a decrease in dose if she goes below 90. No decrease yet! But let’s see what your +5 is :)

remember that dose changes for Lantus happen based on the lowest point that Charlotte goes (aka nadir). SLGS method states:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
make sense? So far no decrease! :)
Ok so if she dips below 90 on one day or consecutive days is the reduction given? Also, how do I measure .3 units?? I have the paper table denoting the various increments but that seems so subjective as to how you line up your syringe with their markings in the sheet.
 
Awesome surfing for Charlotte! This might be a good dose for her :)

Yes, no matter what, if she goes below 90 you give the reduction. As you gain more experience and data this number can be lowered with guidance from members here.

we usually increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time, it looks like you’re doing 0.1u at a time. The next dose down that Charlotte would have is 0.25u. To measure 0.25u you just push the top of the plunger to be between the 0.5u line and the 0u mark. Some members use callipers to maintain consistency. :)
 
10/21 Charlotte Amps 157. Around 4am she was very hungry. I was too tired to check her BG but I fed her and she ate well. Reshooting 0.6 units this morning. Going to work so I can’t check her values til 6:30 tonight. She will be fed a few times by my daughter before I get home so hopefully all will be fine til then!
 
Back
Top