PMPS = 110...shot or no?

Haley&Diane

Member Since 2015
Diane's PM shot is at 110. She usually drops lowest 9+ hours after her AM shot. I have not been able to do many daytime tests though I plan to do a curve next Saturday. Wasn't expecting to see it this low though.

Should I wait after she finishes dinner and test again in half an hour, then shoot? She is eating now (half can of dm wet and 1/8 cup dm dry). She gets 1 unit usually. Should I reduce to .5?

She hasn't been this low before. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!
 
Actually, when you get a Pre-shot you're not sure about shooting, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food.

Now we won't be able to tell if she comes up due to the food or if the insulin is starting to wear off.

Can you test tonight as much and as long as necessary? Do you have plenty of strips and high carb food?

Also, if you get the dry completely out of her diet, she may do much better. It's too high in carb for a diabetic cat.

You need to be getting at least 1 test on the PM cycle if at all possible...a "before bed" test. Most cats go lower at night so it's important for her safety. Also, if the only tests you get are during the AM cycle, you're missing half the data on what's going on
 
First off, if you see a number that is lower than expected, especially if you haven’t gotten any tests in, it is best to NOT feed, wait 15-20 minutes and test again. That will tell you if she is going up or down.

Since you are feeding dry food, that means you are following SLGS. You do not have enough data to shoot the full dose this low. If your schedule allows, you can delay your shot time until she is high enough, but that means shooting tomorrow 12 hours after whenever you shoot tonight. Your second option is to do a much smaller dose, just for tonight. If you do that, you still need to get a test before bed. Third option is to skip.
 
Well, I guess I messed this one up.

Gave her food and then tested again. 117 on relion and 149 on alphatrak.I called my sister who is her vet and she told me to give the regular dose a try and see how it goes. But to monitor. Gave her her normal dose shot. Then saw this afterwards

Gave her some higher carb food right now though and will test before bed (and in middle of night if her pre bedtime test is also lower)..

Ugh i feel so bad messing up on this! Next time I will wait to feed and then test again. :(
 
Well, I guess I messed this one up.

Gave her food and then tested again. 117 on relion and 149 on alphatrak.I called my sister who is her vet and she told me to give the regular dose a try and see how it goes. But to monitor. Gave her her normal dose shot. Then saw this afterwards

Gave her some higher carb food right now though and will test before bed (and in middle of night if her pre bedtime test is also lower)..

Ugh i feel so bad messing up on this! Next time I will wait to feed and then test again. :(
Try not to feel too bad. We all make mistakes, myself most definitely included...silver lining, it can be the best way to learn for next time... :smuggrin: the important thing is you're prepared to keep her safe tonight. Hope it goes well.
 
OMG don’t feel bad. I think the only way to learn is to try things. This board is a great resource but you still have to figure out How to best treat your cat with in the confines of your life commitments. Today I gave my cat honey because his glucose test said below the safe limit. But he hadn’t had insulin in three days so I guess I didn’t need to do that and he just had low blood sugar. So I spiked his blood sugar for no reason .
 
Thanks everyone! Diane was fine overnight. Her levels were up to 170s after two hours and right before we went to bed. This morning she was at 226. Hoping she can hang around in the blues and high greens eventually! And now I know what to do if she's lower than expected by the time of her next shot.

I'm going to do a curve next weekend to see how she is throughout the day
 
Back
Top