PMPS 11.2 Reduction to 2.5 units +1 9.2

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you're stalling, the notation on your spreadsheet is a bit different. Since you haven't shot, you can't have the usual AMPS. The first 92 is your +12 and the second 92 is +12.5. You can stack the numbers in the AMPS cell until you shoot. You'll have to manually color the cell. Also, I would not enter a dose in the "U" column until you actually shoot. Having the dose in the cell implies that you actually gave your cat that amount of insulin (i.e., you shot vs stalled).
 
After his dose, at +1 he was still at 5.1. I just did his +2 and he has dropped to 3.4, so I used the other meter to double check that and it read 3.6. (61) Advice?
 
I know my chart is messed up because I tried to put the multiple tests into one square and it would not let me, so I decided posting the number was more important than getting the squares right--put with a little help I'll go back and re-do them properly. At the moment Tucker was just up sitting on my lap purring and now he is on the bed giving his brother Teddy a bath...so he is acting normally and happy but his BG is only 61. I'm not sure if I should give him some more of his regular food, some gravy food or retest in a little bit?
 
Bumping up Tucker's post for today. Curious to see what he does with this dose today. Looks like he could have broken through some glucose toxicity.:D
Thank you for bumping, I didn't know how to do that! I'm glad you are online, I could use a bit of sage advice on this BG thing. I'll sort out the SS later. Is Tucker safe?
 
The boundary for is 2.7 (U.S. 50) for human meters like Freestyle. Below that is general hypoglycemia area.

Tucker is safe, probably down to 40. I would give a little gravy food to keep him from dropping into that range. You know that I am Mr.Conservative right?
 
Personally, I would give just low carb food, to see if you can get him surfing here, then test again in 1/2 hour. If he stays safe with low carb, you won't have to test as long or closely later on.
 
Also, could you update your subject line with the latest numbers? That allows us at a glance to see that you might need help.
 
I fed him 3 spoons of low carb food half an hour ago. Retested and he is at 2.5 (45). Is it time for gravy??
 
Ok, so he has basically been surfing a 3 for a few hours now. I've just retested and got 3.2. He is currently loving a new flavour of FF, "Gravy Lovers Beef". It is much more loaded with gravy than the chicken lovers he had earlier today.
 
Ok, so he has basically been surfing a 3 for a few hours now. I've just retested and got 3.2. He is currently loving a new flavour of FF, "Gravy Lovers Beef". It is much more loaded with gravy than the chicken lovers he had earlier today.
what have you been feeding him to keep him surfing at 3 (54)?
Can you tell us how often you have tested and the numbers and when he had the food please
Thanks Patty. You are managing well:)
 
Last edited:
He's been getting a couple of tablespoons of gravy FF every half hour....then waiting about 5 minutes and testing. He hates me now....
 
Poor furkid. I wish he would stop surfing into such low numbers.

When Leo gets lots of ear pokes, we also try to brush him after. But sometimes he rejects that too because of kitteh krank-iness.
 
Try and test before you feed if possible or let him eat while you test....he might not notice the test then (don't let him eat at preshot tests though in case you have to stall.)
I'm sure you are over it all Tucker but think of the trade off and all that yummy food.:cat:
Unfortunately you are going to have to keep testing to keep him safe..
 
Bedtime for me. Another exciting day for Tucker. And well handled too.

I won't be awake in 2 hours. You could use 2.5 or 4.5 as the new dose. Tucker doesn't seem to like 4.5. But it could be his depot caused the lowered response.
 
After he hit BG6 I stopped giving him extra food and let him go. He was still happy and has slid up to 9.2. It is half an hour before his normal dinner time but 1.5 hours until +12 since we stalled this morning. Can someone tell me if I should test, feed, shoot at his regular 6pm time or push it back an hour since we shot late this morning. Thank you.
 
After he hit BG6 I stopped giving him extra food and let him go. He was still happy and has slid up to 9.2. It is half an hour before his normal dinner time but 1.5 hours until +12 since we stalled this morning. Can someone tell me if I should test, feed, shoot at his regular 6pm time or push it back an hour since we shot late this morning. Thank you.
When you stall, the new time for the next shot is 12 hours after the last dose, so tonight it will be in 1.5 hours time.
Don't feed him any food until PMPS because we need a BSL which is not influenced by food.
He had a very strong cycle this morning as he was given HC gravy each time you tested (1/2 hourly) for a several hours...is that correct? And he still stayed in the 2.5 (45) to 3.4 (61) range for 4 hours.
 
I think he cruised in the green for 5 hours and yes, I gave him a touch of gravy to try to not have him dip to dangerous levels. As soon as I got a test that had risen (to 6), I stopped feeding him so he has had no food since early this afternoon.
 
I think he cruised in the green for 5 hours and yes, I gave him a touch of gravy to try to not have him dip to dangerous levels. As soon as I got a test that had risen (to 6), I stopped feeding him so he has had no food since early this afternoon.
That's good!
You said in an earlier post that you gave him a couple of tablespoons of FF gravy each time you tested.......that is fine.....I used to have to do that with Sheba when she had a really strong cycle to keep her from dropping too low as well.
You have managed him really well.
If you have to feed multiple lots of HC food to keep them up in the 45 to 61 range indicates to me that they are needing less insulin.
He has earned another reduction with his drop to 45 this morning.......we don't usually give back to back reductions......but Tucker threw out the rule book a couple of days ago. Let's wait to see what his PMPS is.......but I think he does need another reduction in dose.
Would welcome other opinions.
 
His PMPS is 11.2. Advice please?
Given his low numbers in the am cycle today, I think he should reduce to 2 units for the PM cycle.
Our main priority is to keep him safe.
He is not playing by the rule book :cat:
I would then get a +1 and a +2 to start with and then see how he is going. He could bounce up a bit but his bounces don't last long at all.
I would also set the alarm and get a +10 or 11 near the end of the cycle, so if he has dropped low again you will know at AMPS whether he is on the way up or not.
 
I'm so confused, but will do what you think. It's weird how he was getting nowhere on 5 units so we bumped him up and at 5.5 things started moving down...and now we are giving doses like 2.5 or even 2! Does that mean his pancreas has been given a break and has started working again or does it mean.......what?? So confuddled by all of this!
 
I'm so confused, but will do what you think. It's weird how he was getting nowhere on 5 units so we bumped him up and at 5.5 things started moving down...and now we are giving doses like 2.5 or even 2! Does that mean his pancreas has been given a break and has started working again or does it mean.......what?? So confuddled by all of this!
Cats go up in dose until they find a dose that gets them into normal numbers. Then some of these cats stay on that dose and settle down and become regulated and just go up a bit and down a bit but generally staying on much the same dose. Some never become regulated but go up and down a bit in dose.
Other cats start to need less insulin and earn reductions by going below 50 (on TR) and 90 on (SLGS). Most of these cats do it in an orderly fashion.
Then there are the cats that race down the dosing scale fast........like Tucker........these kitties are not as common as the ones who do it in an orderly fashion but Tucker isn't the first cat to do it.
We are not sure why this has happened.........it could have been insulin resistance which Jeff and I wondered, or glucose toxicity as Wendy mentioned. Bobbie wondered if you had changed foods to a lower carb food, or maybe his pancreas has suddenly started to work again.
But for whatever reason, his body has all of a sudden started to need less insulin and we have to follow the dance he is leading us on as he races down the dosing scale and try and find a dose which keeps him in normal numbers without dropping too low and needing to be kept up by HC foods.
Does that make sense?
It is great progress so don't be upset by it.:bighug:
Tucker is just not following the rule book!!!!
 
Wow! Tucker, look at you Dude. I missed all of this last night.

Good job managing the lower numbers and keeping him up.

It is so hard to know where his depot is right now. He could still be under the influence of the higher depot so we need to see what this dose is going to do once it is established .

Bubba was one of the kitties that snapped at 5 units and started racing down the dosing ladder. I hope that Tucker stays on this path but with a little less excitement. :rolleyes:
 
He's bouncing around right now. No worries. Let's see how this cycle plays out. We are still trying to find his right dose with the skip dose and the reductions. The only way we'll know is for this dose depot to fill.

Still monitor him as he's proven to be a sneaky kitty. Let's see where he lands. We can always go up again but let's let the dust settle with this dose. Safety first , always.

A bounce can take 6 cycles to clear.
 
I'm wondering if 2.5 was too low to give him? It is +3 and he is at 17.6. I'm so lost.
He is bouncing because of the low numbers he was in all morning. If he was going to bounce he would bounce no matter what dose you gave him.
He comes off the bounce quickly....last night he went up high then dropped to 164 at +5 then by AMPS he had dropped to 92.
He could well do that tonight, so if he drops back down at all, I'd check again later because we all know he likes to drop low in the early morning ready to give you a heart attack at AMPS:joyful:
 
I took him out to the laundry room and he used the litter box for me. I was able to get a good sample and do a keto stick. He was negative, so that's a good thing. Now he is trying to break into the fridge to get at the chicken....
 
When Tucker was a kitten the vet gave him these toy mice that looked like the real deal.... We used to find him standing in his water bowl.......with a little toy mouse under his paw. When he was sure it was 'dead' he would run off with it and chew all of the fur off...then stash it under the sofa. He's such a funny boy, I just want him to feel well again.
 
When Tucker was a kitten the vet gave him these toy mice that looked like the real deal.... We used to find him standing in his water bowl.......with a little toy mouse under his paw. When he was sure it was 'dead' he would run off with it and chew all of the fur off...then stash it under the sofa. He's such a funny boy, I just want him to feel well again.
How funny!:joyful: He sounds a real sweetheart. They have such wonderful personalities.
I'm sure he is feeling much better than he was.
 
I'm pretty you all in Australia should be sleeping now. Tucker is safe for this cycle. He is quite the character.
 
I am going to wait up just another hour to check him before I sleep.......just to be sure....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top