Natalie and Ziggy
Member Since 2018
I'm just a little confused as to what's going on with Ziggy's numbers right now. He was way up in the high 500s this morning and my cousin, who was taking care of him while I was away, gave him a dose of 3.25 U after feeding, as I instructed. So when I got home tonight, Ziggy's pre-shot numbers were 96! That's usually a nadir number for him.
I waited 20 minutes. He dropped to 80. Then it was feedie times.
Half an hour after feeding him a can of Fancy Feast, he's down to 59!
I'm definitely not giving him a shot, and I'm too scared to even think about doing a reduced dose. Does anyone have any idea what might be causing him to drop like this? In terms of behavior he is currently running around the house batting his toy mice and just being as friendly as can be.
I waited 20 minutes. He dropped to 80. Then it was feedie times.
Half an hour after feeding him a can of Fancy Feast, he's down to 59!
I'm definitely not giving him a shot, and I'm too scared to even think about doing a reduced dose. Does anyone have any idea what might be causing him to drop like this? In terms of behavior he is currently running around the house batting his toy mice and just being as friendly as can be.

Would they turn the food red? What about freezing the food itself and letting it thaw instead of food with ice cubes? Might make it a little less attractive to the flies at least until it's fully thawed and hopefully Ziggy will get into it before the flies get interested.