? ??PM DOSE DUE PMPS 57 Taffy 11/22-AMPS 165, shot 2u, +2 219, +5 128, +10 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
the 57 was supposed to be the PMPS and then a recheck after the food about 40 minutes

That's the problem......since you fed him already, for the next 2 hours his numbers will be influenced by that food so we can't know if the last shot is wearing off (so his numbers would be coming up on their own) or are the numbers coming up only because of the food?

If you start testing immediately before feeding time, it will stop that confusion
 
I'm so disappointed as I thought that I was doing so well with all of this and now I think I,m doing it wrong and I suck at this Spreadsheet and posting. Sorry. Can't we just face time?? LOL, I don't even have an iphone
 
That's the problem......since you fed him already, for the next 2 hours his numbers will be influenced by that food so we can't know if the last shot is wearing off (so his numbers would be coming up on their own) or are the numbers coming up only because of the food?

If you start testing immediately before feeding time, it will stop that confusion
I do. I did. I thought.
 
I'm so disappointed as I thought that I was doing so well with all of this and now I think I,m doing it wrong and I suck at this Spreadsheet and posting. Sorry

No apologies necessary!! The sugardance is hard!! It's like trying to learn a college level course in endocrinology in 3 days or less....and then on top of that, there's a course in spreadsheets and message boards for extra credit!!
 
No apologies necessary!! The sugardance is hard!! It's like trying to learn a college level course in endocrinology in 3 days or less....and then on top of that, there's a course in spreadsheets and message boards for extra credit!!
I dropped my advanced excel course the last time I tried to take it and I never wanted to see an excel spreadsheet again...
 
China's AMPS and PMPS are 6am/6pm.....At 6am, I test her.....if she's high enough to get insulin, I feed her and shoot her.....all within about 5-10 minutes. I pull up her scheduled dose before I test/feed so it's ready to shoot

IF her test was too low for me to feel comfortable shooting, I'd stall.....I wouldn't feed her and I'd re-test in 20-30 minutes to see if her numbers were coming up on their own....without any food...(and use that time to ask for help when we were new)...that tells me the last shot is starting to wear off and it's probably going to be safe to shoot

At 6pm, I repeat that same process
 
China's AMPS and PMPS are 6am/6pm.....At 6am, I test her.....if she's high enough to get insulin, I feed her and shoot her.....all within about 5-10 minutes. I pull up her scheduled dose before I test/feed so it's ready to shoot

IF her test was too low for me to feel comfortable shooting, I'd stall.....I wouldn't feed her and I'd re-test in 20-30 minutes to see if her numbers were coming up on their own....without any food...(and use that time to ask for help when we were new)...that tells me the last shot is starting to wear off and it's probably going to be safe to shoot

At 6pm, I repeat that same process
That is a beautifully simple explanation Chris
 
I counted the +1, +2, +3, etc from the time of dose, not the time of pre test
That part is correct, no changes required to the spreadsheet. But 10/15 minutes apart will not make a significant difference.

Get your rest tonight, be ready for tomorrow. Taffy will get back on track and you have to be in shape to take care of him. :bighug:
 
Still not sure what I should have done. Believe it or not I used to be smart but then this middle-age hormone crap hit me and took my good brain. I forgot his inhaler today, too , and now he is coughing. I also think he has lost more weight.
 
Still not sure what I should have done. Believe it or not I used to be smart but then this middle-age hormone crap hit me and took my good brain. I forgot his inhaler today, too , and now he is coughing. I also think he has lost more weight.
One step at a time, it's not you, it is a confusing dance this...
 
In future, at about +11:45, do the test. If you have no questions about shooting, then feed and shoot by +12. If you don't know what to do, after the test DO NOT feed and post here for help. If you had done that, we probably would have suggested that you delay 20-30 minutes (no food) and test again to see if he was coming back up.

And there is a huge learning curve here. It's like getting a graduate degree in FD. We have all been through it and are more than willing to help. :bighug:
 
Still not sure what I should have done

Considering the circumstances, skipping tonight is fine....just put NS in the "U" column for tonight's shot so we know it was a "No Shot"

If your times are 8:30/8:30, in the morning, at 8:30am, test Taffy....if he's high enough, feed him and shoot all within 5-10 minutes (you should have the dose drawn up and ready to shoot)

If you're not sure if he's high enough to shoot after you test him at 8:30, stall, don't feed him and post for help. Make your subject line very clear like "STALLING, NEED HELP!"

(in case you don't get a quick reply)....Test again in 20-30 minutes.....If the number climbs from the first one at 8:30, it's probably going to be OK to go ahead and feed/shoot because the number is climbing, indicating the last shot is wearing off

If you want to get a +2, you'd test again at 10:30 (IF you shot at the normal 8:30 time).....if you stalled, you'd wait for 2 hours from the time you actually shot
 
Thanks all. Life. Now I am officially taking my migraine pill. Hormones hit me hard tonight. Should I need to set alarm to check Taffy at any point over night?
 
I'm late to your party, but I would've probably gotten one more test tonight, just to see how long he stayed green. I wouldn't have expected him to drop below 50, but you never know. But I'm saying that only for you to file away for next time. No worries about tonight. This is a great problem to have - he's responding to the dose and all that green is lovely. He'll likely be high in the morning but he'll get back on track before long, so don't let it bother you.

I just wanted to give you a little encouragement - nothing wrong with skipping in a circumstance like this. And don't worry at all about the whole thing being confusing - it is. In the beginning, everyone is confused. You'll get the hang of it all before long. Like Wendy said, this is like a college crash course - just keep muddling along and asking questions til it makes more sense. It will. :bighug:

Hope everything is better tomorrow.
 
There's that bounce!!!

Taffy....you stop that!! The trampoline is closed!!!

As quickly as he got back to business after his last bounce, I'm sure he'll get back on track soon Julie :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top