PM dose? AMPS 416 +3-263 +6.5-135 +7.5-113 +10-164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
I am using an AT2 meter and am currently at 5 units levemir.

I did a dose change 3 shots ago and this is the first day that he has run blue numbers this long. Should I stay at the 5 units for his PM shot? I am a little nervous and excited at the same time since this is the best run of readings he has had in 4 months.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
 
It's lovely to see all that blue today. :) I'd keep with the same dose unless he falls below 68 on the AlphaTrak. Often when you shoot a lower number, the entire cycle flattens out. Both Lantus and Levemir work best on lower numbers. Julie had some detailed comments about shooting low in this condo for Charlie, when he was first presented a low number to shoot.

In this forum, we used 150 (on a human meter, so it would be approximately 30-40% higher for an AT) as the number where you post, do NOT feed, and ask for help for the first times shooting low. If you read the Sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers, you'll see some of the options when you first get a low number. FWIW, Neko's on Levemir and I shot her PS of 52 last night (human meter). Take a look at the subject lines of some of the other posters around here, and see what happened to their numbers after they shot low. Elizabeth is one such kitty on an AlphaTrak. You can also look at her spreadsheet to get an idea of what the AT numbers can look like when you shoot low.
 
Thank you Wendy. I am SO happy to see the blue all in a row!! It gives me hope of getting him regulated ( I won't even mention the "R" word for fear of jinxing it)

Thanks also for the AT number of 68 as a hold dose number. It is hard for me as I use the mmol/L and an AT2 meter so I am constantly converting the numbers to match up with what others here are posting. I know this is the best time to try and keep Tuxie in that nice run of numbers but since I haven't run into this in 4 months it makes me nervous..and excited!! I have been giving him some food at each test time, so I am wondering if that is keeping him from doing a lower drop. But I guess I would rather he settles in this range for the time being.

I will shoot the 5 units at PM in an hour and keep monitoring him. Fingers crossed for a blue evening!! :)
 
I know on the mmol/L to dg/ml conversions and can imagine how much harder it is on an AT cause there isn't really a good formula for that. If you look at the Tight Regulation Protocol Sticky, at the bottom of that is an attached article called "Management of Diabetic Cats" and it talks about AT vs. human blood meter. She says that at the lower numbers, there is roughly a 1 point difference in mmol/L and she specifically mentions 68 as the reduction point for the TR protocol. Since the reduction point is 50 for a human meter and the formula mmol/L to dg/ml is to multiply by 18, that makes sense.
 
I have a sheet printed out with the mmol/L to dg/ml conversion table so I can work that back and forth. But as you say with the AT2 having different readings it makes it more difficult and with the little bit of sleep I do get my brain cells aren't always functioning in high gear. I have reached the point I can test , feed and shoot in the morning with only one eye barely open!! LOL

I probably have read the article but I will go back and read it again..,maybe even print it out so that I can remember it.

Thanks!!
 
No worry about his dose ...his PMPS was 518!!!! WOW what a bounce!!! I retested him 3 times and all the tests are in the same range.
 
Tuxie's body freaked out a bit from spending several hours in blue numbers, but he'll get used to them eventually. Good to be ready to shoot low when the opportunity happens. There's also a good post about it here in the "Where CAn I Find?" document - go to the bottom list of posts, look for the Tight Regulation Protocol, Myths Debunked post. Look in that thread for the "shooting a dropping #" post.
 
Yes..he sure did freak out from those nice numbers...sigh....but they will come again I am hopeful of that. Maybe this is just a preparation for me so that I will be ready to shoot low when it happens...sort of dry trial runs.

Thanks for all the links with all the great information. I have saved copies of them to my computer and can easily refer back to them when I get a bit uncertain about what approach to use! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top