??PM dose amount 2 hours away

I haven’t updated my sheet yet but after starting 2units Paco has been in the green all day. That is well below his normal PMPS number. He is still under 200. I am about 2 hours out from shot time.

What should I give Paco? Half dose? Something else?
 
It will be at 6 pm or as close as possible. I can’t push it too much because of my work during the day. I do have to feed him a tiny bit more food too before the shot.

so yes 20 minutes
You are not supposed to feed him until shot time— the time when you get the PMPS (or AMPS) test. There is a two hour period before the preshot tests where no food is supposed to be given. This is so that we can have an accurate fasting blood glucose test at shot time. If you feed, then the preshot tests where can be inflated by food. You can’t really make a decision about if it’s safe to shoot or how much to shoot if the preshot tests is influenced by food
 
It will be at 6 pm or as close as possible. I can’t push it too much because of my work during the day. I do have to feed him a tiny bit more food too before the shot.

which yes is 20 minutes
You are not supposed to feed him until shot time— the time when you get the PMPS (or AMPS) test. There is a two hour period before the preshot tests where no food is supposed to be given. This is so that we can have an accurate fasting blood glucose test at shot time. If you feed, then the preshot tests where can be inflated by food. You can’t really make a decision about if it’s safe to shoot or how much to shoot if the preshot tests is influenced by food

I'm confused. I thought you were supposed to feed food before giving the shot to know if they've eatne enough? I usually do about 30 to 45 minutes before?
 
The correct procedure for ProZinc is to (1) test, (2) feed and (3) shoot. The insulin can be given at the same time the cat is eating. There is no need to wait unless you have a cat who doesn’t eat.

Paco has been having issues eating. He had some diarhea this last week before and after the hospital. He is just starting to have a normal appetite but he is not off the appetite stimulant yet.
 
Vetsulin drops the cat hard and fast so you actually have to wait for 30 minutes after they eat to shoot. ProZinc doesn’t onset for about two hours so there’s plenty of time after the cat eats before the insulin starts to lower BG
 
Vetsulin drops the cat hard and fast so you actually have to wait for 30 minutes after they eat to shoot. ProZinc doesn’t onset for about two hours so there’s plenty of time after the cat eats before the insulin starts to lower BG

OK, I'll have some more questions on that in a moment so I can make sure I do it correctly from now on. So knowing that I messed up the feeding for tonight already, what do you recommend I do for his shot? He is now up to about 320. Normal 2.0U now?
 
Paco has been having issues eating. He had some diarhea this last week before and after the hospital. He is just starting to have a normal appetite but he is not off the appetite stimulant yet.
Okay. But you still can feed him and if he eats even a small meal and you feel like he will eat a little more within the next two hours (when he should be getting snacks anyway in the early part of the cycle) then it’s okay
 
OK, I'll have some more questions on that in a moment so I can make sure I do it correctly from now on. So knowing that I messed up the feeding for tonight already, what do you recommend I do for his shot? He is now up to about 320. Normal 2.0U now?
We have only a few times where he’s had a pink preshot in that range. I would try 1.75 as long as you can get a test in 2 hours.
 
Yes I will be home tonight so I can test him. I will give 1.75U, thank you. Also is there a document that lays out the proper procedure for test, feed, shoot? I felt like I had read most of the prozinc information but didn't realize that it should be done right away. I've been super disappointed with my vet. She won't even talk to me directly, I just get messages through the receptionists. I'll be going to a specialist mid May so I hope that helps.
 
By the way, he had an absolutely lovely cycle today. Very safe.

Thank you. I just wish he would do these curves when I'm home :woot:it's hard with this being so new. I also feel like I have PTSD from when he had super powerful reactions a year and a half ago and would just plummet below 50 a lot with even 0.25U. Luckily that only lasted a week and then he went into remission until now.
 
Yes I will be home tonight so I can test him. I will give 1.75U, thank you. Also is there a document that lays out the proper procedure for test, feed, shoot? I felt like I had read most of the prozinc information but didn't realize that it should be done right away. I've been super disappointed with my vet. She won't even talk to me directly, I just get messages through the receptionists. I'll be going to a specialist mid May so I hope that helps.
Vets have very little training (a few hours for their entire vet school) in diabetes and most of it is dog-focused. They usually don’t know much about feline diabetes unless they actually go out of their way to educate themselves. The typical vet has to be very little time to do this.
 
Vets have very little training (a few hours for their entire vet school) in diabetes and most of it is dog-focused. They usually don’t know much about feline diabetes unless they actually go out of their way to educate themselves. The typical vet has to be very little time to do this.

I guess I was spoiled with the vet I had last time at the same clinic. She took the time to talk to me if I had questions.
 
When you get a chance to then, I would really appreciate it if you could explain how I should be trying to feed Paco with regards to test, feed, shoot and also with meals in general. I've noticed that when he gets any food during his cycle he tends to shoot up so I'm just wondering what are the best times to feed him if I am home. During the day he has access to the feeder until the 2 hours before I was feeding him for his shot. (But he's lazy and doesn't normally get up to eat...like today).
 
I guess I was spoiled with the vet I had last time at the same clinic. She took the time to talk to me if I had questions.
Well she may not have all the answers but at least she took the time to try to answer. A good vet will actually be willing to research things they’re unfamiliar with— when their client needs it.
 
When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet meters (such as the AlphaTrak) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using a pet meter.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not feed your cat within the two-hour window right before the scheduled dose time; doing this can raise your cat’s blood significantly, giving you a higher BG number based on food. This could result in your giving insulin when you should not, or giving more insulin than you should.
 
When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet meters (such as the AlphaTrak) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using a pet meter.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not feed your cat within the two-hour window right before the scheduled dose time; doing this can raise your cat’s blood significantly, giving you a higher BG number based on food. This could result in your giving insulin when you should not, or giving more insulin than you should.
What is the range when using a Libre 3 to not give the injection ?
 
What is the range when using a Libre 3 to not give the injection ?
Could you please make your own post (create a new thread) of your own introducing yourself and your cat? We need to know more information? Spreadsheet? Insulin? Dose? BG number? Numbers for today?
 
Yes. Thank you. I'll find the right place.
And when trying to decide whether you should shoot or not take a look at all your data and see what is the lowest you have ever shot and what numbers you got after that — how low did kitty go? of course you must also consider the number of units you shot at that time.
 
Back
Top