PM+5=58 Girlie | PM+6=148 | +7=169

Status
Not open for further replies.
Girlie's approach to food is also why Max, my moggie, is currently living in exile in the rest of the house: he's a hoover and will inhale anything in sight. Plus, he tries to sit on her head when I'm testing. They have play dates in the garden, and he can come in during the hours when I've taken her food away. It's all too entertaining...sigh...
 
Girlie nibbles as well; she wouldn't eat more than 1/2 tsp to a tsp at a time. That's why I can tell so easily when she's diving: she absolutely inhales her food and licks the bowl clean and looks around for more - that's not normal for her unless she's dropping. If she's not dropping and she doesn't see food, she'll just walk away, no worries.

My first FD kitty would gobble all his food and even Maxie's. When he was dropping he would literally attack me for food so that was always my cue that his numbers were dropping.

Maxie on the other hand is a grazer and I can never tell when she is low...she gives no sign and does not actively seek out food. I once had her hit 1.9 on a pet meter and not a peep from her. That is why I test closely with her.
 
The drop is not really that dramatic. She was 12.6 at preshot and then 11.6 at +2. The higher +1 would have been due to her having eaten after the shot. However the drop from 11.6 at +2 to 6.4 at +4 is almost 50%. When I see a 50% drop in a short period of time in the early part of the cycle it may show more dropping to come. This would have been a good point to give some 6% LC food to slow it down. Again it is all trial and error. Sigh....

That's a really, really good tip, Mary Ann. If that happens again at night, especially, I'll try to give some 6% LC food to try to slow her down, especially if I can't do an all nighter and need to get some sleep to function for work the next day. Right now I can work at home 3 days a week still, thank goodness.
 
Girlie's approach to food is also why Max, my moggie, is currently living in exile in the rest of the house: he's a hoover and will inhale anything in sight. Plus, he tries to sit on her head when I'm testing. They have play dates in the garden, and he can come in during the hours when I've taken her food away. It's all too entertaining...sigh...


Too funny. LOL
 
My first FD kitty would gobble all his food and even Maxie's. When he was dropping he would literally attack me for food so that was always my cue that his numbers were dropping.

Maxie on the other hand is a grazer and I can never tell when she is low...she gives no sign and does not actively seek out food. I once had her hit 1.9 on a pet meter and not a peep from her. That is why I test closely with her.

Oh my gosh - 1.9! How low is too low, by the way? I have the glucose syrup; it's clear that HC food brings her up pretty quickly. And I monitor her closely when I'm home. At what point do you give glucose syrup rather than HC food, and when do you have to consider a quick trip to the emergency vet, instead?
 
I wonder if the 16 would have been enough?
Waiting 15-20 minutes and testing would have answered that question.

Print this out and keep it handy for next time. The bottom section about handling low numbers has a step by step guide as to what to do and not do.

Good job with the new feeding. If it's not broke don't fix it. If you feel the need to tweak it only one tweak at a time. :cool:
 
Too funny. LOL
Max is a blow-in, but boy, does he have it good. He even got his own (albeit cheapo) water fountain today as the tres chic fountain in the bedroom is out of his reach for now. But he has a bedroom, a sitting room, a window seat, and what's now my and his bathroom all to himself. He's got it good!
 
Oh my gosh - 1.9! How low is too low, by the way? I have the glucose syrup; it's clear that HC food brings her up pretty quickly. And I monitor her closely when I'm home. At what point do you give glucose syrup rather than HC food, and when do you have to consider a quick trip to the emergency vet, instead?


Since you are following TR and using a pet meter 68 US 3.8 mmol is the "take action" number. However this also depends on how early in the cycle this happens or how large a drop is happening. A 3.8 (68 US) at nadir time..so with Lantus around +6 or +7 is not as worrisome as getting that reading at +2 or +3 when there is still a number of hours for the numbers to drop. It all comes down to knowing your kitty and testing, testing testing ;)
 
Waiting 15-20 minutes and testing would have answered that question.

Print this out and keep it handy for next time. The bottom section about handling low numbers has a step by step guide as to what to do and not do.

Good job with the new feeding. If it's not broke don't fix it. If you feel the need to tweak it only one tweak at a time. :cool:

Oh, the brain really doesn't work when there's an adrenalin rush! I have that printed out and folded up in my hypo toolbox, can you believe it? I am so laughing at myself right now... I'm going to just tape it to the wall and highlight that section instead...good grief, Darrah! :rolleyes:

I'd like to try just one tweak at a time if I can. How many cycles would it take, do you think, to be able to see a pattern with reaction to food - or is it pretty instantaneous? The HC is separate - I'm thinking the LLC vs the LC. I just want her to have more than one or two days of low blues and greens for a change; I've seen enough black in her chart already - it's time to move on.
 
I'm really learning a lot in this thread, so thank you all for being there and giving me all of this information. And thank you, Girlie, for diving to create this opportunity, eh? Gotta look on the bright side...
 
Oh, the brain really doesn't work when there's an adrenalin rush! I have that printed out and folded up in my hypo toolbox, can you believe it? I am so laughing at myself right now... I'm going to just tape it to the wall and highlight that section instead...good grief, Darrah! :rolleyes:

I'd like to try just one tweak at a time if I can. How many cycles would it take, do you think, to be able to see a pattern with reaction to food - or is it pretty instantaneous? The HC is separate - I'm thinking the LLC vs the LC. I just want her to have more than one or two days of low blues and greens for a change; I've seen enough black in her chart already - it's time to move on.


Since you are at home and able to monitor carefully right now using the LLC might be a good plan. She has been in good numbers with it so far and you are there to make sure she doesn't drop too low or too fast. Her numbers have been SO much better the last few days and not seeing those nasty blacks must be such a relief.
 
Since you are at home and able to monitor carefully right now using the LLC might be a good plan. She has been in good numbers with it so far and you are there to make sure she doesn't drop too low or too fast. Her numbers have been SO much better the last few days and not seeing those nasty blacks must be such a relief.

So true. I have another 2 1/2 days before I have to go to work for three hours in the late afternoon, so this is a good time to monitor her closely and see where she goes.

Just tested her at +7= 9.4 (169) so she's out of the woods, yes? If so, I might drift off for a few hours before I have to get up at 7 to give her her AM shot.
 
So true. I have another 2 1/2 days before I have to go to work for three hours in the late afternoon, so this is a good time to monitor her closely and see where she goes.

Just tested her at +7= 9.4 (169) so she's out of the woods, yes? If so, I might drift off for a few hours before I have to get up at 7 to give her her AM shot.

Sounds like she is done with her dramatics for this cycle. Good time to get some shut eye now that the adrenaline has worn off.

Done't forget to take the reduction to 0.75 units for the Am shot.

Have a good sleep!! :bighug:
 
I'd like to try just one tweak at a time if I can. How many cycles would it take, do you think, to be able to see a pattern with reaction to food - or is it pretty instantaneous? The HC is separate - I'm thinking the LLC vs the LC. I just want her to have more than one or two days of low blues and greens for a change; I've seen enough black in her chart already - it's time to move on.
Think in terms of the whole picture, all the moving parts.
Since she earned a decrease in dose , that counts as a tweak. To properly evaluate the decrease I recommend you keep feeding as you have these past few days for now. Otherwise in a cycle or two you may find yourself asking "was it the dose of the food? KWIM?
 
Sounds like she is done with her dramatics for this cycle. Good time to get some shut eye now that the adrenaline has worn off.

Done't forget to take the reduction to 0.75 units for the Am shot.

Have a good sleep!! :bighug:

Thank you so much! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

An example of why Max is not the beloved one in Girlie's eyes... (hint: Girlie is providing extra cushioning for him in this pic...) :eek:

IMG_3180.JPG
IMG_3180.JPG
 
Think in terms of the whole picture, all the moving parts.
Since she earned a decrease in dose , that counts as a tweak. To properly evaluate the decrease I recommend you keep feeding as you have these past few days for now. Otherwise in a cycle or two you may find yourself asking "was it the dose of the food? KWIM?

Got it! Will do. Thank you so much for being there tonight and for all of your help over the past few days - so much appreciated. :bighug::bighug:
 
Your picture of Max: :eek::D!! How does she breathe when he does that?!
Quite a night for you! Hope you have a boring day! :):bighug:

Not well, for sure! He's a hefty 5 kg (10 lbs). He clearly is no gentleman; he's always been an oblivious, bumbling bull in a China shop - though terribly sweet hearted! When she's had enough of his antics she whacks him upside the head or nips him, and he goes looking for comfort food - seriously - he uses food for comfort. He's a character for sure...
 
Not well, for sure! He's a hefty 5 kg (10 lbs). He clearly is no gentleman; he's always been an oblivious, bumbling bull in a China shop - though terribly sweet hearted! When she's had enough of his antics she whacks him upside the head or nips him, and he goes looking for comfort food - seriously - he uses food for comfort. He's a character for sure...
Maybe he is also jealous of Girlie's relationship with you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top