? plz check spread sheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mister's Owner

Member Since 2015
I would really love someone to check misters spreadsheet and tell me if it looks like I'm doing right or if I should change something?
He seems to be keeping more blues when insulin is only once a day.
He isn't reaching 200bg usually at night..
But last night pmps was 241 so he had insulin 1.0u and today amps he was a 168bg so no insulin...+7 178 .
How is this possible at 19hrs after insulin?
Thank for your support
Tina
 
You use the person's na,e with an @ in front. Like @Mister's Owner .

I think I'd reduce the dose to .5/.6 - whatever you can measure. It may be that giving a little less insulin will give you two shootable preshots a day.

BTW, looking good!
I have u-40 needles so I'm assuming u mean to try half of 1.0u?
Should I do this even if we never get a green or blue number?
Thanks
 
What am I missing? You are getting blue numbers midcycle, right?

The problem I see is that you are having to skip shots because the number is too low. Lowering the dose overall should give you two shootable numbers twice a day, hopefully resulting in lower number overall.
 
What am I missing? You are getting blue numbers midcycle, right?

The problem I see is that you are having to skip shots because the number is too low. Lowering the dose overall should give you two shootable numbers twice a day, hopefully resulting in lower number overall.
Yes I'm getting blues now but I was trying .75u and getting them. So I figured .5 would give me yellows.
Guess I'm still learning...thinking I need more to get greens, but it seems more complicated than that.
Sorry, I'm actually still wondering how to tell when his Nadine is?
 
Well, first you try for regulation- mid200s at preshot and low 100s or double digits at the lowest point (but not below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter) He is close to that. Then you increase by small amounts until he is lower overall. The complicating thing is that some of the preshots have been low and you've skipped.

My concern is the preshots that you have skipped the dose, because he is low. My thinking is that you reduce the insulin a smidge so he is in shootable range twice daily. The other thing you can do is lower your no shoot number. People shoot at 160/170/180 but they plan to monitor carefully, and they reduce the dose.

I don't see a clear nadir. Could you do a curve this weekend to see exactly what the insulin is doing - how soon he starts to drop, when his lowest point is, when he starts back up, etc. That might help you figure out the dosing better.
 
Well, first you try for regulation- mid200s at preshot and low 100s or double digits at the lowest point (but not below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter) He is close to that. Then you increase by small amounts until he is lower overall. The complicating thing is that some of the preshots have been low and you've skipped.

My concern is the preshots that you have skipped the dose, because he is low. My thinking is that you reduce the insulin a smidge so he is in shootable range twice daily. The other thing you can do is lower your no shoot number. People shoot at 160/170/180 but they plan to monitor carefully, and they reduce the dose.

I don't see a clear nadir. Could you do a curve this weekend to see exactly what the insulin is doing - how soon he starts to drop, when his lowest point is, when he starts back up, etc. That might help you figure out the dosing better.
I will try, but when you guys say curve do you mean testing every hour for 24 hours? And thanks for explaining the way you did it helped a lot
 
Usually with a curve you test every 2 hours for a 12 hour period, or every 3 hours for an 18 hour period. Every hour isn't necessary, but if you want to go for it, a test result is never a wasted effort :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top