Plugged up

Status
Not open for further replies.

nkuzmick

Member Since 2017
Decided this is better as new subject- Today starts day 4 that Cleo has not pooped. She has gone into litterbox a few times and tried but failed to poop. Drinking normal water volume and is peeing 4-6 times a day. Still eating most of her food, but not as much/quickly. BG is fine - no other obvious changes in behavior - no changes in diet or routine or meds. We are thinking about reducing the Lasix she takes for her heart issues - her breathing is good (under 30 BPM) - much improved from a few months ago. We don't think she has much/any fluid retention so maybe she is getting a little dehydrated? She has lost about a pound in the last month (from 19 to 18 LBS) - Started her on Miralax this AM - 1/8 tsp - plan to give her another dose tonight. She is 12 and has never has this issue before.

A few Questions - first how many days without bowel movement until she needs vet intervention? Second how long before Miralax has some effect? Third any danger signs we need to watch for??


Thanks for any answers - they will help us greatly with knowing what to do now - no local Vet available until Monday.

Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
 
Willow recently went a few days without pooping. I was giving her pumpkin but still nothing. I had always heard that after a couple of days with no poop you should go to the vet, but I spoke with their internal medicine specialist, and he said the real concern comes at about the 5th day. So, it sounds like Cleo is getting there. I had gotten generic Miralax for her, and I cannot remember for sure, but it may have been after one dose that she went.. maybe 2 doses, definitely no more than that. I also do not remember exactly how long after the dose but within a day because I think I gave it to her about the 4th day, like you.

If you think she is getting dehydrated, can you maybe give her some unflavored pedialyte?
 
This happens to our civvy Daniel, he gets one little tiny poop of something hard and it jams him up. As the vet is looking at the x-ray out it comes.
Is Cleo straining? Peeing okay? Excessive licking or obvious pain? With Daniel you can lift up his tail and actually see the problem. Not healthy to get backed up like that (obviously). Have you tried a tummy massage? See how she reacts and if there's pain. You'll get much better advice than that as the day goes on.
 
Spent a lot of time trying to research cat constipation but still not sure if Cleo's constipation is an emergency - After looking at on-line vet sites, decided to give her 2 mini enemas on Sunday - about 2 to 3 teaspoons of warm water, KY with a little Miralax mixed in. At first she strained but nothing came out then later in the day she passed a poop that looked like 1/2 of a wine cork - not tapered, dry, no smell and hard as concrete. A few hours later another round one about an inch - a little softer, but still very hard and dry. This AM she passed another about 2 inches long and 3/4 around - somewhat softer and wet on the outside.

We have a Vet appointment this Wednesday AM for a checkup and blood panel, but we are still worried about her. She is not eating well and laying around more than normal. She has been getting 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of Miralax in some tuna juice twice a day. Likes the tummy massage and cleaning rear with warm water on towel.

Reluctant to give her another enema - backside seems tender - What do we do? She hates the vet.

Thanks, Bob & Nancy
 
Spent a lot of time trying to research cat constipation but still not sure if Cleo's constipation is an emergency - After looking at on-line vet sites, decided to give her 2 mini enemas on Sunday - about 2 to 3 teaspoons of warm water, KY with a little Miralax mixed in. At first she strained but nothing came out then later in the day she passed a poop that looked like 1/2 of a wine cork - not tapered, dry, no smell and hard as concrete. A few hours later another round one about an inch - a little softer, but still very hard and dry. This AM she passed another about 2 inches long and 3/4 around - somewhat softer and wet on the outside.

We have a Vet appointment this Wednesday AM for a checkup and blood panel, but we are still worried about her. She is not eating well and laying around more than normal. She has been getting 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of Miralax in some tuna juice twice a day. Likes the tummy massage and cleaning rear with warm water on towel.

Reluctant to give her another enema - backside seems tender - What do we do? She hates the vet.

Thanks, Bob & Nancy
Give a teaspoon of plain pumkin as well. Any since the last update?
 
Tried to let Cleo have a break Sunday and did not do any more home brew enemas - we had ordered a cat specific 6ml enema (Pet-ema) - from Amazon and it was to arrive Monday. She passed one pretty hard poop Sunday AM - about 2 inches long so we were hopeful but no more. Spent Monday coaxing her to eat but still only ate about 1/3 to 1/2 normal amount (wet only). Called the cardio vet and she said to reduce Lasix to 5mg daily until we get blood results Wednesday as long as her breathing stays 30 BPM at rest which it is doing. BG in her usual range but cut Vetsulin back from 1 1/2 to 1 unit just to be safe. PetEma did not arrive until about 9:00 PM last night and we decided it would be best to wait until this AM to administer - Wow are we glad we did that - She pooped right away then about 10 times in the last 2 hours four one to one and a half inch long by 1 inch around each slightly softer mixed with lots of nasty liquid poop - the rest of the times just liquid. Threw up twice. What a smelly mess! - following her around with thick pads of paper towels and trying in vain to clean up her long hair. Gone through 2 giant paper towel rolls already, several throw rugs and 6 bath towels. Thought she was done when she settled in her bed for about 1/2 hour but then she got up and did a big load of liquid and a 4 inch long poop that was formed, but almost soft. Been about a half hour now and no more - All told about 12 plus inches of hard stool passed the last 48 hours so we hope she is unplugged now. Going to hold off on any more Miralax until things firm up.

We at both going to have to shower - washed her backend every time with warm water and finally have it almost clean. Needless to say we have skipped breakfast.

Passing all this on in hopes that our experience will inform/benefit others - so glad we did not give PM enema - will update if any changes. Thanks to all of you for your advice and concern. Very Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
 
Tried to let Cleo have a break Sunday and did not do any more home brew enemas - we had ordered a cat specific 6ml enema (Pet-ema) - from Amazon and it was to arrive Monday. She passed one pretty hard poop Sunday AM - about 2 inches long so we were hopeful but no more. Spent Monday coaxing her to eat but still only ate about 1/3 to 1/2 normal amount (wet only). Called the cardio vet and she said to reduce Lasix to 5mg daily until we get blood results Wednesday as long as her breathing stays 30 BPM at rest which it is doing. BG in her usual range but cut Vetsulin back from 1 1/2 to 1 unit just to be safe. PetEma did not arrive until about 9:00 PM last night and we decided it would be best to wait until this AM to administer - Wow are we glad we did that - She pooped right away then about 10 times in the last 2 hours four one to one and a half inch long by 1 inch around each slightly softer mixed with lots of nasty liquid poop - the rest of the times just liquid. Threw up twice. What a smelly mess! - following her around with thick pads of paper towels and trying in vain to clean up her long hair. Gone through 2 giant paper towel rolls already, several throw rugs and 6 bath towels. Thought she was done when she settled in her bed for about 1/2 hour but then she got up and did a big load of liquid and a 4 inch long poop that was formed, but almost soft. Been about a half hour now and no more - All told about 12 plus inches of hard stool passed the last 48 hours so we hope she is unplugged now. Going to hold off on any more Miralax until things firm up.

We at both going to have to shower - washed her backend every time with warm water and finally have it almost clean. Needless to say we have skipped breakfast.

Passing all this on in hopes that our experience will inform/benefit others - so glad we did not give PM enema - will update if any changes. Thanks to all of you for your advice and concern. Very Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
:eek: Well, at least you know the pet enema is effective!
 
Cleo has been just laying in her bed since her last BM around 11:00 - Not taking water or food - was worried that she might have low BG since she vomited up the food this AM after she got her 1 unit of Vetsulin and so we just tested her - but no it was 413 at +8 - she has not been any where near that high in months! Just stress from the enema??

What do we do?? she is not eating or drinking so do we stop her insulin if we can't get her to eat?? Is there a level of BG at which she should get some insulin even if she won't eat?? Should we test again in a few hours and then decide??

She sees the vet tomorrow AM, but is obviously not feeling well now. Do we just wait to see her bloodwork tomorrow??

Advice please we are quite worried.
 
Cleo has been just laying in her bed since her last BM around 11:00 - Not taking water or food - was worried that she might have low BG since she vomited up the food this AM after she got her 1 unit of Vetsulin and so we just tested her - but no it was 413 at +8 - she has not been any where near that high in months! Just stress from the enema??

What do we do?? she is not eating or drinking so do we stop her insulin if we can't get her to eat?? Is there a level of BG at which she should get some insulin even if she won't eat?? Should we test again in a few hours and then decide??

She sees the vet tomorrow AM, but is obviously not feeling well now. Do we just wait to see her bloodwork tomorrow??

Advice please we are quite worried.
Is there any way you could syringe feed her later if needed? No food plus high BG isn't a good combination. She needs insulin if at all possible. I'm glad she's seeing the vet tomorrow.
 
Glad that she's seeing the vet tomorrow. Definitely keep us updated, I am having trouble with Dave and constipation as well. Might have to get a Pet-ema. He is getting an enema from the vet tomorrow, but it might be nice to keep those handy in case of future constipation episodes. Never thought I would be doing so much reading on constipation and enemas LOL.
 
Talked to our local vet and she said bring her in so we are leaving now - got Cleo to take a little water and lick some wet food, but still listless. Will post when we see what vet says. Thanks all.
 
Not good news at the vet - while her heart issues are doing quite well, her kidney function is crashing - BUN, potassium, etc. all doubled from last bloodwork about two months ago. Stopping all Lasix for now -we need advice on kidney friendly food that is not too bad for her BG. Vet said to give her 2 units Vetsulin tonight - Cleo up to 473 BG at the vet. Vet gave her some fluids under skin and something to help her tummy and help her to eat. Said to check BG before all pre-shot for a while and come back for more bloodwork next week.

Food and other suggestions PLEASE' Right now the priority is her kidney function.

Thanks to all, Bob & Nancy
 
Not good news at the vet - while her heart issues are doing quite well, her kidney function is crashing - BUN, potassium, etc. all doubled from last bloodwork about two months ago. Stopping all Lasix for now -we need advice on kidney friendly food that is not too bad for her BG. Vet said to give her 2 units Vetsulin tonight - Cleo up to 473 BG at the vet. Vet gave her some fluids under skin and something to help her tummy and help her to eat. Said to check BG before all pre-shot for a while and come back for more bloodwork next week.

Food and other suggestions PLEASE' Right now the priority is her kidney function.

Thanks to all, Bob & Nancy
weruva bff food in cans is both low in phosphorous and low in carb. https://www.amazon.com/Feline-Friend-B-F-F-Variety-Weruva/dp/B008RP4FA6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 (you can probably find it cheaper on chewy) I fed that when I had a kidney cat along with my cc so they could eat the same food. Do you have a copy of the lab report you could post? If not, call the vet receptionist and see if they will email you a copy.
 
Not good news at the vet - while her heart issues are doing quite well, her kidney function is crashing - BUN, potassium, etc. all doubled from last bloodwork about two months ago. Stopping all Lasix for now -we need advice on kidney friendly food that is not too bad for her BG. Vet said to give her 2 units Vetsulin tonight - Cleo up to 473 BG at the vet. Vet gave her some fluids under skin and something to help her tummy and help her to eat. Said to check BG before all pre-shot for a while and come back for more bloodwork next week.

Food and other suggestions PLEASE' Right now the priority is her kidney function.

Thanks to all, Bob & Nancy
I'm sorry you had such disheartening news. You could try posting here asking for advice about low P foods, etc. If you go to the left end of the title bar for your thread, there's menu there that includes a blue question mark icon. Use it to get more attention on your post.
 
If her creatnine and bun are high, you can start doing sub q's at home... it helps tremendously. There's a great group on Facebook called Cats with Chronic Renal Failure... very helpful, knowledgeable group. This is the go to site for all things Kidney Failure. http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Sub Q’s are great for the kidney problems, but you do need to keep an eye on the heart problems too. If she’s dehydrated that will cause the kidney levels to be off, sometimes quite a bit. If you can, post the test results.
 
Cleo's AMPS BG back down to normal (for her) 189 so gave her usual 1+ unit of Vetsulin. She is eating a little better and seems to be more alert. Will post bloodwork when we get copy. Reading website on cat kidney problems - researching low phos foods that are also low in carbs. Ordered some weruva BFF on line - Thanks Janet. Finding out about kidney problems is like learning about her diabetes all over - we are calming down as we learn more and with Cleo feeling a little better this morning and is much more alert. Drinking plenty of water and peeing as usual.

Vet said to hold off on Miralax for now so we will try the pumpkin to see if she will eat it. How do you feed that? We plan on buying small quantities of several low phos/low carb foods and offering them to her to see what she will readily eat. The Young Again mature zero is also a low phos/low carb food so we can keep that in her diet for grazing between wet feedings.

Thanks again for everyone's help and support.

Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
 
Cleo's AMPS BG back down to normal (for her) 189 so gave her usual 1+ unit of Vetsulin. She is eating a little better and seems to be more alert. Will post bloodwork when we get copy. Reading website on cat kidney problems - researching low phos foods that are also low in carbs. Ordered some weruva BFF on line - Thanks Janet. Finding out about kidney problems is like learning about her diabetes all over - we are calming down as we learn more and with Cleo feeling a little better this morning and is much more alert. Drinking plenty of water and peeing as usual.

Vet said to hold off on Miralax for now so we will try the pumpkin to see if she will eat it. How do you feed that? We plan on buying small quantities of several low phos/low carb foods and offering them to her to see what she will readily eat. The Young Again mature zero is also a low phos/low carb food so we can keep that in her diet for grazing between wet feedings.

Thanks again for everyone's help and support.

Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
Good news! :) And you're right - learning more makes you feel you have a bit more control.
 
Cleo's AMPS BG back down to normal (for her) 189 so gave her usual 1+ unit of Vetsulin. She is eating a little better and seems to be more alert. Will post bloodwork when we get copy. Reading website on cat kidney problems - researching low phos foods that are also low in carbs. Ordered some weruva BFF on line - Thanks Janet. Finding out about kidney problems is like learning about her diabetes all over - we are calming down as we learn more and with Cleo feeling a little better this morning and is much more alert. Drinking plenty of water and peeing as usual.

Vet said to hold off on Miralax for now so we will try the pumpkin to see if she will eat it. How do you feed that? We plan on buying small quantities of several low phos/low carb foods and offering them to her to see what she will readily eat. The Young Again mature zero is also a low phos/low carb food so we can keep that in her diet for grazing between wet feedings.

Thanks again for everyone's help and support.

Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
The pumpkin... just get plain canned pumpkin... about a teaspoon per feeding.
 
I didn't read the whole thread. It sounds like you are treating properly.

I can't believe Leo (17 pound) cat makes poops almost as big as a 185 pound man. Really, what's up with that? We have been lucky that all 3 cats have not had any constipation issues.
 
Thanks all - Mogs link above all too familiar. Cleo is doing much better today - her PSAM BG was only 157 which is very low for her. With no Lasix for past few days her breathing still good and under 30 BPM resting. Cardio vet said to stop her ACE inhibitor Benazipril since it might result in less blood flow to her kidneys as her Blood pressure is now 119 vs about 170 2 months ago. Local vet said to stop Lasix - Cardio said only 5 mg daily - we are going to hold off until next weeks vet visit/bloodwork as long as her breathing stays OK. We had our own medical appointments today and with us being gone we thought it wise to skip her insulin - 157 is one of her lowest ever PS BG readings. Just got home she ate all wet and dry food so her appetite is back to normal We will check BG again for PMPS and go from there. Comparing 10/12 bloodwork to latest 12/12 data her CREA was 1.8 now up to 3.0, BUN was 44 now 76, PHOS was 6.o now 11.9. We are certainly hoping that her re-test next week will show major improvements in kidney values. How much the 12/12 numbers were due to stress, dehydration, etc. time will tell. She is getting lowest Phos foods we can find locally - will only eat pate so quite a challenge. She did like the Hills a/d urgent care wet food the vet gave us, but no idea how the carbs are on that one. She has yet to poop after her Tuesday enema, but was not eating much until last night/today so might take a while to pass through her system. Will try the pumpkin tonight - will mix in with wet if she does not eat it plain. 12/12 data follows:
img019.jpg
img020.jpg
W
img023.jpg
 
Re B12 supplementation, with kidney issues in play Tanya's Site recommends a conservative approach to this type of treatment. If you've not already visited Tanya's Site I can't recommend it highly enough; it's a goldmine of info on feline CKD.


Mogs
.
 
Thanks we stopped the Zobaline a few days ago - have looked briefly at Tanya's site - Missed the B-12 discussion. Will read more there.

Just did her PMPS BG and wow 138! No Vetsulin this AM and now not going to shoot her tonight -

This is strange - After being stable in the 140 to 200 range for weeks, then she gets constipated, dehydrated and kidneys go way off - she spiked up to 413 Tuesday afternoon and up to 477 an hour later at the vet - see above for treatment at vet -- gave her 2 units Vetsulin that night - she was quite sickly - one unit in the AM yesterday and by 7:00 PM she is down to 189 - one unit last night then this morning AMPS is 157 - no insulin and now 138 so no shot again tonight- she is alert and eating well went right into the wet food pumpkin mix.

anyone experience this low BG after a severe shock/illness??

Thanks and Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
 
Cleo's AMPS BG was 181 but she had been eating already so not sure this is a good reading - went ahead and gave her one unit Vetsulin as that usually only drops her about 50 points - we are home all day today and will watch her, but so far she has never gone low. Will do PMPS test and see where she is before deciding what to do about her shot tonight. She is alert and active (for her) so seems to be feeling good.

We would like to make a donation to this site or a related support organization - is there a way we can do that with VISA card or do we have to use PayPal? What link is best one to use?

Thanks to all & Best Regards, Bob & Nancy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top