? Pls look at SS 3/19 Willow amps 311 +4 167 +8 107

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by willow segal, Mar 19, 2023.

  1. willow segal

    willow segal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    Much of last year I was shooting .25 Semglee/Glargine with numbers consistently under 200. Nothing food or life wise has changed in a year. But this year Willow’s numbers have been everywhere all high. A month ago I started shooting .5 it didn’t seem to help. I did a few days at .75 but again numbers were up and down. I’m trying to get consistency so I’ve landed at .6. She gets pretty low during day at this. I feel like idk wt* I’m doing anymore. Full confession, some PM/AM PS she may have eaten 1-2 hrs in advance.

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13EdVQx3YCX7NPr1CqedKj5Dls4zr0X_HGCt_pbfjuhg/edit
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi I would ask someone to look at your SS , put a ? please look at SS in front of the date in your title
    Look to the right tap on Thread Tools ,tap in Edit Title and add it then tap save
     
    willow segal likes this.
  3. willow segal

    willow segal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    Thank you
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    If no one responds I will tag some experienced members for you
     
    willow segal likes this.
  5. willow segal

    willow segal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    Ohhh just remembered, started epakitan in Jan.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    My girl was on Epatikin for for a while. It didn't impact her BG, or anything else, so I stopped it. I don't think that's the reason.

    When following SLGS, you hold the dose if she's nadiring between 90 and 149. I see a 90 yesterday, so that means to stay the course on this dose. It would be useful to get a weekly curve, and even some spot checks, closer to nadir if possible, to see if she's going even lower and bouncing. We decide on how to change doses based on nadirs, both day and night time cycles, so it's good to see more of that mid cycle data.

    As for why she might need more insulin, a cats need for insulin can change over time. Has she ever had an echocardiogram on her heart to see why the murmur? Both heart conditions and CKD can cause a bit of insulin resistance, meaning slightly higher doses needed.

    Which LC dry is she getting? Depending on that, some people notice it still impacts blood sugar a bit. CKD cats should get plenty of fluids, so all wet food if possible is a better diet for her.
     
  7. willow segal

    willow segal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    She did see a specialist and had an echo probably 2 yrs ago, after having a seizure. I can’t remember what he said but other than the murmur (which she’s had a long time) there was nothing glaring. I do subQ once a week. It’s hard for me to get daytime until the weekends. You’re right, I need to get more #. She is mostly wet (ff and Weruva) but yes, we “sin” and cheat and sprinkle a little Dr Elseys on top. At her age i believe in balancing quality of life too. Thank you for your reply. It’s helpful.
     
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good to hear the murmur wasn't anything serious. After Neko's first echo, the cardiologist said to just have her regular vet monitor and not worry unless it changed levels or location.

    If you can get a before bed test at nights, as long as it's 2-3 hours after PMPS, that can be really valuable. Many cats go lower at night.

    Some people have reported the Dr. Elsey's raising numbers, but sounds like it's just a small part of her diet. I agree, at age 16 it's all about balance. She seems to be doing better on this dose.
     
  9. willow segal

    willow segal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2022
    Ok I can do night, middle night test since none us sleep much. I think I’m disappointed after maintaining at .25 for so long, was hoping she would stay there. I wasn’t expecting all this bouncing lately and worried. And it’s like a friend said to me - if you knew you were dying, would you want me to take your bourbon away?!?. Hence, a lil Dr E.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The important numbers are the blood sugars, not the dose size. Something I had to keep telling myself.
     
    willow segal likes this.

Share This Page