? Pls, dont know if insulin should be given

Status
Not open for further replies.

CLS

Member Since 2016
Nayeli's AMPS 289, PMPS 268, great, but vet instructions are between 150 - 250 no insulin, being so close do I give her insulin or pass and be safe, not sure what to do. Thanks

Checked BG at 9:00 pm AZ time, and she has eaten. Instructed to poke and 30 min later give insulin by vet, but no instructions about when this happens.
 
Hey Chris, I see that i'm too late for advise but for the next time, you can give insulin but give a reduced dose. So I see that Nayeli got 1U normally but you could have given 0.50U, just so she has insulin in her body because if she doesn't, look at other days were this happend, the amps will be sky high again.
 
She really is all over the place. The last two preshots of 289/269 were a nice change. It looks like she needs a drop of insulin in that 250 range because skipping makes her sky high for the next preshot. Now that you are comfortable testing, I'd think you might lower that no shoot number to 230/250 and, as Ruby suggested, give her a little less.

Is there any correlation to the meds given and the lower/higher levels? It is unusual for a cat to range from blacks to yellows.
 
I will be giving her the half dose if this happens again.

Right now on a daily basis she is just on he blood pressure med's in the morning only. I give her that when she is done being tested and when she is finished eating.

If I feel she needs the assistance of an appetite stimulant or the use of pepcid I have those on hand and both are prescription, not over the counter. She did not have the appetite stimulant during those high number, but she did have the pepcid. She also had the pepcid during her first BG curve. The vet offered an explanation of her pancreas trying to jump in and start working and was happy to see those lower numbers. I did check her ketones on the high numbers (500+) and negative every-time. Possibly the flare up of the pancreatitis????

For the no shot numbers do you mean anything between 230 - 250 she doesnt need the insulin, or instead of the 150 - 250 from the vet change that to 150 - 230, no insulin, anything over 230 give her the 1 unit. So much to learn, wow.
 
I'd think it would be fine to have your no shoot number at 230 and below, rather than 250. Once you can test and have data, that no shoot number can lower.
 
I agree. I think lowering it would be good. Being able to test helps since you can catch lower numbers if needed.
 
Ruby & Baco, thank you for the info. Next time this happens I wont have to panic, better late then never on this type of information. I knew it was late and not too many people would be up. I just kept heariig better to have a high number then go low. Thank you again.
 
Well at that time off day I should be up and running. I'm in The Netherlands so the timezone is fine but in this case it was weekend so I slept in ;)
So in case off needing help in the middle of the night (your time) I will be here most of the times. :)
 
you should ask your vet about doing a sliding scale so that when the numbers are really high (like 400+) maybe you could do 1.5.
 
Ruby & Baco, it is very comforting to know that at crazy after hours, early morning hours I have someone to reach out to for help. I noticed you do a raw diet for Baco, I am thinking about trying a raw diet in the near future, so do I ask you questions about the diet here or do I go to a different forum?
 
Hi Janet, not sure what the sliding scale is. I'll have to read up on it so I can be ready with questions when I ask the vet about it. With her numbers being high most of the time I am worried about damage to her kidneys. We started on insulin back on May 20th, so I dont follow why her numbers are so crazy high.
 
Ruby & Baco, it is very comforting to know that at crazy after hours, early morning hours I have someone to reach out to for help. I noticed you do a raw diet for Baco, I am thinking about trying a raw diet in the near future, so do I ask you questions about the diet here or do I go to a different forum?
Hi Chris, well it depends on what you want to ask about it.. If I can't answer the question there will be other people that I can tag for you in your thread who can help :)
I do give Baco raw food indeed, it did the trick for her to get her numbers really low, and eventually got her off insulin as well. And raw food is the most natural thing you can feed your cat. All those dry food kibbles are sooooo bad.. I didn't know that untill Baco got diabetes and I was researching everything. After I found out that (almost) all the normal food you buy in the supermarket is bad I immediately switched to raw food.
 
Hi Janet, not sure what the sliding scale is. I'll have to read up on it so I can be ready with questions when I ask the vet about it. With her numbers being high most of the time I am worried about damage to her kidneys. We started on insulin back on May 20th, so I dont follow why her numbers are so crazy high.
what I mean is dosing based on the preshot number.... for example #200-250 give .5 units 250-350 give 1 unit 350-450 give 1.5 u 450 and over give 2 units
 
I think you need a lot more data before setting up a sliding scale. (That odd yellow cycle seems like an anomaly) For now, I'd suggest raising the dose on the first dose you can monitor. If you can't get a nadir in the daytime during the week, I'd pick a night time cycle when you can get a before bed test and wake up for a nadir somewhere in that +5-7 hour range
 
I do agree that you need a lot more mid day readings to see what all these random numbers are doing.
 
I'd like to switch over to the ReliOn Confirm, actually starting Tues (8/23rd), Do I set up a totally new spreadsheet or just copy & paste the formatting onto a new tab. If I switch over to the ReliOn I will be able to start testing more often through out the day.

When I did the last BG curve 8/13 -14, I used both AlphaTrak & ReliOn on the same sample. The plotted out curve was interesting to see how close the pattern was on these two meters.
 
We have a separate SS for human meters. The reference numbers are different, so I would switch to that one so that we don't think you are getting those numbers on a AT! :)
 
I switched over to the human meter this morning. On the human meter what would be my range for giving insulin and not giving insulin. Now that I can test her levels more often, what would you suggest and for how many days. She is a around the clock kitty.
 
I spoke to the pharmacist this morning to make sure none of her medications contain sugar or sugar substitutes, they are all free of any form of sugar. So that is not the reason her numbers are so high...still.

Back on 6/1 results for the SPEC fPL 0.0 - 3.5 ug/L 37, she is showing slight spots of arthritis on her spine, near her neck and lower spine by her tail.

The beginning of this year after a very short distance fall she started to walk funny (hind legs). Vet thought it was related to high blood pressure, checked that and it was very high. So she was put on blood pressure medicine. Did not stop the weakness in her hind legs, funny gait, and she does not really sit on her butt, more of her side hip. What I am thinking is the possibility of pain - discomfort from these last three medical issues could be keeping her numbers high. I need to address them in some form quickly to start getting her relief. I love to see the neuropathy symptoms gone. She dose not walk on her hocks all the time. Her movements are to eat or use the litter pan, that is it. When I hold her, I feel like I am holding skin and bones.
 
Remission is 2 weeks of 40-120 (on a human meter) without insulin. With a human meter, the no shoot number is 200 until you have data and can test confidently. Then it can lower to 180 - on cycles you can monitor. Regulation is generally considered to be mid 200s for preshots and low 100s or double digits for nadir, but not below 50, which is approaching hypo.
 
Thanks for the info Sue, I'll have to put that in my note book and have it right at hand. Was this site down for a time today? I could not get the forum page to load for a couple of hours, even on my phone.
 
(now using the ReliOn Confirm) Today Nayeli's BG levels, AMPS 577. (1 unit), +4, 491, +9 111 and PMPS 78. I rechecked with the AlphaTrak and reading was 119, re-poke. I am hoping what was keeping her BG readings so high has left her body. I am so use to see the high numbers I am not sure how to handle this low number. I think I will test her two more times tonight and see and hope they dont keep going lower. My car is in the shop so I would have no way to get her to the ER. She did eat two TLB's of Friskies Chicken and Salmon shreds about 10 min after I checked her.
 
Should I continue to check her at different intervals from Thurs for her next 4 cycles? No surprise that she was at 565 at AMPS after her Thurs PMPS of 78.
 
I think I'd reduce the dose. One unit gave you a long cycle on a high amps resulting in a low pmps. How about trying 0.5 even if the preshot is high and see how the cycle looks?
 
Hi Sue, should I give her the .5 unit today at her PMPS schedule and then check her again two more times after she has had the .5 unit. Am I going to do this for a few days or just two cycles? Thanks so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top