Please pray for Biscuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Biscuits

Member Since 2021
She is running a fever of 105.5 tonight and her sugar is running at 558. I am angry because everything I'm trying to do isn't working. I have applied to DCIN for a switch over to Levemir or Lantus, waiting on vet approval for that. She already approved ProZinc but now DCIN wants her to approve one of the other two instead. Plus there's a ton of paperwork to fill out and gather up (at my end), so the process is taking far too long. I can't afford another vet bill, I have almost $700 owing to them now for a different issue with different cats plus the one I had to euthanize a couple of months ago. Now I have to take Biscuits in to the vet in the morning because if she is in KA they will need to flush her out and put her on fluids etc. They won't listen to me about the m/d being the culprit either. There are no other vets nearby that I can take her to. The only other one in town is horrible and costs a lot more. I can't travel to another city that easily as I don't have a license or a vehicle, so I have to depend on others to get me to and from other vet clinics. I feel like I'm losing my baby and it's my fault because I can't afford more expensive insulin for her and I can't seem to get her off the kibble. She begs for it if I take it away and the boys do as well. It's all they have known since they were kittens and they love it. I offer them more wet food in place of the dry food and they won't eat it - so what do I do? People tell me to just wait till they get really hungry and I have tried that as well but they are not satisfied without the kibble. It's not an easy process. I know it's what is best for them but I can't just make them go cold turkey either. I have an injured dog on my hands who can't walk, 4 cats with URI's in my colony and now this as well. I may as well set up camp at the vet clinic at this rate and just build my own wing over there, because I can't stay out of there. I'll update you when I can about what the vet says tomorrow. One way or the other, I am going to get her off of Vetsulin and onto one of the other insulins before this is over. I can't kill my cat like this. I won't let that happen. I love her too much to let her go over something that can be fixed with a change in diet and insulin.
Thank you in advance for your prayers for her.
 
Prayers for you, Biscuit, & your other kitty's. I am so sorry you are going through this. It's hard getting them off of dry food believe me I know. Something that might help you to get them to eat there wet food is sprinkle a little bit of fortiflora on there food. My boy has been refusing to eat off & on for a couple days. I bought a box of fortiflora at my vets office & whenever he refuses to eat I sprinkle a little bit of fortiflora on it & he gobbles it up. I hope you get everything straightened out with the insulin. Please keep us updated, hugs to you.
 
Prayers for you, Biscuit, & your other kitty's. I am so sorry you are going through this. It's hard getting them off of dry food believe me I know. Something that might help you to get them to eat there wet food is sprinkle a little bit of fortiflora on there food. My boy has been refusing to eat off & on for a couple days. I bought a box of fortiflora at my vets office & whenever he refuses to eat I sprinkle a little bit of fortiflora on it & he gobbles it up. I hope you get everything straightened out with the insulin. Please keep us updated, hugs to you.


Thank you for the recommendation about the fortiflora. I actually have some that has never been opened that was for a different cat that died last year. He wasn't around long enough to need it, so I just left it in the box. It hasn't expired so I will definitely give that a try. Thank you also for your prayers for Biscuits. She seems stable right now and not feeling quite as hot but I don't want to upset her with checking her temp again at this hour so just leaving her alone for the night and we'll reassess in the morning. Either way she's going to the vet, I can't take chances with her.
 
If she will only eat the dry food, that is ok. She just needs to to eat something and drink. Have you been able to test her urine for ketones? You will need a bottle of Ketostix for that from Walmart or a pharmacy. Please let us know how you get on at the vet.
 
If this sounds cold it's certainly not meant to. There are a lot of things we can do for our animals through sheer devotion, our willingness to learn and most of all love. It's beyond unfortunate that at some point money and circumstances becomes a factor. I feel for you knowing the aggravation of vets who won't listen and the chore of paper work that delays what you know is best. Please don't let that be a source of guilt.
It's more than obvious from a cat you just recently let go of to the feral colony and the dog that you're doing everything humanly possible. The aggravation, the grief and maybe even anger are natural but if there's any one thing you don't deserve it's guilt. The reading material at our emergency clinic is not old magazines, it's their deferred payment plans. It's a cold heartless place and you should take comfort that here you're among friends who understand and care for you and the little ones.
Just needed you to know someone else has been there, you're doing all that can be expected. :bighug:
 
Prayers for Biscuits. I understand your frustration. I have been there (and still there) and we are trying everything we can and trying to do our best.

As far as transitioning from dry to wet food, this has helped me with Leo. I sprinkle a little of these freeze dried chicken treats over the food and kind've pushed a couple into the wet food so he has to work to get those. Once he starts eating he would keep eating the wet food. In the beginning I would have to put a few more crushed treats over the food to "restart" his eating but then he would finish eating. Hope that helps.

These are the ones I use: https://www.chewy.com/purebites-chicken-breast-freeze-dried/dp/152411
There is always a little crushed treats that looks like sawdust in the bottom of the bag. That is GREAT for sprinkling on the food.
 
If she will only eat the dry food, that is ok. She just needs to to eat something and drink. Have you been able to test her urine for ketones? You will need a bottle of Ketostix for that from Walmart or a pharmacy. Please let us know how you get on at the vet.

Thank you for that tip, I will check into the ketostix next time I go to walmart, most likely tomorrow. How do I test her urine though? She's somewhat sneaky about using the litterbox so I don't always catch her in there. I assume I just dip the stick into the urine after she pees? She has gotten to the point where she no longer covers her litter and she can't support herself on her back legs anymore because of the neuropathy so she poops outside of the litterbox while laying on the floor. This started a few weeks ago.
She loves wet food, don't get me wrong, but she also loves her kibble. I thought changing her from kibble to only wet food would be easy because she does like wet food and I try to mix up flavors and brands to give her variety. Right now she's on Weruva Cats in the Kitchen variety pack and I put Fancy Feast pates, usually the beef/poultry ones a couple of days a week as well. This morning she had Weruva, she did eat most of it but not all and she's refusing to take her gabapentin today, even with a pill pocket, which is unusual. This is the first time she has refused it. Her fever was down to 101.1 F around 10:30 this morning but about 45 minutes ago it was up to 102.4F. I haven't gone to the vet yet, I am waiting on her to call me to talk about this to see if she can get the ball rolling on the Levemir/Lantus issue with DCIN. This is a brand new vet from South Africa, I absolutely love her, she is very compassionate, gentle with the animals (she treated my injured dog on Monday and he's doing better today!), she treated the one that passed away awhile back and was excellent with her. Sadly, her diagnosis was such that she couldn't be saved, but she gave it her best shot and did get her better for a couple of weeks but chewing lice, FIV+ diagnosis, kidney failure and anemia took her out. The vet said she likely could have been saved if it wasn't for such a severe lice infestation that caused the anemia and having FIV made it very difficult for her to pull through because she was diagnosed so late in the game. But for what it's worth, this vet was amazing with her and when I took the dog in on Monday, we talked about Biscuits being on the Methyl-B12. She was very receptive to what I had to say and I told her what many of you have said here and she was quite interested and again supportive of what you're doing with your cats here and encouraged me to continue following this path. That is why I feel strongly I will get further with her in regards to treating Biscuits with different insulin and getting her to approve it promptly so we can get this ball rolling.
Right now Biscuits is semi-lethargic, not really bad, but hiding a little and not wanting to take her pill today, and I'm watching her temperature closely as well. The clinic is only open until 5:30 pm, so I don't want to miss an opportunity to go if necessary but if I can avoid it and just deal with her at home, I would prefer that because I really don't need another vet bill but I also won't let my baby suffer. I will let you know what the vet says when I speak with her later today. Thank you again for your reply, I do appreciate the advice on the ketostix, nobody ever told me I could test her at home for that, at least not at the vet office. I am thankful and grateful for what I am learning here :cat:
 
Prayers for Biscuits. I understand your frustration. I have been there (and still there) and we are trying everything we can and trying to do our best.

As far as transitioning from dry to wet food, this has helped me with Leo. I sprinkle a little of these freeze dried chicken treats over the food and kind've pushed a couple into the wet food so he has to work to get those. Once he starts eating he would keep eating the wet food. In the beginning I would have to put a few more crushed treats over the food to "restart" his eating but then he would finish eating. Hope that helps.

These are the ones I use: https://www.chewy.com/purebites-chicken-breast-freeze-dried/dp/152411
There is always a little crushed treats that looks like sawdust in the bottom of the bag. That is GREAT for sprinkling on the food.

Thank you Susan! I have used those treats before, it's been a couple of years since I had them and it was before Biscuits got diabetes but Skittles, her brother, already had it and the vet recommended those because they were treat hogs back then. I have successfully gotten them off commercial treats like Temptations and Friskies etc. so they no longer get those at all, but I honestly can't recall if they liked the freeze-dried treats. I think they did but only certain flavors. I remember having several over a period of time and I also remember giving them to a friend who had kittens that loved them. I think those were the flavors my cats didn't like. I will certainly give this a try, because the cost of the m/d is killing my finances, coupled with Vetsulin and syringes twice a month and of course strips for the glucose meter. It's a vicious cycle but very necessary. If I could knock out the m/d I would be very pleased with that. I'll be happy to give your method a try! :cat:
 
Sending prayers for Biscuits, Have you checked out our Supply Closet
Kay has lantus for sale at a very reasonable price. I have bought from her before with no problems. Here is the link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-solostar-pens-8.256848/

Wow, thank you for that! I didn't know there was a "Supply Closet" on this site, but that is extremely helpful and I am definitely interested. Thank you for mentioning that and also for your prayers for Biscuits. I truly appreciate that! :cat:
 
If this sounds cold it's certainly not meant to. There are a lot of things we can do for our animals through sheer devotion, our willingness to learn and most of all love. It's beyond unfortunate that at some point money and circumstances becomes a factor. I feel for you knowing the aggravation of vets who won't listen and the chore of paper work that delays what you know is best. Please don't let that be a source of guilt.
It's more than obvious from a cat you just recently let go of to the feral colony and the dog that you're doing everything humanly possible. The aggravation, the grief and maybe even anger are natural but if there's any one thing you don't deserve it's guilt. The reading material at our emergency clinic is not old magazines, it's their deferred payment plans. It's a cold heartless place and you should take comfort that here you're among friends who understand and care for you and the little ones.
Just needed you to know someone else has been there, you're doing all that can be expected. :bighug:

Thank you so much for understanding my situation and for your reply. For what it's worth, it didn't sound cold at all, I can tell that you're truly concerned and that you care, and I appreciate that. I appreciate this group very much and that's why I am so drawn to this site, because I can finally express my concerns to people who have been where I am and are also dealing with diabetic cats. I think my vets (there are a few who have seen Biscuits), are thinking this is just a "google" situation and that I'm just looking up stuff on my own and coming up with wacky ideas out of desperation, when that is totally not the case. It's like telling them about this website and what it's all about is totally foreign to them and full of a bunch of uneducated people who offer unsolicited medical advice for a diabetic cat - also not the case. I printed off the chart that Dr. Lisa made here, about the carbs in all of the canned foods and I took it to the vet with me and showed one of them what the carb content is in some of the foods they recommended and at first he sort of waved it off but then later when I took the papers back and started circling the foods he recommended compared to the ones people here have recommended and the carb content in each, he started getting a bit more interested and said he would hang onto the printout for reference sake. I don't know if he was serious or not, but he did keep them. I'm finding out quickly that most vets have no clue what the carb content is in these foods and they just go by what the label on the bag says. From my own research, I think Hill's m/d has 15% carbs in the dry food and that's called glucose control???? Where does Hill's come up with that and call it okay for a diabetic cat? I had them on Metabolic before that, because Biscuits brother Purrcey is my chonky boy and he needs to lose weight. He put ON weight eating that stuff and it made matters worse. He is not diabetic - yet - but he's heavy and that scares me for his heart and other issues. He digs into the kibble like it's his last meal, every chance he gets so no matter what I put in front of him, he eats it till he's overfull and then makes himself sick. He's never been deprived of food and he's the same age as Skittles and Biscuits, they are all littermates, and yet he's the heaviest of the 3 and the only one that gorges himself on food. The vet swore he would lose weight on this Metabolic version and he never did. I've never been a fan of Science Diet foods but it's all my vet sells, and what they recommended before I found this site, so that's why they are on it now. I would love nothing more than to get them off of it completely and save myself $60 twice a month.
Thank you again for your reply, I appreciate knowing that others completely understand the frustration I feel and don't think I'm totally crazy for being worried about my cat. I love that little girl with everything in me and I am so afraid I am going to lose her soon if we don't get her sugar under control. Have a blessed day! :cat:
 
How do I test her urine though? She's somewhat sneaky about using the litterbox so I don't always catch her in there. I assume I just dip the stick into the urine after she pees? She has gotten to the point where she no longer covers her litter and she can't support herself on her back legs anymore because of the neuropathy so she poops outside of the litterbox while laying on the floor. This started a few weeks ago.
You can put some saran wrap in the liter box where she pees, then dip the ketostix in that and follow the directions on the box to a tee. I don't think you should put ketostix in the litter.
As for the neuropathy all of use Methyl B12. Once you can get Biscuits better regulated you should see a difference.




Most of us use this brand , , just mix it in the wet food and add water, it's tasteless. Within 2 months Tyler was walking and jumping again.
I did see any improvement every couple of weeks
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methyl

balamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5
9.44 for 100 capsules click on where it says quanitys you will see 100 capsules, if they only have the qty of 60 get them

I know money is tight here is the other Methyl B-12 members use but it's expensive
33.90 for 60 pills , you would have to crush them up
https://www.amazon.com/LifeLinks-Zo...lets/dp/B008G3LI2M/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

@feralcatmama

@feralcatmama
 
Last edited:
my vets are thinking this is just a "google" situation and that I'm just looking up stuff on my own
I think I have a bad habit of turning someone else's sad story into something 'all about me' but it's just how I relate. Years ago we had a very smart Border Collie who walked throughout the neighborhood leash free for 12 years. Not one complaint from animal control, she was everyone's favorite dog and all the moms felt safe. She once jumped into a neighbors minivan with the kid inside. Before I could react the mom said "Oh it's Hannah" and everything was okay. How we got a dog like that was beyond me.
One autumn she was diagnosed with stomach cancer after two failed biopsies and a third from a top oncologist. I was told she wouldn't make it to Christmas and had to break the news to my wife. Then Hannah started to gain weight, sailed through Christmas and after 200 days we stopped counting how many days our 'miracle dog' had lived. Through my own research it turned out she had a stomach cyst, the symptoms mimic those of some cancers. My own vet denied it, the oncologist wouldn't return my e-mails. Doing your own research can be like banging your head against the wall and after 40+ years I've yet to see a vet even hint they may have been wrong.
If you can call it luck we were told it was inoperable and chemo wasn't an option. I never had the nerve to mention the internet, I would have looked like I had brought a Shaman and a book of spells with me.
Thank you for sharing that, maybe Biscuits will be your Hannah and you'll get the luck you so much deserve.
 
Wow, thank you for that! I didn't know there was a "Supply Closet" on this site, but that is extremely helpful and I am definitely interested. Thank you for mentioning that and also for your prayers for Biscuits. I truly appreciate that! :cat:
If you do get Lantus you will need different syringes
U-100 syringes with half unit markings, I can suggest where to buy them if you switch
@feralcatmama
 
I will certainly give this a try, because the cost of the m/d is killing my finances, coupled with Vetsulin and syringes twice a month and of course strips for the glucose meter. It's a vicious cycle but very necessary. If I could knock out the m/d I would be very pleased with that. I'll be happy to give your method a try! :cat:
I see you are using the Alpha Trak yes those strips are crazy expensive.
Have you ever thought switching to a human. Most of us use human meters, that's what our numbers are based on. I used the Alpha Trak in the beginning , then switched to The Relion Premier Classic from Walmart 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 strips. Told my vet I could not afford the price of the strips anymore and she was fine with it

You also need to get some tests in during the night cycle

@feralcatmama
 
I see you are using the Alpha Trak yes those strips are crazy expensive.
Have you ever thought switching to a human. Most of us use human meters, that's what our numbers are based on. I used the Alpha Trak in the beginning , then switched to The Relion Premier Classic from Walmart 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 strips. Told my vet I could not afford the price of the strips anymore and she was fine with it

You also need to get some tests in during the night cycle

@feralcatmama

I just got a Reli-On prime meter about a week ago. I took her sugar with both the Alpha Trak and the Reli-on and the numbers were crazy different. Like over 100 points different. The Reli-on showed in the 300 range and the Alpha Trak was in the 450 range. I am not sure how you convert the Reli-On readings to be accurate against the Alpha one. I do recall my vet telling me that human meters were inaccurate by 50-100 points in most cases and she was right, but obviously someone has figured it out here. It is definitely more affordable and easier to obtain the strips that way so I am more than willing to use it if someone can teach me how to get accurate readings for Biscuits and Skittles. His sugar is doing pretty good most of the time and he responds well to Vetsulin but Biscuits is a whole other ball game unfortunately.
 
If you do get Lantus you will need different syringes
U-100 syringes with half unit markings, I can suggest where to buy them if you switch
@feralcatmama

I am familiar with the U-100 syringes and I can get them at Walmart easily. I was using those with Vetsulin because nobody told me about the U-40's until a long time after Skittles was diagnosed and Biscuits got so sick. Her vet told me that I was using the wrong syringes and I had no idea and no vet had ever said anything prior to that even though it was on Skittles' chart that I was using U-100's. Ugh! I'm more than happy to get back to U-100's if I get her on Lantus. Much cheaper and don't need to run to the vet to get them.
 
I think I have a bad habit of turning someone else's sad story into something 'all about me' but it's just how I relate. Years ago we had a very smart Border Collie who walked throughout the neighborhood leash free for 12 years. Not one complaint from animal control, she was everyone's favorite dog and all the moms felt safe. She once jumped into a neighbors minivan with the kid inside. Before I could react the mom said "Oh it's Hannah" and everything was okay. How we got a dog like that was beyond me.
One autumn she was diagnosed with stomach cancer after two failed biopsies and a third from a top oncologist. I was told she wouldn't make it to Christmas and had to break the news to my wife. Then Hannah started to gain weight, sailed through Christmas and after 200 days we stopped counting how many days our 'miracle dog' had lived. Through my own research it turned out she had a stomach cyst, the symptoms mimic those of some cancers. My own vet denied it, the oncologist wouldn't return my e-mails. Doing your own research can be like banging your head against the wall and after 40+ years I've yet to see a vet even hint they may have been wrong.
If you can call it luck we were told it was inoperable and chemo wasn't an option. I never had the nerve to mention the internet, I would have looked like I had brought a Shaman and a book of spells with me.
Thank you for sharing that, maybe Biscuits will be your Hannah and you'll get the luck you so much deserve.

What a touching story! I am so glad that you were able to keep Hannah despite her diagnosis. I am hoping that Biscuits will be a miracle kitty but it's hard to not lose hope when I keep seeing such high numbers. She's barely eating and yet her sugar remains in the 460-560 range. It's ridiculous. They have checked her for acromegaly and said that was not an issue for her, so what else could it be but pain perhaps? I know in humans when they are in pain, they tend to get high glucose readings if they are diabetic. I take care of the lady I live with and that happens to her frequently. Biscuits has wicked neuropathy in her back legs and she's on gabapentin for that. Today is the first day she has not taken her pill, and I don't know why because she ate breakfast just fine. She's hiding right now so I'm just going to let it slide for today and try again in the morning.
 
I just got a Reli-On prime meter about a week ago. I took her sugar with both the Alpha Trak and the Reli-on and the numbers were crazy different. Like over 100 points different. The Reli-on showed in the 300 range and the Alpha Trak was in the 450 range. I am not sure how you convert the Reli-On readings to be accurate against the Alpha one. I do recall my vet telling me that human meters were inaccurate by 50-100 points in most cases and she was right, but obviously someone has figured it out here. It is definitely more affordable and easier to obtain the strips that way so I am more than willing to use it if someone can teach me how to get accurate readings for Biscuits and Skittles. His sugar is doing pretty good most of the time and he responds well to Vetsulin but Biscuits is a whole other ball game unfortunately.
I just did a search on and here is what a member said about the meters
I copied it for you
THe premier is a human meter, so it's going to read lower then an alphatrak. the numbers are closer together at lower ranges, and far apart at higher numbers. The scale for normal on a human meter is 50-120 and on an alphatrack it's 68-150

I have used the Relion meters with no problem , Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21
using the Relion Meter

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2. Healthy BG ranges on a human meter are 50-120.
Take action numbers means when you have to intervene with food to bring those BG up
There is no conversion chart between a pet meter and a human meter. It's like comparing apples and oranges.

Did you read my post #13 about the neuropathy and how to catch the urine to text for ketones?
@feralcatmama
 
Last edited:
Again I'm not giving you helpful medical help, this is a worst case scenario. I've brought cats home for their last few days but only if I could keep them pain free. We had a great vet who made that last trip a peaceful one. We used transdermal BUPE, it's something you give a cat who just doesn't want to eat. It didn't affect their numbers and I once safely quadrupled the recommended dose. We kept Nigel away from the stairs but he never stumbled, knew where he was and knew who we were.
I know this is a bit morbid but it's better to be prepared, we were never under the delusion this was a life saving measure, just a few more days of pain free life.
I dislike being the only one who cannot give you valid medical advice, I just want you to be prepared. I've also had a few that bounced back from the edge and lived long happy lives. Truly wishing you all the best.
Dickson :bighug:
 
I just did a search on and here is what a member said about the meters
I copied it for you
THe premier is a human meter, so it's going to read lower then an alphatrak. the numbers are closer together at lower ranges, and far apart at higher numbers. The scale for normal on a human meter is 50-120 and on an alphatrack it's 68-150

I have used the Relion meters with no problem , Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21
using the Relion Meter

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2. Healthy BG ranges on a human meter are 50-120.
Take action numbers means when you have to intervene with food to bring those BG up
@FurBabiesMama
There is no conversion chart between a pet meter and a human meter. It's like comparing apples and oranges.

Did you read my post #13 about the neuropathy and how to catch the urine to text for ketones?
I agree about the meters. I have been hesitant about switching to a human meter but I am about to make that transition. I have done side-by-side testing a little and I find that in the 300-380 range (where Leo has been) it's been 79-95 points different. That is why we adjust and say 120 is normal instead of 150. That takes into account that the numbers will be a little lower with the human meter. Also, I have done an Alphatrak test one right after the other and they were about 30 points off as well so I don't think you ever get a "perfect" test.

It really is learning the base curve for your kitty. I can guarantee that Leo's #s are much different when taken at the vet and not just human to pet meter but stress as well. We can only go by the trends that we see and trying to keep them in the normal range as much as possible.
 
You can put some saran wrap in the liter box where she pees, then dip the ketostix in that and follow the directions on the box to a tee. I don't think you should put ketostix in the litter.
As for the neuropathy all of use Methyl B12. Once you can get Biscuits better regulated you should see a difference.




Most of us use this brand , , just mix it in the wet food and add water, it's tasteless. Within 2 months Tyler was walking and jumping again.
I did see any improvement every couple of weeks
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methyl

balamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5
9.44 for 100 capsules click on where it says quanitys you will see 100 capsules, if they only have the qty of 60 get them

I know money is tight here is the other Methyl B-12 members use but it's expensive
33.90 for 60 pills , you would have to crush them up
https://www.amazon.com/LifeLinks-Zo...lets/dp/B008G3LI2M/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

@feralcatmama

@feralcatmama
You can put some saran wrap in the liter box where she pees, then dip the ketostix in that and follow the directions on the box to a tee. I don't think you should put ketostix in the litter.
As for the neuropathy all of use Methyl B12. Once you can get Biscuits better regulated you should see a difference.




Most of us use this brand , , just mix it in the wet food and add water, it's tasteless. Within 2 months Tyler was walking and jumping again.
I did see any improvement every couple of weeks
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methyl

balamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5
9.44 for 100 capsules click on where it says quanitys you will see 100 capsules, if they only have the qty of 60 get them

I know money is tight here is the other Methyl B-12 members use but it's expensive
33.90 for 60 pills , you would have to crush them up
https://www.amazon.com/LifeLinks-Zo...lets/dp/B008G3LI2M/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

@feralcatmama

@feralcatmama

I do have that brand, she's been using it almost 2 weeks now. I have noticed slight improvement in her walking but it's not anywhere near normal yet. Hopefully with a few more weeks she will start to feel better and walk/jump better too. She tries to jump on a chair periodically but usually doesn't make it. I lift her up there if I see her attempting a jump because I don't want her to get hurt.
 
I just did a search on and here is what a member said about the meters
I copied it for you
THe premier is a human meter, so it's going to read lower then an alphatrak. the numbers are closer together at lower ranges, and far apart at higher numbers. The scale for normal on a human meter is 50-120 and on an alphatrack it's 68-150

I have used the Relion meters with no problem , Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21
using the Relion Meter

On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2. Healthy BG ranges on a human meter are 50-120.
Take action numbers means when you have to intervene with food to bring those BG up
There is no conversion chart between a pet meter and a human meter. It's like comparing apples and oranges.

Did you read my post #13 about the neuropathy and how to catch the urine to text for ketones?
@feralcatmama

Thank you for that info about the meters. I'm still a bit paranoid about using it but after tomorrow I have no choice as I am down to 1 strip for the AT2. I did read your reply about the ketostix and how to test her urine. I may get to Walmart tomorrow and check if they have any in stock. I appreciate that tip.
 
This is the transdermal BUPE I used.
Strength 0.16mg/0.1ml.
Dose 0.05ml Every 8 to 12 hours as needed.
Some cats just cannot be pilled, others absolutely hate liquid oral meds. The transdermal comes in prefilled syringes and is the consistency of toothpaste. Rub some inside the ear flaps and work it in. For a sick cat having their ears tickled rather than being pinned between your knees or swallowing something gross is a lifesaver for both of you.
 
How is Biscuits doing today, does he still have a fever

Thank you for asking, Diane. She's about the same, currently she is at the vet and they just called that they can't find anything significant wrong with her. Bloodwork came back good except for her glucose, which was at 515 this morning and she had not eaten all night. I really believe that her sugar is staying high because of the pain from her neuropathy. The vet is changing her to Levemir today and thankfully I have some on hand as the lady I live with and take care of is also on Levemir, so I can just use that for now and hopefully will get approved for it from DCIN soon. Maybe with this we will get her sugar down permanently and see an improvement in her neuropathy as well. Her fever this morning was at 104.9, and the vet tech got a reading of 104.3, so it was down slightly. They are giving her a shot of Convenia to treat anything they may have missed, but the bloodwork was all normal, no UTI, which was their first thought and no kitty cold issues, nothing out of the ordinary at all. It's so weird, but she's been so miserable the last two days. She is also getting an Onsior shot, for pain and inflammation and will also help bring the fever down so hoping that this resolves on it's own, whatever it is. At least she got taken care of and I know it's nothing serious. I am relieved, to say the least. :facepalm:
 
Again I'm not giving you helpful medical help, this is a worst case scenario. I've brought cats home for their last few days but only if I could keep them pain free. We had a great vet who made that last trip a peaceful one. We used transdermal BUPE, it's something you give a cat who just doesn't want to eat. It didn't affect their numbers and I once safely quadrupled the recommended dose. We kept Nigel away from the stairs but he never stumbled, knew where he was and knew who we were.
I know this is a bit morbid but it's better to be prepared, we were never under the delusion this was a life saving measure, just a few more days of pain free life.
I dislike being the only one who cannot give you valid medical advice, I just want you to be prepared. I've also had a few that bounced back from the edge and lived long happy lives. Truly wishing you all the best.
Dickson :bighug:

I think Nigel was a lucky boy to have someone love him and care for him the way you did. I appreciate that you gave me that info about the transdermal BUPE. That is helpful in case I need it. Please don't think it wasn't because nobody else ever told me about that and it's handy to know about it in case something goes wonky with Biscuits. Thankfully the vet didn't find anything horrible in her bloodwork and I'm able to bring her home this afternoon. She will receive antibiotics and a pain shot and we're switching her to Levemir today and hopefully this will be the game changer we need. I guess we'll find out. :cat:
 
Hi Karen, I hope her fever comes down very soon. I'm glad all her blood work came back good. I'm so glad you will be switching to Levemir today. Hopefully you will get approved for it from DCIN . That would be great.
I hope the Onsior helps . Please keep us updated :bighug::bighug::cat:

Have you read about the dosing methods for Levemir? What dose will you be starting her on?
Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings? We adjust doses by 0.25 units.
If your lady friend uses the Pen you can only adjust by whole units . You need to be testing after her PMPS also

If you're not sure on what dose to start with or get some advice I would post on the Lantus/ Levemir forum since you already have your signature and SS set up.
Don't forget to change your signature for Biscuits that you switched to Levemir and the Date and on your SS :bighug::bighug:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
So happy Biscuits is back at home. Some dogs adjust as well as can be expected staying at a vet but there is nothing sadder than a cat giving you that look, "What, you're leaving me here?" Our vet's dad was also a vet so she's seen everything. She once told me the sickest dogs are always happy to see you but sometimes visiting a sick cat can backfire. I'd bring an air mattress and spend the night if I could. You're in good hands Biscuits, mamma loves you. :bighug:
 
Hi. I cannot add to the good advice from more experienced members on here. I just wanted to wish you and Biscuit well. x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top