Please need doseage help immediately

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Phoenix's preshot blood glucose was 153 this morning. He is due his morning injection. I have been giving him 4.5 units in the morning and evening. Should I lower his dose this morning or give him 4.5 units? Any advice would be appreciated. He is due his injection now. Thank you
 
I have already fed him. Should I go ahead and retest anyway or cut his dose down to about 2 units?
 
I just checked his glucose again. He ate about 30 minutes ago. His glucose has dropped to 128 and I haven't given him his insulin. Please someone tell me what to do. Should I skip his shot?
 
Since you fed abc he’s coming down you can wait two hours without moe food and decide then. Can you be off schedule by that much? Otherwise I would skip. Since still decking 39 minutes after eating I would skip. Get another test in an hour.

Next time don’t feed, stall and retest.
 
Thank you for your advice. I checked again after 1 hour. It was 182. I decided to skip his shot since I had to leave for a curb pickup at the grocery store. I will test again before I feed him.

I would like to know if the raw pancreas I have been feeding him for the last 2 months could cause this rapid decrease. I noticed that for the last 3 weeks, Phoenix has been having regular bowel movements every day. Prior to this, for the last 3 years, he only had a bowel movement every 3 days. These would be very firm and dry. I would give him olive oil or femalt to lubricate his movements. Now, I don't need to do this.

Your opinions would be appreciated. I rely on all of you for your excellent advice and thank you.
 
Please read the Dosing Methods Sticky Note, and see if you'd like to follow Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) methods for dosing. Regardless, either method would have you continue to give 4.5 units tonight. It would have been interesting to get a before bed test last night to see if he went lower.

If you want to know about a particular product, maybe post a question in the Feline Health forum, specifically about it. Let people know which produce you are using too.
 
I will take your advice and give him 4.5 units tonight and read the sticky notes. I took another reading before I fed him lunch. It has gone back up to 345. This reading is 4 hours after his regular injection time.

I am so grateful for all your help. I was very sceptical about taking advice from a website when I first joined. But you guys are the greatest and I don't know what I would do without you.
 
Back
Top