Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Devon72

Member Since 2022
I have a very complicated situation on my hands and I need some help strategizing how to use a limited resource.
My wife and I have a diabetic cat named Feather. He is 18 years old, he has been diabetic half his life. She takes care of his insulin so we don't double treat him. I have taken care of him only a very few times for a short period.
Normally, everything is very stable, and he eats and takes his medicine like clockwork. He is still able to climb stairs and jump up on the couch and all that. His eyes are just starting to get cloudy, but he can still see and hear fine.
My wife has had to go to emergency on Wednesday. She is very sick and they are still trying to figure out what it is. She is unavailable, and she will be unavailable for a while. Very suddenly, I must take care of Feather in difficult circumstances. On Wednesday and Thursday I was very preoccupied with my wife. I mechanically gave him the insulin and his meals and I didn't really notice he wasn't eating his food very well - I just stopped by home to give him his shots and dole out some food and then back to the hospital on those days.
On Friday she was put into a ward with no visitors allowed, and I've been home since. I caught him going too low too soon on Friday, yesterday, when I noticed too few pees. The test read 2.5 ... I wasn't sure I did it right but it seemed to fit the symptoms. He was also sick. I gave him a high carb gravy food my wife keeps for these occasions, which happens once a year or so. He ravenously ate it and seemed to make a total recovery that's lasted 24 hours now.
Here I need to mention that after locating the test kit, we seem to only have 4 strips left and it's the weekend. I can't get more til Monday. I also need to remind that he is 18 and he sleeps alot regardless of the condition of his diabetes. So it's not always easy to tell what is going on, and, he is at the point where we are not going to put him through too much more - it's essentially hospice care at home now.
But not right now. I don't want my wife to recover and find out he's gone. She is going through so much. He is very very important to both of us.
I skipped Friday evening's dose of insulin. This morning (Saturday), I used 1 test strip and he checked out very high. I resumed his normal dose this morning, and managed to convince him to start eating normally again, though it took some effort. So far it seems like he is eating, drinking, sleeping, and peeing at his normal rates today, and his personality is back, attention seeking, grooming, and all. He will have to have another dose tonight, and I won't be able to watch him all night. But I could set an alarm.
I have 3 test strips left. It's Saturday. I have to give him 4 doses between now and when the vet is open (one tonight, two tomorow, one Monday morning) and then I can get more test strips. For now I'm flying blind besides those 3 strips.

I know general basics and it was easy to find videos on how to use the test kit and stuff like that, but I'm having trouble getting information on specific details and I need answers fast.

Right now I need to know when after a dose of insulin is blood sugar supposed to be lowest?

I will probably have other questions later and any tips are welcome.
 
Hi , first Im sorry to hear that your wife is very sick , I pray they can figure out what's wrong.
What insulin are you using so I can tag some members for you
Where do you live, can you go out and buy a human meter and tests strips so you don't have to wait until Monday. Most of us use human meters since that's what our numbers are based on.
How many units of insulin are you giving
2.5 (45 US BG is very low) good job on feeding the high carb food.
After giving him the insulin how many hours was it that you caught the 45 BG
 
Right now I need to know when after a dose of insulin is blood sugar supposed to be lowest?
It depends on what insulin you are using
Until we hear from you can you set up what we call your signature, information we need to help you
If you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine


We also use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG so we know how the insulin is working and how low they are dropping so we know when to either increase or decrease the dose
We adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time . We don't adjust the dose by going by the Pre Shots

About the spreadsheet
AMPS - means AM Pre Shot the first test you take in the AM ,you need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced

Units is where you would put how much insulin you gave
+1 is one hour after giving insulin if you were to test then that's where you enter his _BG number
+2 two hours after giving insulin. ditto
+3 and so on until you get to PMPS - PM pre shot withhold food 2 hours before testing

+1 same as you do for AM cycle

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers
I'll give you the link to set it up , if you have trouble just ask and we have a member who will gladly do it for you


You can look at any members spreadsheet to see what it looks like, it's at the end of everyone's signature just tap on it

To set up your spreadsheet
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Hi, I have not slept for days and my brain is not working too well so bear with me. He takes ProZinc insulin, 2 and 2.5 units. I will not be able to do a curve because I don't have enough pokers til Monday. I only have 3 pokers left. I have more strips actually, but not too many pokers. I don't know if you can use the pokers twice but I am not taking any chances until I find out. It's a SmartCheck 2 not a human meter, and the vet is closed til Monday so it is what it is.

He seemed to be ok all day today. I'm just giving him his regular doses and making sure he eats his regular amounts.

  • Caregiver & kitty's name: My name is Devon, the cat's name is Feather
  • DX: Diagnosed around 2012 or 2013. Born (we think) 2004.
  • Name of Insulin: ProZinc
  • Name of your meter: Smart Check 2
  • Diet: Combo.
  • Dosing: he gets 2 units and 2.5 units, 12 hrs apart.
  • DKA or other recent health issue: bouts of mild constipation (having one now - receiving Restoralax)
 
Ok my brain isn't working but I understand now what you say about the human meter. I could get one tomorrow morning at the drugstore. Thankyou. I'm overwhelmed right now, and things are just not coming to me.

What gauge of lancets do I want for a cat? The ones that he has are very small and fine. They seem to have 33 and 30 gauge available.
 
Ok my brain isn't working but I understand now what you say about the human meter. I could get one tomorrow morning at the drugstore. Thankyou. I'm overwhelmed right now, and things are just not coming to me.

What gauge of lancets do I want for a cat? The ones that he has are very small and fine. They seem to have 33 and 30 gauge available.
I've been testing my boy for over a year now. We started with 28 gauge & we are now using 30 gauge. Judging from your post you've been testing for awhile, so I would say either of those gauges will work. I hope your wife gets well soon & she & feather are both very lucky to have such a loving & caring husband/ cat dad. Also hoping you can get some rest :bighug:
 
Feather is due for some testing. I don't know when he has been tested last. He is so stable all the time for so long ... she tests on a suspicion and most of the time, it turns out he is super normal.

The stability seems to have returned and he is doing great currently, all day since shortly after his morning dose. I'm getting a lot of contentment signals. I'll get a good sleep tonight, thanks. And tomorrow I'll have as many strips and lancets as I need. What a relief.

Thanks so much for the help. I'll probably have many more questions later.

The link to set up spreadsheets seems broken.
 
This is a post, helping us to help you, that contains all of the information on setting up a spreadsheet, etc.

Chances are that Feather was reacting to the stress of your wife not being home and your worry. Cats can be exquisitely sensitive to changes in their environment and your kitty's routine (and yours!) was upset with your wife's illness and hospital stay. That said, you did great! You caught the low numbers and intervened. Feather is clearly in good hands.

Most of the members here use a human meter and all of the associated items needed to manage their cat's diabetes. Lancets (what you're calling pokers), meters, strips, etc. can all be purchased at your local pharmacy. If there's a lancet box around, get the same gauge as what you've been using. The higher the number, the thinner the needle. I'd buy whatever Feather is accustomed to.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Right now I feel like I just need someone to "report" to, as crazy as it sounds. He's doing really great again today. He seems very very normal and I am working hard to keep him that way. He likes someone making a fuss over him. It's silly at the best of times, and very difficult stuff for me right now. But it does keep everything on track, so I'm forcing myself to do it.

My own schedule is completely destroyed, and I'm sure he picks up on it. I'm still having difficulty sleeping etc. I've got some medication now though. Part of the problem is the fact he had an incident and now I feel like I need to check up on him around the clock. I need to let go a little bit now that it's passed.

He is kind of inviting me to do the things she does with him. They have many rituals and she makes a lot of silly fuss about him. I didn't want to do this at first, it's just too weird. But I've started trying to do some of it. Some is easy. When she brushes her teeth in the morning, he tags along and hops in the tub. She turns the tap on to a tiny stream, which he plays with while she brushes her teeth. He does this with me too sometimes. Him and I did this, this morning.

I didn't feel the need to do tests as he is stable again, but soon I am going to do a full curve since I'm a new person and I just want to start with a fresh understanding of where we are at right now. I'm going to get the human meter but maybe not for a day or two, now that I've got him stable again. I'll have to learn everything and get familiar with him in particular. But right now I need to take a step back and just let him be himself with me for a few days so that I can bring the routine back to life, in spirit as much as in schedule. And let the panic ease.
 
Ok I will test him before shots from now on. It's not going to be easy. I'm reading up on the guide. Thanks to all.

Things aren't looking good for my wife. I don't know what to expect but I sure don't want to lose them both at the same time. Feather gives me something to focus on.

This is Feather when he was young, its our favorite picture of him. He is older but still looks very similar.

upload_2022-10-23_19-39-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-10-23_19-39-48.png
    upload_2022-10-23_19-39-48.png
    1,020.1 KB · Views: 345
Question: is this "sweet spot" on the forward edge of the ear or the back edge of the ear?

c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072


Also he has started to resist the tests and I am not getting any blood on the most recent test, and I have to sleep, there is just no option because if I get sick that's no good at all. I have to sleep and just hope they are both ok for tonight. I had to give him his regular dose without getting a test.

It was much easier when he wasn't feeling well or when he was napping. It's super hard when he feels good, and he gets excited before meal/shot. I'm having trouble with the needle too. Is there video of people doing the procedures that I can watch? The more videos the better.

I found a way to check previous tests on the meter we have. She hasn't been testing him hardly at all for a long time. It looks like he hasn't been tested for several months.
 
Last edited:
either side of the ear will work, it's different for every cat so whatever works for you is fine.
Some cats are dummies (sounds nasty but we have one) and some are incredibly in tune with their surroundings. My wife isn't well right now, mother in law had her third stoke, our oldest cat died last week and a bit over a month ago my niece had another suicide attempt. I totally get where you're at right now and our sweetest cat knows something isn't right and spends every night glued to my wife. I won't make you some poetic promise but at least I understand as do many more of us.
he is at the point where we are not going to put Feather through too much more - it's essentially hospice care at home now.
I'm assuming your wife knows this and agrees with you. Last week we just accepted the fact that while we could have had our cat poked and prodded some more what was the point. Like Feather they both just got old but your timing is so much worse. He's doing those silly 'mom' things with you because he misses her and has nowhere else to turn. Go ahead and humor him, you'll regret not doing it later. He needs you and you need the support we can give you. I'm sorry I'm not the one who can give you technical support but this wonderful place is so much more than what it first appears. I've had two sugar cats and have been here long enough to have laughed and cried too much. Keep doing what you're doing, don't be afraid to ask a stupid question and keep coming back. We'll get through this together.
 
Here is one video ,I had always given Tyler his injection in his scruff, pull up until you fell like an indentation, you can actually feel it with your finger , that's where you want to shoot.
DON'T Listen to what she says about over drawing how many units you have to give and then pushing it back into the vial or a pen. I'm just showing you this to show how she injects it
 
Hi, I have not slept for days and my brain is not working too well so bear with me. He takes ProZinc insulin, 2 and 2.5 units. I will not be able to do a curve because I don't have enough pokers til Monday. I only have 3 pokers left. I have more strips actually, but not too many pokers. I don't know if you can use the pokers twice but I am not taking any chances until I find out. It's a SmartCheck 2 not a human meter, and the vet is closed til Monday so it is what it is.

He seemed to be ok all day today. I'm just giving him his regular doses and making sure he eats his regular amounts.

  • Caregiver & kitty's name: My name is Devon, the cat's name is Feather
  • DX: Diagnosed around 2012 or 2013. Born (we think) 2004.
  • Name of Insulin: ProZinc
  • Name of your meter: Smart Check 2
  • Diet: Combo.
  • Dosing: he gets 2 units and 2.5 units, 12 hrs apart.
  • DKA or other recent health issue: bouts of mild constipation (having one now - receiving Restoralax)
Devon this information needs to be at the bottom of your posts so we can see it right away, some might not go back and find where you have it so

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
Look at the end of my post you will see it in gray
@Devon72
 
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
When you have some time you can read all about Prozinc here , read all the yellow stickys, especially the 2 dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
 
Last edited:
Right now I need to know when after a dose of insulin is blood sugar supposed to be lowest?
ProZinc usually nadirs +4 to +6 but could be later
You should test first thing in the AM, withhold feeding 2 hours prior to the test so his BG is not good influenced then test him ,feed him his bigger meal and then give him his insulin
IF his BG is lower 200 we advice to post and ask for help
As long you are around ,have enough test strips , med and high carb for and can monitor I think you can shoot
I would get another test @+2, then @+4, then @+6 for both cycles
You want to switch up the testing times each day
Like @+3, the @ +5 and @+7 both cycles like filling in pieces of a puzzle

You can feed him smaller snacks during rack cycle such as 2 tablespoons if his wet food
Any freeze dried treats, plain boiled chicken, small piece of cheese
Just keep asking any other questions you might have
Hope you get a good sleep tonight
His pic is so adorable
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the team! Feather is a beautiful ASH, looks just like my kitty Chester. I love ASH's, they are so smart and bright-eyed! You have received excelled support and advice in this thread, I have nothing to add other than I wish you and your wife well and I hope she recovers soon and is home cuddling Feather soon.
 
I googled the meter you said you are using and nothing comes up saying SmsrtCheck 2 glucose meter
Are you sure it's not a human meter and not a pet meter
I found this ,is this what you are using
https://www.omnia-health.com/product/smart-chek-blood-glucose-monitoring-system

No I'm sorry it's an AlphaTrak 2
I've found a good way to give the needle. I was holding the needle wrong and it made it very difficult. It's only the blood test technique that is a problem now. Apparently he hasn't been tested in months. I know it's a risk but he will have to wait a few more days because I need to focus on too many things at once already.
 
Last edited:
No I'm sorry it's an AlphaTrak 2
I've found a good way to give the needle. I was holding the needle wrong and it made it very difficult. It's only the blood test technique that is a problem now. Apparently he hasn't been tested in months. I know it's a risk but he will have to wait a few more days because I need to focus on too many things at once already.
No problem at all ,I know you need to focus on other things
A tip, hold the lancet in your hand ,forget about using a lancing device
Look closely at the lancet under a light ,you will see that one side curves upward that's the side you want to poke with.
 
I started out with the AlphaTrak 2 meter. I changed over to a ReliOn Premier Classic available at Walmart. I paid $9.00 for the meter and the test strips are $17.98 for 100 strips. Compared to the strips for the AlphaTrak at over $50. per 50 strips.

The transition was smooth, both use the same technique for testing.

I hope that your wife will be home again soon. My best to you and Feather. Your willingness to step up and take over his care in her absence is impressive.
 
Thankyou DTM for the tip about the curve in the lancets. Very handy to know. I thought I was bending them when pulling the cap off.

I will try to get a human meter soon. I have some mobility issues so it's difficult getting things on short notice especially in my current condition. Things are going to move, but slowly. My goal is to be able to post a spreadsheet by the end of the week or early the next week. Tonight I will definitely be getting a real sleep courtesy of a powerful prescription, and then tomorrow, barring catastrophe, I'll set up my profile/signature.

There is like a micro-pharmacy next door, they don't have much, no meters, but they did have lancets so I have 200 of those now, plenty for the time being. They are gauge 30 (the only gauge they had) and look a little finer than the ones that come with the Alpha Trak. I'm hoping the finer gauge will make things go more smoothly, although I'm guessing its harder to get the blood.

Some advice suggest using the marginal vein, some does not. I don't think I'm having much luck with the 'sweet spot' and so far all my successful tests have used the marginal vein. What is the reason not to use it? Is it ok for newbies to use it for a short time?

When I first saw the low symptoms, I panicked and tried to get blood from the middle of his ear because I didn't know what I was doing, so there might be some trust issues now.

Tonight I will try again to test him, because I'm going to take some medication to sleep and I won't be able to watch him through the night like I have been doing. I find the tests super difficult. Hopefully some of these tips will help.
 
Last edited:
DON'T Listen to what she says about over drawing how many units you have to give and then pushing it back into the vial or a pen.

Shelley showed me to do it that way to get rid of air bubbles and make sure the dosage is correct. What is the problem with it?

I also have a related question. For years now, she has used the same needle for both morning and evening shots. Is this safe?
 
Shelley showed me to do it that way to get rid of air bubbles and make sure the dosage is correct. What is the problem with it?

I also have a related question. For years now, she has used the same needle for both morning and evening shots. Is this safe?
"If you draw up too much insulin in the syringe... squirt excess into a paper towel or the sink anywhere but back into vial. There is a silicon coating inside the syringe. It may contaminate the insulin vial with silicon." You can just twist the plunger little by little to let out extra drops.
The lubricant makes it possible to easily slide the plunger up and down the barrel in order to draw the dose. I would just take my time when drawing the dose I want ,if you see an air bubble just flick the syringe with your finger

we do not recommend reusing syringes. Apart from infection, you would contaminate the insulin each time you introduced a used needle into the insulin.
They get dull, plus the lubricant inside can contaminate the insulin.
@Devon72
 
Last edited:
Some advice suggest using the marginal vein, some does not. I don't think I'm having much luck with the 'sweet spot' and so far all my successful tests have used the marginal vein. What is the reason not to use it? Is it ok for newbies to use it for a short time?

Found this posted by one of our members
  • avoid the marginal vein, this causes bruising and is much more painful to kitty
  • rotate, rotate, rotate -- down one ear, up the other, down one side of the ear, up the other. Giving the ear time to heal
@Devon72
 
Last edited:
Tonight I will try again to test him, because I'm going to take some medication to sleep and I won't be able to watch him through the night like I have been doing. I find the tests super difficult. Hopefully some of these tips will help
Just keep trying, just leave some food out for him during the night, I hope you can get a good sleep tonight. Praying you got some good news about your wife :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
They are gauge 30 (the only gauge they had) and look a little finer than the ones that come with the Alpha Trak. I'm hoping the finer gauge will make things go more smoothly, although I'm guessing its harder to get the blood.
Give the 30 gauge lancets a try , we suggest 26 or 28 because they will make a bigger hole , not an actual hole that you'll see . You can pick them up at CVS, Walgreen's, Costco , Walmart , I don't know where you live so I don't know what places you have by you. From what you said the low you caught was 2.5 are you from Canada
@Devon72
 
Yes I'm in Canada. Not much news about my wife I'm afraid. The health care system here is having some difficulties.

I'll get the spreadsheet set up tomorrow
 
Yes I'm in Canada. Not much news about my wife I'm afraid. The health care system here is having some difficulties.

I'll get the spreadsheet set up tomorrow
No rush ok, when you do don't forget your signature ,
The information you posted needs to be at the bottom of your posts so we can see it right away, some might not go back and find where you have it so

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
Look at the end of my post you will see it in gray.

In Canada, the Freestyle Lite is a popular model, the company that originally made the AT also made it. So similar small blood drop needed. Bonus, the Freestyle is a lot cheaper! And available in most store pharmacies. Some people in the east buy at Shoppers Drug Mart and use the points. , . Do shop around the pricing, sometimes test strips are on sale. Some people buy test strips on eBay.

Sleep Well
@Devon72
 
Last edited:
If Feather is starting to give you trouble when you are trying to test him
Try giving him a freeze dried treat right before you are getting ready to poke and one after. Try taking him to the same place to test him so he'll associate getting the treats before and after you test him
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

@Devon72
 
If Feather is starting to give you trouble when you are trying to test him
Try giving him a freeze dried treat right before you are getting ready to poke and one after. Try taking him to the same place to test him so he'll associate getting the treats before and after you test him
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

@Devon72

That must be what the PureBites are for. Freeze-dried chicken breast flakes. I think she also uses Greenies when he won't eat his dry food, to get him started or as a substitute.

My wife's condition is worsening, and the family is arriving tomorrow. Then I will have some help.
 
That must be what the PureBites are for. Freeze-dried chicken breast flakes. I think she also uses Greenies when he won't eat his dry food, to get him started or as a substitute.

My wife's condition is worsening, and the family is arriving tomorrow. Then I will have some help.
Oh Devon I'm so sorry to hear about your wife ,I have no words :(
Know we are here for you . Yes the Pure Bites are fine to give, the Greenies are too high in carbs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Some hopeful news ... my wife has responded well to dialysis and she was responsive again earlier today, and took some water. They're talking about allowing limited visits soon.

Help has arrived. I have a Freestyle Lite human meter, and hundreds of strips and lancets. Things are very chaotic here right now but soon I'll have the four hands I need to do tests.

I've started tackling the spreadsheet

What a day
 
Some hopeful news ... my wife has responded well to dialysis and she was responsive again earlier today, and took some water. They're talking about allowing limited visits soon.

Help has arrived. I have a Freestyle Lite human meter, and hundreds of strips and lancets. Things are very chaotic here right now but soon I'll have the four hands I need to do tests.

I've started tackling the spreadsheet

What a day
That's wonderful news. I'm so glad your wife is improving & you will get to visit her.

Great news that you got all of your supplies to test now as well. Hopefully you've been getting some sleep as well. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Hugs to you Feather & your wife & prayers for continued improvement @Devon72
 
Some hopeful news ... my wife has responded well to dialysis and she was responsive again earlier today, and took some water. They're talking about allowing limited visits soon.

Help has arrived. I have a Freestyle Lite human meter, and hundreds of strips and lancets. Things are very chaotic here right now but soon I'll have the four hands I need to do tests.

I've started tackling the spreadsheet

What a day
That is hopeful news :) continued prayers for Shelley . I'm glad you'll be getting some help now with Feather :bighug::bighug:
 
OK I have the spreadsheet set up, no information entered yet. Once my brain eased a little it wasn't hard at all. Feather seems to be doing great. Tests will start soon.
 
OK I have the spreadsheet set up, no information entered yet. Once my brain eased a little it wasn't hard at all. Feather seems to be doing great. Tests will start soon.
Great no rush for the information yet, we know you are very busy
But don't forget your signature
you can fill out what we call our signature that will be helpful,it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine


I hope Shelley is still improving :bighug:
 
What does "Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom" mean? And what is DKA? Diabetic ketoacidosis?

Here is also another question. In the past year (well before this entire incident) I've noticed that Feather's hind legs seem a bit funny. It's barely noticeable (I might even be wrong), he's definitely not walking on his hocks, he doesn't have any trouble with stairs or getting up on the couch, but I just sense something different. If it's diabetic neuropathy, can it be headed off before it's an issue?
 
Last edited:
it does sound like diabetic neuropathy and yes, that tends to go away when the kitty gets well-regulated as do other symptoms such as weight loss, drinking excessive amounts of water and peeing a lot, etc.
 
What does "Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom" mean? And what is DKA? Diabetic ketoacidosis?
The 2 dosing methods for Prozinc
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
They will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed. You would need to pick one to follow and add it to your signature

DKA
A dangerous, sometimes fatal metabolic acidosis or diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) may develop. In untreated cats with diabetes, excessive ketones are produced, resulting in ketonuria and DKA accompanied by electrolyte imbalances. Ketoacidosis is a serious condition that can ultimately lead to an acidotic coma and death.
 
If it's diabetic neuropathy, can it be headed off before it's an issue?
Is Feather walking like a rabbit? Flatfooted ? If so it's most likely diabetic neuropathy
Once his BG is regulated it should get better, plus you can start giving him
Methyl B-12 capsules. They are tasteless , Open the capsule and mix it in Feathers wet food , add water and stir it up. You should also add water to Feathers wet food anyway
Give one per day
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
14.49 for 100 capsules
Once you start to get Feathers BG regulated and starting the Methyl B-12 you should start seeing an improvement
Tyler had neuropathy and he's back to walking and jumping
Took about less than 2 months, but every couple of weeks I saw improvement
 
Is Feather walking like a rabbit? Flatfooted ?

No ... he walks on his paw pads like normal. His hips just seem weird. When I brush him, he sticks his legs out flat and straight behind, like a person lying on their stomach. It's very alarming. I thought he broke his hips the first time I saw it, but he just got up like it was no big deal.
 
No ... he walks on his paw pads like normal. His hips just seem weird. When I brush him, he sticks his legs out flat and straight behind, like a person lying on their stomach. It's very alarming. I thought he broke his hips the first time I saw it, but he just got up like it was no big deal.
Then it doesn't sound like neuropathy to me. Maybe a little arthritis
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top