?Please Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you aren't getting blood don't roll the ear but rather massage it up from his head toward the puncture site. It may take a few passes but gentle massaging will prevent bruising and coax rather than force a blood bead. His ears will learn to bleed better the more you test so be patient. It will get easier. :)
 
Sandi

Glad he is coming up. Remember that it can take carbs two hours to wear off so I would not go two hours without testing again; it would be best if you could test in an hour or so....we've seen numbers come back down again and it's still early in the cycle.

Normally, you would take a reduction for a drop below 90. However, since you shot 1u last night, it could easily have affected the cycle today. Since you are home this weekend, if he were mine, I'd shoot 0.5u consistently (unless he's too low to shoot....which would be below 90) and get as many random spot checks as you can in consideration of his ears. If at shot time, he is 90-150 and you aren't sure whether to shoot, don't feed him but post and ask for help, ok?

You might also go back to posting on the Lantus and Levemir ISG in the format I gave you. That is the best way to get attention there. I think no one noticed today because there was nothing about the subject line that indicated there was an issue.

Great job today!!!

So glad to see he's come up a bit but as Marje said you still need to be vigilant as he could drop again. You did well today catching that low number and dealing with it. The first time is always difficult and you handled it well. :D
Thank you, Linda. I didn't feel very good about myself. Cried a lot. :( But I just can't seem to get Chase to bleed... even using suggestions. So I'm literally torturing him to be able to test. I know it's more important to keep track of his numbers, and hurting his ears with a lancet won't kill him, like diabetes could... but still... it's heart wrenching.

Rolling the ear is what the vet told me to do. I have gotten the worse advice, all the way around, with this vet. I won't be going back.
 
If you aren't getting blood don't roll the ear but rather massage it up from his head toward the puncture site. It may take a few passes but gentle massaging will prevent bruising and coax rather than force a blood bead. His ears will learn to bleed better the more you test so be patient. It will get easier. :)
That's what Marje said... about how they will learn to bleed. But my goodness... how long does that take? :(
 
Thank you, Linda. I didn't feel very good about myself. Cried a lot. :( But I just can't seem to get Chase to bleed... even using suggestions. So I'm literally torturing him to be able to test. I know it's more important to keep track of his numbers, and hurting his ears with a lancet won't kill him, like diabetes could... but still... it's heart wrenching.
I understand how much this testing hurts you because of the idea that you're hurting him. You'll get MUCH more proficient at it before long and he'll learn to accept it. I'm sorry that today has been so harrowing. I think the 1 u dose was still having an impact and that's why you got such a dip with 0.5 u today. Lantus has to be dosed very consistently because part of one dose sticks around to influence the next.

We'll get you on the right track! :) Re getting attention on your thread title: at the left end of the bar where you type in the title there's a little box that contains a small drop down menu if you put the cursor on the box. The menu has a blue "question mark", a red "911" or a "no icon" choice. Click on the blue question mark to add it to the thread title. If you're truly in a hypo panic, use the red 911.
 
about how they will learn to bleed. But my goodness... how long does that take
It usually doesn't take that long but every cat is different. I find my girl, who has always been pretty easy to get blood from, is more difficult when her numbers are low for some reason but every cat is different. Chase will come to realize that what you are doing is making him feel better and he won't be upset with you. Cat's ears don't have that many nerve endings so they don't feel anything near what we feel if we poke our finger. We just have to be careful to get a clean poke, to massage not squeeze to get a blood bead and make sure to apply light pressure after testing to avoid any bruising. Warming the ear before testing can help too but I'm sure you have tried that.
 
BG is now 132, so it's holding steady. It has been an hour since the last test. I hope I can wait 2 hours to test again, now, so that he and I can have a small break. I would really like to run down the street to the store. :( And I guess tomorrow will have to be laundry day, as I have to go to the laundry mat. I won't leave him except for a few minutes, today. And I just really need to run to the store. I don't have anyone to help, so I'm it. :)
 
I understand how much this testing hurts you because of the idea that you're hurting him. You'll get MUCH more proficient at it before long and he'll learn to accept it. I'm sorry that today has been so harrowing. I think the 1 u dose was still having an impact and that's why you got such a dip with 0.5 u today. Lantus has to be dosed very consistently because part of one dose sticks around to influence the next.

We'll get you on the right track! :) Re getting attention on your thread title: at the left end of the bar where you type in the title there's a little box that contains a small drop down menu if you put the cursor on the box. The menu has a blue "question mark", a red "911" or a "no icon" choice. Click on the blue question mark to add it to the thread title. If you're truly in a hypo panic, use the red 911.
I did what you said... I massaged it from the base of the ear up. WOW... that makes so much more sense than what the vet said. It didn't bleed much, but it seemed to be less traumatic than what I had been doing. thank you. :)
 
BG is now 132, so it's holding steady. It has been an hour since the last test. I hope I can wait 2 hours to test again, now, so that he and I can have a small break. I would really like to run down the street to the store. :( And I guess tomorrow will have to be laundry day, as I have to go to the laundry mat. I won't leave him except for a few minutes, today. And I just really need to run to the store. I don't have anyone to help, so I'm it. :)
I think you can wait. When was his last snack?
 
I think you can wait. When was his last snack?
His last snack was at around 9:45, soon after finding out that I needed to get his BG up. I only gave him a small bit of gravy... no real food. Chase usually eats once in the morning and once at night, because.... again... it's what the vet said I should do. Feed him before each time I shoot and nothing in between. Now I'm having to re-learn everything. I need to read up on everything here. It's been very difficult to get the chance. There is so much to learn. I had a follow up with that vet tomorrow, and I just canceled the appt. I will never go back there, again.
 
I see no problem waiting a couple of hours to test but leave a bit of food (LC) out for him while you are away just in case he starts to drop at all.
 
His last snack was at around 9:45, soon after finding out that I needed to get his BG up. I only gave him a small bit of gravy... no real food. Chase usually eats once in the morning and once at night, because.... again... it's what the vet said I should do. Feed him before each time I shoot and nothing in between. Now I'm having to re-learn everything. I need to read up on everything here. It's been very difficult to get the chance. There is so much to learn. I had a follow up with that vet tomorrow, and I just canceled the appt. I will never go back there, again.
I like Marje's idea to give him a little regular low carb food. Give his ears a break though.

Take a deep breath. Today has been very hectic and you're still new at this. It feels like a waterfall of info dropping on you. It won't always be like this. Try to read just a little bit at a time, make notes on things you don't understand and post those questions on here. If the question is very general, post on the main health forum. If it's about Lantus, post on that forum.
 
I also think you can wait but you might want to feed him some LC food to keep him flat.
I can do that. He has NO problem eating. LOL. The only thing I will miss about the vet office is that I can't monitor his weight until I find a scale. And I don't know when that will be. The last time he was weighed was on 1.18.17... the last time he was at the vet office. His first weight was on 1.15.17, at 14015 lbs... the day I took him in and he was so sick... the day they did hos blood work up and found out he was diabetic. Three days later, he weighed 14.63. That was the last time he was weighed on a vet scale. I don't know what his weight is now, but he eats every bit of almost 11 oz of wet food, per day.
 
You're doing a great job of taking care of Chase. We all had to learn as we went along and all had panic attacks dealing with those low numbers at first. I don't mean this as criticism, but just wanted to point out why you probably didn't get help on the Lantus forum this morning. Your subject line said "Starting SLGS Today-Need Help". This made me think you needed help with SLGS. Next time you may want to put "Need help now" or something more specific.

I bought a baby/toddler scale on Amazon for Furball so I could weigh her at home.
 
I gave him about a tablespoon and a half. He is currently cleaning himself and will then nap, as he is on his favorite pillow. I'm going to put some clothes on and run to the store. Will test again at around 2:00 p.m.
 
You're doing a great job of taking care of Chase. We all had to learn as we went along and all had panic attacks dealing with those low numbers at first. I don't mean this as criticism, but just wanted to point out why you probably didn't get help on the Lantus forum this morning. Your subject line said "Starting SLGS Today-Need Help". This made me think you needed help with SLGS. Next time you may want to put "Need help now" or something more specific.

I bought a baby/toddler scale on Amazon for Furball so I could weigh her at home.

No offense taken... not at all. I made that my subject line because that's how I was told to make it. LOL. I started the new thread after I tested Chase 1st thing this morning and his BG was at 183, so the thread wasn't urgent. It was when I did his +2 test and saw that alarming number, when I freaked out and couldn't remember ANYTHING! My 2nd post has a question mark at the beginning of it but that's not what they mean when they said put a question mark at the beginning of your post.. I only found that out, today. :) So I was trying to get attention. LOL
 
Last edited:
No offense taken... not at all. I made that my subject line because that's how I was told to make it. LOL. I started the new thread after I tested Chase 1st thing this morning and his BG was at 183, so the thread wasn't urgent. It was when I did his +2 test and saw that alarming number, when I freaked out and couldn't remember ANYTHING! My 2nd post has a question mark at the beginning of it but that's not what they mean when they said put a question mark at the beginning of your post.. I only found that out, today. :) So I was trying to get attention. LOL
Let me give you an example....when you got the +2 and it was a lot lower than AMPS, it would have gotten you more help if you had edited the subject line like this:
2/18 Chase AMPS 182 +2 76 NEED HELP PLS

Anyone looking at it could have seen that was a huge drop and most people who have been around in the L/L group would have known you are new. However, sometimes there aren’t as many experienced people on as at other times. If it is ever urgent and you don’t get help, you can do just as you did today....post in Health.

As Carla, I also saw your post in L/L but there was nothing that made me think there was an urgent issue...only that you needed help with SLGS. But I looked at his SS and saw the lower +2 and then read that post.

You’ll get the hang of it.
 
Last edited:
No offense taken... not at all. I made that my subject line because that's how I was told to make it. LOL. I started the new thread after I tested Chase 1st thing this morning and his BG was at 183, so the thread wasn't urgent. It was when I did his +2 test and saw that alarming number, when I freaked out and couldn't remember ANYTHING! My 2nd post has a question mark at the beginning of it but that's not what they mean when they said put a question mark at the beginning of your post.. I only found that out, today. :) So I was trying to get attention. LOL
My fault for suggesting that wording, Sandi! :facepalm: Re weighing: I bought a digital baby scale too and it works really well for kitties. I monitor Teasel of course and also his brother who had to lose a little weight. Teasel goes on it no problem but his brother is very cautious - I had to teach him with treats that the scale wouldn't swallow him up!
 
My fault for suggesting that wording, Sandi! :facepalm: Re weighing: I bought a digital baby scale too and it works really well for kitties. I monitor Teasel of course and also his brother who had to lose a little weight. Teasel goes on it no problem but his brother is very cautious - I had to teach him with treats that the scale wouldn't swallow him up!
Where did you get your baby scale?
 
I'm hoping that some of you might still be watching this thread so that you can coach me. Chase's BG is a little bit higher than it was this morning, but not by much, and the time fast approaches for me to give him insulin, again. So naturally I'm scared.

Will someone please look at his SS and tell me what you think? I want to feed him, now, but I don't know how to handle this after what happened this morning. I know I will be giving him his shot, so I'm thinking that feeding him is fine. But how much? If I'm understanding this correctly, I want to make sure that he's hungry, just in case his BG goes low like it did this morning. However, Chase LOVES to eat. Even this morning, he couldn't get enough to eat.
 
I think you are fine to feed your normal meal for your PS meal. He is going up and may bounce tonight. You'll still want to get a +1 and a +2 tonight just to see where he is going. Make sure you add each test to your subject line so people can see where he is headed.
 
I truly understand why you're scared - it's confusing and new and you had an exciting morning. However, with Lantus consistent dosing is important. The effects of that 1 u dose are gone by now. How long before his PM BG test is due? Post here as soon as you do it and tell us the number. Your +11 number is 203 and that's high enough to give 0.5 u again.

Re food: a normal meal is fine. It's great that he's a good eater - very helpful when you need to "steer" him with food as you did today.

Deep breaths ...
 
He gets his shot in 30 minutes. How long after he gets it do I test? My times are a little off because of how things went down this morning. So... he will get his Lantus at 7:00. He got it at 6:50 this morning but I do better when I can keep things closer to being on the hour precisely so I'm going to wait the extra 10 minutes. he just ate about 3 TBL of low carb food but he usually eats a bit more than that.
 
Yes, I agree, he will almost certainly "bounce" upwards after the lows today, and if he's a good eater it's not too much of a worry that you'll get into a situation where you have to steer and he won't eat. If you are really worried, though, you can do something like give him half his meal at the regular time, and then give him the rest once you are confident he's not going to dive again like he did this morning. Again, I'd be very surprised if he did that, but he is, after all, a cat, so you never know! :cat:
 
I think the +2 is the best indicator of where this cycle is going to go, but if you wanted you could get a +1 before that-- the Lantus won't have taken effect yet, so you'd just be seeing the effects of whatever trajectory he's on (again, almost certainly upwards) and possibly a little food spike.

I am confused as to when it's NOT ok to feed him.

Generally, you want to not feed two hours before the pre-shot test (to make sure you get a number that isn't food-influenced). Other than that, I'd say feed meals as you normally would. If he's a good eater, then anytime he goes into a dive you can probably be assured that he'll eat for you when you need to steer, just as long as you don't free-feed and let him eat his fill at those times.
 
Before today, Chase was eating twice a day. He would eat just before his a.m. shoot, and just before his p.m. shoot. Should I just keep doing that? I have read that people break up the meals throughout the day. Does it matter, since he LOVES to eat? What about how food affects his testing? I'm still very confused how all of these factors work together. His ears are SO bruised. Both of them, now.
 
He gets his shot in 30 minutes. How long after he gets it do I test? My times are a little off because of how things went down this morning. So... he will get his Lantus at 7:00. He got it at 6:50 this morning but I do better when I can keep things closer to being on the hour precisely so I'm going to wait the extra 10 minutes. he just ate about 3 TBL of low carb food but he usually eats a bit more than that.
The sequence is:
  • no food for 2 hours before the pre injection BG test (so the BG number isn't food-influenced)
  • do the BG pre shot test
  • feed a regular meal
  • inject insulin while kitty is eating or right after he's finished.
After this, the tests you do are to track:
  • when the insulin is starting to lower BG (might start to show at +2 or +3
  • when the BG is at its lowest (often around +5. +6 or +7).
All of the extra tracking tests don't have to be done every day.
 
I think the +2 is the best indicator of where this cycle is going to go, but if you wanted you could get a +1 before that-- the Lantus won't have taken effect yet, so you'd just be seeing the effects of whatever trajectory he's on (again, almost certainly upwards) and possibly a little food spike.



Generally, you want to not feed two hours before the pre-shot test (to make sure you get a number that isn't food-influenced). Other than that, I'd say feed meals as you normally would. If he's a good eater, then anytime he goes into a dive you can probably be assured that he'll eat for you when you need to steer, just as long as you don't free-feed and let him eat his fill at those times.

OK... so then it's ok that I fed him AFTER I just tested, right? And he'll be getting his insulin in 30 minutes so I thought it would be ok to not test right before his shot since I just tested.
 
After I give him his insulin, I would prefer to wait 2 hours if that seems safe, at this point. Then I can stay up and do another test 2 hours after that to see where he is. Should I set my alarm for 2 hours after that test to test him again, since I will be sleeping?
 
Before today, Chase was eating twice a day. He would eat just before his a.m. shoot, and just before his p.m. shoot. Should I just keep doing that? I have read that people break up the meals throughout the day. Does it matter, since he LOVES to eat? What about how food affects his testing? I'm still very confused how all of these factors work together. His ears are SO bruised. Both of them, now.

Many of us feed multiple meals because it's thought that it's easier on the pancreas of a diabetic cat, but if the two meals work for you and Chase it's not necessary to change. This is one of those fine-tuning things.

OK... so then it's ok that I fed him AFTER I just tested, right? And he'll be getting his insulin in 30 minutes so I thought it would be ok to not test right before his shot since I just tested.

Yep, that's fine, especially with his ears in kinda rough shape right now. With that, I'd say definitely wait until the +2 to get another number-- I'd even say +3 except that he did such a quick dive this morning (though that might have been partially from the depot of the 1.0 shot yesterday).
 
Nan.... what kind of human meter do you use? I really need to get one because I can't afford going through all these Alpha Trak test strips. Someone recommended one to me and said they sold them at Walmart, but my Walmart didn't have that kind when I was there on Thurs night.
 
I was told that most people here who use a human meter use a Reli On micrometer. Walmart had other Reli on meters, but not one that was a micro meter.
 
I think people around here use several different Relions-- the Micro, the Confirm, and the Prime. They differ in the size of blood droplet needed and the price of strips-- I think the Prime needs the biggest drop and cheapest strips, so if you tend to get a decent amount of blood per poke it's fine, but if you get smaller drops you might get errors and wasted strips (so that they aren't as cheap after all). I don't think you can go too far wrong with most human meters, I'd go for the one with the most affordable strips that you can get your hands on at short notice and all hours.
 
I truly understand why you're scared - it's confusing and new and you had an exciting morning. However, with Lantus consistent dosing is important. The effects of that 1 u dose are gone by now. How long before his PM BG test is due? Post here as soon as you do it and tell us the number. Your +11 number is 203 and that's high enough to give 0.5 u again.

Re food: a normal meal is fine. It's great that he's a good eater - very helpful when you need to "steer" him with food as you did today.

Deep breaths ...
I forgot to post his
Are you warming Chase's ear before you test?
Yes... I am.
 
Just a couple of quick comments to maybe clarify some things.

  • It’s often good to get a +10 or +11 test so you can see where he’s headed as he goes into preshot; certainly, it might be easier to get the +10/+11 tests before the PMPS.
  • If you get a +11 test, I’d still test again before I shot because Lantus can get a second dip at the end of the cycle and you don’t want any surprises. You want to be sure you know the number you are shooting and so it is best to test/feed/shoot all within about 15 minutes.
  • Insofar as meals, correct that you don’t want to feed the two hours before shot time, if possible, because you don’t want the number food influenced. There are some exceptions but for now, it is a good rule of thumb.
  • Generally, you want to try and not feed after nadir; after nadir (the lowest part of the cycle and peak action of the insulin), feeding can put the brakes on the cycle and decrease duration.
  • Not everyone here uses ReliOn but most do. I used a Micro because it was very small and easy to deal with. I found it to be as reliable as other human meters I’ve used. It uses the same strips as the Confirm.
 
Did you give him 0.5 u of insulin? What was his BG before you fed/injected. Was the 203 the last number you got? If you can update your spreadsheet when you have a minute that would be very helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top