Please HELP with dosing!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Islasmomma

Member Since 2021
Last night my boy had the lowest BG I have seen yet. Unfortunately I didn’t get his PMPS but I got his BG for +2.5 after 2.5u of Prozinc and it was 218. Then +5 it was 59 and +6.5 it was 69.
This morning his AMPS was 95 which is the lowest I have seen yet i stalled and rechecked 20 minutes later it was 98. Should I skip his morning dose ?
 
Last night my boy had the lowest BG I have seen yet. Unfortunately I didn’t get his PMPS but I got his BG for +2.5 after 2.5u of Prozinc and it was 218. Then +5 it was 59 and +6.5 it was 69.
This morning his AMPS was 95 which is the lowest I have seen yet i stalled and rechecked 20 minutes later it was 98. Should I skip his morning dose ?
Yes I would skip the dose.
Your kitty has earned a reduction in dose at the next shot time down to 2.25 unit providing the preshot is high enough
Please ensure you always check the preshot BG before giving the dose.
I will tag @JanetNJ as she is a Prozinc user.
Please set your spreadsheet so we can help you
Help us help you
 
Yes I would skip the dose.
Your kitty has earned a reduction in dose at the next shot time down to 2.25 unit providing the preshot is high enough
Please ensure you always check the preshot BG before giving the dose.
I will tag @JanetNJ as she is a Prozinc user.
Please set your spreadsheet so we can help you
Help us help you

Thank you I will keep checking his numbers. If his PMPS is still below 120-200 should I skip that dose as well ? or stall ?
 
He gets his shots at 8am and 8pm. These days his average numbers before his AMPS and PMPS have been about 66-69.
You gave 2.25 units to a preshots in the 60’s? Are you sure he didn’t hypo?? That’s a lot of insulin at such a low preshot.
 
You gave 2.25 units to a preshots in the 60’s? Are you sure he didn’t hypo?? That’s a lot of insulin at such a low preshot.

No, these past few days he’s been in those number and I haven’t given him a dose because I’m scared of him going into hypo. But I’m also a bit confused because then about 6-7 hours later his numbers go up and I don’t know if I should give him a dose then or just wait until his next scheduled dose
 
No, these past few days he’s been in those number and I haven’t given him a dose because I’m scared of him going into hypo. But I’m also a bit confused because then about 6-7 hours later his numbers go up and I don’t know if I should give him a dose then or just wait until his next scheduled dose
I will tag @JanetNJ
On your spreadsheet when you didn't give insulin can you please put NS there (No Shot) so members know
@Islasmomma
 
No, these past few days he’s been in those number and I haven’t given him a dose because I’m scared of him going into hypo. But I’m also a bit confused because then about 6-7 hours later his numbers go up and I don’t know if I should give him a dose then or just wait until his next scheduled dose
If you skipped then wait for the next dose. Can you put 0 or NS for the times you didn’t shoot? One thing you could do if you gets low preshot is stall for up to an hour without feeding so you can see if the number is going up. I would go very conservative with the dosing. It looks like that pancreas has kicked back into action. I wouldn’t do more than 1 at the next shootable number.
 
If you skipped then wait for the next dose. Can you put 0 or NS for the times you didn’t shoot? One thing you could do if you gets low preshot is stall for up to an hour without feeding so you can see if the number is going up. I would go very conservative with the dosing. It looks like that pancreas has kicked back into action. I wouldn’t do more than 1 at the next shootable number.
If the numbers stay low I shouldn’t go back to the 2.25 units ?
 
no i think it's going to be way too much. I think your cat's pancreas is working. Don't do 2.25 with these kinds of numbers. i think he's aiming for remission!!!
If his number stay within range should I not give him his scheduled doses? Not even .5 or .75?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top