Please help. What blood glucose is too low to give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My vet told me never to give insulin when the BG is under 100. I use the Relion meter which is $9. I've been using it for years. Maybe you can have your vet do the first curve and then do them yourself after that. It sounds like your vet wants to charge you a lot of money. Try to find a vet that specializes in cats. I went through about 5 vets before I found one I trusted and who knows her stuff. Also, 2 units are way too much. Start with 1 unit.
 
you mean the rice sock? I think its Gia's cat that doesnt tolerate any foreign objects near her ears. I think it was this thread I read that My apologies if I'm wrong.
 
you mean the rice sock? I think its Gia's cat that doesnt tolerate any foreign objects near her ears. I think it was this thread I read that My apologies if I'm wrong.
Actually, I quit using the rice sock a long time ago. I tried using a thimble, but it's probably somewhere under the bed. I just use my own finger now and, if I prick too hard, I can measure my own BG (I'm pre-diabetic) as well.
 
My vet told me never to give insulin when the BG is under 100. I use the Relion meter which is $9. I've been using it for years. Maybe you can have your vet do the first curve and then do them yourself after that. It sounds like your vet wants to charge you a lot of money. Try to find a vet that specializes in cats. I went through about 5 vets before I found one I trusted and who knows her stuff. Also, 2 units are way too much. Start with 1 unit.
Thanks. I need to have a serious chat with my vet tomorrow, which will likely result in finding another, which will be a stress for tomorrow.
 
@Roberta Kurtz and @jt and trouble (GA)

yea, the sock won’t work. Warming his ear with a liquor mini bottle filled w warm water seems to work best, smaller than the others but still not too thrilled when he’s hungry.
I wonder if you could give him half his food and test immediately, then let him finish his food. What is your position when you test him? I sit next to Chloe on the bed and pet her a bit before testing.
 
I wonder if you could give him half his food and test immediately, then let him finish his food. What is your position when you test him? I sit next to Chloe on the bed and pet her a bit before testing.
I hear you, that is an idea I might try but I just can’t do anymore today. Barely slept in 2 days and spent my whole weekend on this. I’m so much more scared of low glucose than high at this point, so will leave it until the AM
 
Thanks. I need to have a serious chat with my vet tomorrow, which will likely result in finding another, which will be a stress for tomorrow.
I bet she's a young vet. I found out that they don't learn much about feline diabetes in vet school and are told to start off ALL cats at 2 units. I went through about 5 vets before I found one who knows what she's doing and is compassionate at the same time. She also corresponds by email promptly when I have a question. I believe she has a cat with diabetes. She's about my age, early 60'ss.
 
I hear you, that is an idea I might try but I just can’t do anymore today. Barely slept in 2 days and spent my whole weekend on this. I’m so much more scared of low glucose than high at this point, so will leave it until the AM
Sleep well and don't worry. It will all work out. I don't panic at all anymore because I've been through everything. I was a bit freaked this morning when Chloe was at 28, but she communicates with me when she's hungry or not feeling well. She's also been through 4 ketoacidosis events which cost about $1,000 each time. Those are caused by glucose being too HIGH. This morning, she ate well and I gave her a few treats. She was at 57 about 3 hours later. I also rubbed a drop of honey on her lips. Rollercoaster Chloe. Now she's at 320. I gave her about .75 dose.
 
Last edited:
The younger vets probably have more up to date knowledge on diabetes, honestly. The latest AAHA Diabetes Guidelines came out in 2018 and most vets aren't following it.

Giovanna, I think you're fine skipping all things considered. Why don't you make a new thread over on the L&L forum, either today or tomorrow morning for dosing assistance? George looks eager to get off the juice but we may also be seeing the depot in effect. I think you're going to need a much lower dose, if he isn't already trying to do an off the juice trial.
 
Hi All - I’ve tried twice this morning to get blood but not enough both times. He’s aggravated as he is hungry. I am going to have to skip again. This will be his 4skip in a row, but his #s were good yesterday so not sure what else to do at this point. I’ve also got a very intense work day ahead and calls w/ the vet and my own doctors so all I can really do for now is feed him and try again later.
 
I bet she's a young vet. I found out that they don't learn much about feline diabetes in vet school and are told to start off ALL cats at 2 units. I went through about 5 vets before I found one who knows what she's doing and is compassionate at the same time. She also corresponds by email promptly when I have a question. I believe she has a cat with diabetes. She's about my age, early 60'ss.
Not young - maybe 50.
 
@Giovanna1127 it looks like George is sitting at a blood glucose of 107 more than 48 hours after his last insulin shot, is that correct? If so, that’s great! And good job sticking with it and getting a BG reading. I know it’s hard and can be stressful for you both in these early days, but you’re doing a very good job. And that 107 is exactly why we encourage people to test rather than shoot blind.

Please follow up later with an update and tonight’s pre-shot value. I’ll be watching. :-)
 
@Giovanna1127 it looks like George is sitting at a blood glucose of 107 more than 48 hours after his last insulin shot, is that correct? If so, that’s great! And good job sticking with it and getting a BG reading. I know it’s hard and can be stressful for you both in these early days, but you’re doing a very good job. And that 107 is exactly why we encourage people to test rather than shoot blind.

Please follow up later with an update and tonight’s pre-shot value. I’ll be watching. :)
Thanks so much! I tested again before dinner and it was 97!!! 2.5 days now without needing insulin. My soon to be former vet said he may be going into remission. Will continue to check 2x/day for the next few days and am continuing to update my spreadsheet. Will message is I get a reading of 180+to ask if I should give insulin. Testing has also become easier, so again grateful for all of the help provided here.

I’ve already told 2 other folks w/ diabetic cats about this forum and how helpful I have found it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top