Please help my Charlie!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nina.Felz

Member Since 2020
9CB58C13-3177-40CC-85B7-E0A62718C7B5.jpeg
E90A3E7A-334D-4CAE-BB01-CACD99AB63A2.jpeg
270A1258-6206-42C8-A73A-E955416ECD52.jpeg
6FB3C0AC-AE95-444A-B000-F3A6D106BAC0.jpeg
Hello, I hope this finds everyone well and safe!
I have never done this but i am asking for advice for our amazing king of the jungle, Charlie. Charlie is 10 years old and was always a very big muscular cat. Over the past month or so we noticed him deteriorating. We recently found out that he has diabetes. We have taken him to 3 different vets. All have said that everything is normal except for the diabetes. One vet wanted a little over $5000 for treatment that he wouldn’t even explain, the second vet said to put him to sleep, and the third vet just gave us insulin and basically said good luck and he should be fine. They did not give us any instructions and called his insulin into CVS. When calling the vet, just to get simple instructions, the receptionist (her name is Kathy at Twin Oaks in Teaneck) said to just watch YouTube videos and hangs up the phone. This has happened repeatedly with only this individual that works there. According to the instructions on his prescription, he is to be administered 2 units of insulin twice a day. Since getting the insulin, Charlie has been twitching or having seizures. It seems to be worse at nighttime. Last night was the absolute worst it has ever been. He has been very lethargic, wobbling, and sleeps with his eyes open. But he is eating and drinking. My husband and I can’t even sleep because we are so worried about him. He’s our baby and he has been such a loyal and loving companion and we will do whatever we can to make him feel better. Please, if anyone can recommend anything for our Charlie it would be so greatly appreciated. Please see files attached!
270A1258-6206-42C8-A73A-E955416ECD52.jpeg
6FB3C0AC-AE95-444A-B000-F3A6D106BAC0.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 270A1258-6206-42C8-A73A-E955416ECD52.jpeg
    270A1258-6206-42C8-A73A-E955416ECD52.jpeg
    57.8 KB · Views: 617
  • 6FB3C0AC-AE95-444A-B000-F3A6D106BAC0.jpeg
    6FB3C0AC-AE95-444A-B000-F3A6D106BAC0.jpeg
    55.1 KB · Views: 689
  • E90A3E7A-334D-4CAE-BB01-CACD99AB63A2.jpeg
    E90A3E7A-334D-4CAE-BB01-CACD99AB63A2.jpeg
    44.1 KB · Views: 693
  • 9CB58C13-3177-40CC-85B7-E0A62718C7B5.jpeg
    9CB58C13-3177-40CC-85B7-E0A62718C7B5.jpeg
    30.9 KB · Views: 685
First of all, I am so sorry you are all going through this.
Novolin N is not a suitable insulin for cats and 2 units is too much. Please don’t give any more at the moment.
Can you find another vet who knows a bit more about feline diabetes.......I know that can be hard sometimes.
Not sure where you live but suitable insulins for cats are Lantus, Levemir or Prozinc.

There is a lot you can do to help Charlie and get him back to his former self.

  • I would go out today and buy a human glucose meter from Walmart or a pharmacy. Walmart have the ReliOn brand Which is suitable.we will help you to learn to test the blood sugars and keep Charlie safe.
  • Buy some higher carb food and make sure you have honey or Karo on hand in case of low numbers
  • Feed a low carb diet. I will post a link to suitable foods.
  • Set up a spreadsheet and signature so we can help you
But first we need to make sure Charlie is Ok and his blood sugars are up to normal.

How to treat a hypo
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

How you can help us help you

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Suitable foods

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/links-to-food-charts.174182/

Home testing link

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
I'm so sorry, it is heart breaking that your vet experiences have been awful, but good for you for seeking some help, we can help you here. Novalin isn't the best insulin for cats, it can hit hard and fast.

Here is the guide from the subforum, https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-humulin-n-novolin-n-nph.231593/

Are you able to get a blood glucose monitor? It is so important to be able to test your cat's levels before giving insulin. Most of us use a human meter, you can get at any pharmacy.
 
Nina welcome

I'm sorry you have had such a bad experience with the vets, you are not alone in that a lot of us got a rough start and bad vet experiences but this is a great place to be if your cat is diabetic, there are a lot of things you can do for Charlie

But the first thing right now is to make sure he's ok, so no more insulin for the time being and make sure he eats something once we know he's a bit better we'll take it from there and start guiding you guys on what you have to do to help him

Diabetic cats can have a normal long happy life you just have to get it under control and it is not that hard once you know what to do
 
My heart is so happy from all of these responses! I have Karo syrup and a very good family friend of mine has the blood sugar/glucose device. He has a minor twitch attack about an hour ago. I gave him a little Karo syrup and he stopped after a few seconds (seemed more like an eternity). Currently, he is eating fancy feast patté (his favorite) and drinking water.
 
My heart is so happy from all of these responses! I have Karo syrup and a very good family friend of mine has the blood sugar/glucose device. He has a minor twitch attack about an hour ago. I gave him a little Karo syrup and he stopped after a few seconds (seemed more like an eternity). Currently, he is eating fancy feast patté (his favorite) and drinking water.
 
My heart is so happy from all of these responses! I have Karo syrup and a very good family friend of mine has the blood sugar/glucose device. He has a minor twitch attack about an hour ago. I gave him a little Karo syrup and he stopped after a few seconds (seemed more like an eternity). Currently, he is eating fancy feast patté (his favorite) and drinking water.
I am so pleased to see your response and happy to hear Charlie is responding to the honey.
It does sound as if he has been having hypoglycaemic episodes with the insulin. Having seizures is serious and it is really important you now start to test the blood glucose (BG) levels so you can keep him safe.
Unless your friend is going to give you the meter to use indefinitely, I would recommend you buy one. They are cheap and if you buy a ReliOn one, the test strips are also cheap.
It’s important you are able to start testing today so we can see what is happening with the BG.

Please also go out and buy some fancy feast gravy lovers canned food so you have some high carb food available if needed.

I would phone around and ask the vets if they are experienced with feline diabetes and what insulin they use.
Once you can get a suitable insulin, we can guide you with the dose.
We don’t want to leave Charlie too long without insulin if he needs it......but please don’t give him any more insulin until we see what his BG is.

Continue giving him small frequent snacks of food.

Please hit the like button when you read posts so we know you have seen and read it...that helps us as we are always very concerned when we get a sick or hypo kitty. And keep in close contact please :)
 
Hi Nina,

Very glad you found your way to FDMB, and I'm sorry to hear about the very poor response you've had to date from the vets you've consulted. :bighug:

Please can you let us know how much time has elapsed since you gave the most recent dose of insulin - in hours and minutes, please (so that we can better gauge how strongly the insulin may still be working at the moment and when the dose is likely to wear off).


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi guys, I see some familiar names here, Nina is actually a friend of mine - she’s my best friends sister in law. She posted today on fb about her cat having diabetes and I messaged her right away and gave her a link to this site. I don’t have much experience with this insulin type unfortunately and I also have a 1 year old keeping me very busy right now, but I knew you guys would help! I will be following along and helping any way I can. I will also give her Frosty’s glucometer, but it’s the one for pets and not humans, but it’s a start. Looking forward to catching up on your posts and I really hope everyone is staying healthy and safe.
 
Hello Nina! I agree with everyone else, we need to help you find a vet who will prescribe Prozinc or Lantus. Lantus is expensive in the US but we can help you purchase from Canada at a much better price. In the meantime you need to be aware of the rules of Novolin and how to keep Charlie safe.

Here's some extra information for you when you're ready:

Spreadsheet Instructions (if it's too confusing we can have a mod set it up for you)
Signature Instructions

Novolin Notes:

Novolin hits hard and fast in the system and doesn't last very long in felines, making it not ideal. When looking for a vet (and perhaps you can look around and see if you have an AAHA-accredited vet, there's not very many, only about 15% of clinics in the US) you want to show them the 2018 AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats, which states that only Prozinc or Lantus/Levermir is appropriate for felines. This will help you to find a vet that works with you and won't argue about using the wrong kind of insulin.

Back to Novolin. The protocol is to test the BG, feed, wait 60 minutes, then inject. Food needs to already be "on board" with Novolin. We also don't recommend giving ANY insulin if BG is below 250 when using Novolin. After injecting, you want to provide a "mini meal" of their regular food every hour for about 4 to 5 hours, or until you know when the BG starts to rise again. This applies for both AM and PM shots. It's not ideal for a caregiver, which is just another reason not to use Novolin. When you are doing it regularly, it would be best if you could at least get a test in 1 hour after shooting, to make sure the BG isn't dropping too much.

Below is a shopping list for you for a hometesting kit and an emergency kit. With Charlie's low numbers, I strongly recommend getting them ASAP. Also please do not switch his food to low-carb just yet, there are a lot of elements in play and if Charlie is currently on a higher-carb food, switching it to low-carb will lower his BG even more, which we don't want at the moment, with evidence of hypoglycemia.

Hometesting Kit:

Hometesting Tips and Tricks
ReliOn Prime glucometer - $9
ReliOn Prime test strips - $18 for 100
ReliOn Lancets 26 G (or 28 if unavailable) - $1-2 for 100
ReliOn Lancing Device (optional) - $5
Travel-size Vaseline - $1
Neosporin Ointment + Pain Relief (ointment only, NOT cream) - $6
Cotton Pads (optional) - $2
Rice Sock or Pill bottle w/ warm water (optional) - homemade

You can use any kind of human meter, however the one listed above is Walmart brand and has the cheapest strips available. Same goes for lancets. You do not need a lancing device if you prefer to poke freehand, it's just personal preference. Vaseline is for helping the ear to bead up, neosporin is for helping the ear to heal/prevent bruising after the poke. Just a little dab of each. Cotton pads are optional, some people like to use them as backing so not to poke themselves, then to hold the ear a moment after to prevent bruising and stop bleeding. You can use a paper towel or your fingers if you prefer. Rice socks can be used in the microwave a few seconds to heat up and rub on the ear to draw the blood to the ear; it can also be used as backing when poking the ear. A pill bottle with warm water in it is another alternative to warm the ear, whichever thing you prefer to use.

Hypo Kit Supplies:

Hypo Kit Toolbox
Karo Syrup - $3
Ketone Test Strips (Ketostix) - $6
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Marinated Morsels/Sliced in Gravy/Grilled in Gravy varieties - $0.60 each (these are your medium-carb cans)
A few cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers/Medleys Tuscany/Medleys Gravy in Sauce varieties - $0.60 each (these are your high-carb cans)

Medium Carb is 11-15%
High Carb is 16%+

You can also search through the catinfo chart while you're at the store to check which cans available are the ones you need. They don't HAVE to be Fancy Feast but they're fairly easy to find.
 
Hi guys, I see some familiar names here, Nina is actually a friend of mine - she’s my best friends sister in law. She posted today on fb about her cat having diabetes and I messaged her right away and gave her a link to this site. I don’t have much experience with this insulin type unfortunately and I also have a 1 year old keeping me very busy right now, but I knew you guys would help! I will be following along and helping any way I can. I will also give her Frosty’s glucometer, but it’s the one for pets and not humans, but it’s a start. Looking forward to catching up on your posts and I really hope everyone is staying healthy and safe.
Ana it’s lovely to see you. How are you?
So glad you were able to send Nina here!
 
Nina, when was the last dose of insulin given?
How many hours ago?
I gave Charlie a little less than 1 unit (vet said 2) around 6pm. That was before I read that this type of insulin isn’t good for felines. He is laying on top of me now licking my face and purring. He hasn’t done that in a while. I’m have tremendous hope especially because he has tremendous fight.
 
I gave Charlie a little less than 1 unit (vet said 2) around 6pm. That was before I read that this type of insulin isn’t good for felines. He is laying on top of me now licking my face and purring. He hasn’t done that in a while. I’m have tremendous hope especially because he has tremendous fight.
How many hours ago did you give the last dose of insulin? I live in Australia so 6 pm means nothing to me.
 
Oh I’m sorry!!! Almost 4 hours ago
Ok thanks. The insulin will still be working in his system so you need to make sure he is eating plenty for you over the next several hours. Don’t fill him up with big meals, just frequent snacks.
How much has he eaten since you gave the last dose ( the last 4 hours)?
Did you feed him then wait an hour before giving the dose?
 
Hi Nina , I live in Lyndhurst N.J.
I go to Carlstadt Animal Hosp
413 Hackensack St
Carlstadt
201-939-1332
I see Dr Sass , a woman, been going to her for many many years
Dr Beeber and Dr Pla are the owners but they are not there that often
They are good but I prefer Dr Sass.
If you call in the morning ask for Christine to make an appt
You can tell her Diane Martin gave you their name. Tell her I'm Tyler's Mom
They know me very well


When Tyler was first diagnosed she gave me Vetsulin,
After awhile I switched to Lantus
It is very expensive here so most of us buy it from Canada
She is a wonderful vet, when she gave me dosing advice
which she got from her associate I didn't like what he told
her on how to dose.


I took every ones advice here about dosing
She's very easy to work with, when I told her I bought
Lantus from members here whose kitties have passed she was
fine with it


We have a Supply closet here and I do see 2 members selling
Lantus at great prices, if you wanted to get them quicker
I'll post the link below.
You will need U-100 syringes with half unit markings, they don't sell them .
I buy mine from ADW Diabetes. You will need the doctor to write a script for them.
You can call them and they will ask you who your get iscetc
Oh wait just get a script and you can buy them at Walmart


Carlstadt Animal Hosp has very reasonable prices.
If you do decide to call them most likely she will come out and talk to you
I'm not sure if they are letting anyone in yet, I haven't had to go for awhile.
She's very nice.
They are also open on Saturdays
Certain days open until 7 and 8 PM
She doesn't work on Wednesdays
 
Last edited:
About the cost of lantus most of us order from Marks Marine in Canada
We buy the 5 pack of the Lantus Solorstar Pens
They should last you for about a year depending on how many units you are
shooting.
We don't shoot using the pen because you can only increase or decrease by
1 hole unit.
So we use our U-100 syringes with half unit markings , stick it in the grey
rubber stopper in the pen and draw the insulin from there.
We use the half unit syringes because we increase or decrease by 0.25 units
at a time.
 
https://rxcanada4less.com Marks Marine pharmacy

Here is the link for Canada






Lantus Solostar Cartridges 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $159.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PEN CAN (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) *single pen open box* Brand 100iu/ml one pen 3 ml $49.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PENS 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $164.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus VIAL Insulin (10ml per vial) (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 10 ml $110.99 USD


Like I said you are better off buying the 5 pack of cartridges or the 5 pack of pens
They will last you way over a year
After your vet writes the first script you won't ever need another script.
Call them and will tell you what to do
They are very nice people

Oh when you buy the pens they will have an expiration date on them
Most likely 2022 or 2023 by now.
Put them in the frig , a middle shelf
As long as you don't puncture them they will be good until the expiration date
So you are actually saving a ton of money
 
Thank you so so so much for that information!!! I am going to call! I Bought a blood Glucose reader from chewie.com , the alpha track. It won’t get here until Friday. Is there any human type blood glucose readings that I can get in the meantime? If so, What is the best brand?
 
Nina anything else you need to know just ask.
Looking at Charlie's pic now just breaks my heart
Nina anything else you need to know just ask.
Looking at Charlie's pic now just breaks my heart
Thank you so so so much for that information!!! I am going to call! I Bought a blood Glucose reader from chewie.com , the alpha track. It won’t get here until Friday. Is there any human type blood glucose readings that I can get in the meantime? If so, What is the best brand?
 
I live in Bergen county, NJ... Hi neighbor!! Does anyone have a vet that they could recommend around this area? Even if it’s a bit far, i will go
I live in lower bergen county and use Rutherford Animal Hospital.... It's right off rt 3. Ask for Dr Tancredi. They have a lot of vets but she's the best. Ask for either ProZinc insulin or lantus. ProZinc I order from chewy.com... Lantus many here but from Marks Marine pharmacy in Canada or get a decent price using perscription discount codes. They are an expensive vet but good.

What was m his number at diagnosis? Starting at 2 units was irresponsible. The recommended starting dose is 1 unit. That insulin is terrible. Twin Oaks is good for spaying stray cats but I don't go there for regular treatment (I have had lots of strays spayed and neutered there. They do that will.... But sometimes even forget to clip the ear. I wouldn't go there for regular care.).
 
Last edited:
Thank you so so so much for that information!!! I am going to call! I Bought a blood Glucose reader from chewie.com , the alpha track. It won’t get here until Friday. Is there any human type blood glucose readings that I can get in the meantime? If so, What is the best brand?
Any blood meter that takes a 0.3-0.5 blood sample.

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Hi Nina,

Is there any human type blood glucose readings that I can get in the meantime? If so, What is the best brand?
A very popular meter with members here is Walmart's Relion Prime (or the Relion Premier). The meter is less than $10 and the test strips are probably the cheapest ones going at c. $18 for 100.

When you're at Walmart, also pick up some 26 or 28 gauge lancets (for doing the ear poke) and some urine ketone test strips (ketone monitoring is a general safety precaution, especially in cats of unclear diabetic status).

Next item is some Neosporin OINTMENT with pain relief. It makes testing easier as it helps the blood to bead up into a little droplet instead of wicking into the fur (not the cream - doesn't work). If they don't have the Neosporin ointment then Vaseline is a good alternative.

It's recommended to pick up a few cans of the following foods for your hypo kit (higher carb items used if needed to bring low numbers back up to safe range):

* Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy (20% carbs)
* Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy (15%)
* Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Turkey Feast in Gravy (15%)
* Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy (15%)

Also:

* Temptations Treats (c. 30% carbs)

I'm assuming from your posts last night that you have plenty of karo in the house.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Thank you so so so much for that information!!! I am going to call! I Bought a blood Glucose reader from chewie.com , the alpha track. It won’t get here until Friday. Is there any human type blood glucose readings that I can get in the meantime? If so, What is the best brand?
I have the alpha track if you wanna come get it from me today.
 
Hey guys, so Nina is gonna take the cat to a friend who’s a vet and try to get either ProZinc or Lantus script. Tonight after my daughter goes to bed I’m gonna go over to her place and show them how to test blood sugar and make sure they know how to inject insulin correctly. I really appreciate everyone’s advice! Hopefully once we have him on the right kind of insulin we can start getting his numbers under control. I’ll got to Walmart and pick up the ReliOn meter but I’ll also bring her my AT meter so that she has a back up. We will post the blood sugar results tonight and update you on the kind of insulin she's gonna be using. i really hope we can get him under control!
 
Hey guys, so Nina is gonna take the cat to a friend who’s a vet and try to get either ProZinc or Lantus script. Tonight after my daughter goes to bed I’m gonna go over to her place and show them how to test blood sugar and make sure they know how to inject insulin correctly. I really appreciate everyone’s advice! Hopefully once we have him on the right kind of insulin we can start getting his numbers under control. I’ll got to Walmart and pick up the ReliOn meter but I’ll also bring her my AT meter so that she has a back up. We will post the blood sugar results tonight and update you on the kind of insulin she's gonna be using. i really hope we can get him under control!
Thank you so much! And thank you everyone! We will keep everyone posted!!!! please stay safe and well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top