Please help me I am confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
Can some please help me get back on track?
Here is my problem...first off I over slept this morning by 2 hours...oh poor Baxter I felt horrible. I know he was starving. His schedule is 8 & 8.
Second is the time change.

So this is how the day has gone. I'm not going to use + because it kind of confuses me with the time change.

9:45-195-fed & test
10:00-243- tested again & shot .6 skinny
3:30 +5-175
8:00pm-+10-169 he was begging & crying for food so I fed him.

Now I don't know what to do about insulin. I am so screwed up & confused. Yes I am blonde. I am sure this really isn't that hard to figure out, but for some reason I don't have a answer to this high school math story problem. @-)

Any advice I would love.
Thank you friends.
 
So it looks to me like you are an hour late to start, then tonight you fed two hours early, so hey I was an art major in college (and thus suck at math), but by my thinking you are an hour early now overall.

So the food will mess up any number you get after feeding him, maybe if you test quick again you might get a number not tainted by food yet...just to make sure he is going up not down in numbers before you decide on what to shoot and then shoot. (and you prob want him up over 200 before you shoot)

Does that make any sense? I have brown hair with a lot of gray in it :shock: :lol:
 
I have a Marketing degree with Psychology. I really should have this figured out.

Okay so I am 1 hour early to shot insulin
2 hours early at feeding.
1 hour past him eating. I am sure he is food high.

My gosh....x-y\x=y...who knows gee I hated that stuff. :lol:

Brb going to test. Will that help us figure the answer?
 
Ok so right now we are at 179.
It's been 1.5 hrs since food.

Is it safe to shot now? I would be about 40 minutes early shooting. Then in the morning I would be pretty close to be back on schedule at 8.
 
Well if it were me, I would concentrate that we think you are an hour early overall, and fed before you have a pmps number.

Obviously you want to shoot on a rising number, but the food will do that too, so I would overcompensate to keep Baxter safe. Wait until you get a higher pmps number than you are used to shooting or shoot less insulin than you normally would on what the pmps number is. Or a little of both. And then you should test anyway to be sure all is well.

What do you think?
 
I have a degree in Italian, so I'll just say, MAMA MIA!!! :lol:

First, have you already shot?
Second, do you want to get him back on the 8-8 schedule?
...thought process: when I get up late and eat breakfast at 8 instead of 6:30, I still want lunch at 12:30. So if he's hungry, and it's past 8 on YESTERDAY's clock, 9 pm today, he's ready. But since he was delayed this morning, and it's not about a bagel or lunch, but rather a shot, I'd work my way back from +12 from his amps. Maybe +11.5 So if you shot at 10 am TODAYs time, you could shoot at 9:30 or 10:30... the first getting you back to 8/8 sooner. Then Monday, 9 am, 8:30 pm, and Tuesday back to 8/8.

If you've already shot, then just shave 1/2 hour each shot time to get it back where you want it.

How much to shoot - if you've already given it to him, it's a moot point. If not, I'd shoot on my +10 number so as not to be confused by the food spike.

Clear as mud?
 
No I haven't shot yet
I really would like to have him back on 8.

I was thinking I would go ahead & give him a reduced dose. A little something to support Mr.P. He has been to our house recently.
 
Yes, because of Mr. P and the time thing, I would definitely err on the low side of dosing tonight Jenn. Tomorrow is another day to try to get him at the dose you want him once you have the time and feeding back in order.
 
What would his normal dose be?
I didn't go to college. I went into the Marines. But I'm a math geek, so I can give you a number!
Carl
 
As I keep thinking about it without the time time change I am 1 hour late. You are right tomorrow is a new day & I try to get him back on track with 30 minutes early each cycle til we are on 8's.
I am going to give him a little right now. .2 u-40/.50u-100.
So what do I call our PMPS?
 
I would go with a skinny .5 on the U100, so just under his normal .2U40 on that reading you got at +10 (169).

How ever many hours it is right now from his last shot, put the dose amount in that column on your spread sheet.
 
It is just past 9PM in texas, right?

If so, you can shoot at 8am in the morning as long as he's rising and he's over the "line in the sand" where you would shoot, whatever that number is. 1 hour either way isn't going to be a huge difference, I don't think.
That's the beauty of the "P" insulins. Flexibility.

Carl
 
Hmmmm, doesn't seem to be rising at all from that food. I think Mr. P. is back.

Three choices. Wait and shoot later, a reduced dose (less than that .5 u100).
Skip it.
Shoot half that much now. This would be the least attractive option, IMO, because he's holding steady and if it is his pancreas, any insulin from the needle might be more than is needed. That could make a longer night for you.

Carl
 
Jenn
It's been a while since you shot a "blue" number. How comfortable do you feel with it?
It looks like a skinny .6 last night pushed him down about 70 points, maybe a bit more.
If you were to shoot half that much into a number that you are sure is rising, I think it would be okay, but it's all up to how comfortable you are with it.

Carl
 
Speaking without a lot of experience on this topic, I would hold off. If you set the alarm for 2 hours and test again, or however long you think, test and see if you shoot. Don't get wrapped up in the times. You can always adjust them once his numbers are safe enough to shoot. He may be thinking about a nice long dance marathon... then the time is moot again.

What is the threshold you're comfortable shooting? Mine is 250, but that's cuz I'm a chicken - AND that I rarely see anything that low. It might be beneficial to let Mr. P dance with him, get a good nights sleep yourself, skipping the shot, and start fresh in the morning.
 
Obviously I'm not to comfortable shooting into blue. I still haven't given him insulin. It makes me nervous. I know I want to support Mr.P. Plus I keeping thinking with a day like I had today. Everyone might log on to a 911 post from me. Scares me.
I am going to test him in a few minutes. if he is rising some I going to do it.

I know what my vet would say...don't give him insulin. I haven't listen to him that much.
 
Okay so here is a recap. Since the post has a bunch of numbers. I think I can do them in +.

AMPS-195-.6 skinny
+5-175
+10-169
+11-179
+12-167
+13-156

I still haven't given him insulin. I know these aren't non diabetic numbers. I see a small drop or actually flat. I know I'm not suppose to shot into a drop. Is this really considered a drop?

Is Mr.P here? Hello...did I just hear the front door open?
 
Jenn,
I'm guessing "no shot" was the final decision, and a good one. All of the numbers from +5 to +13 are virtually the same number, so he's just surfing the blues. A very nice thing to see!
I hope you got some sleep...

Carl
 
I'm still awake. I'm going to give him one more test in a few minutes. I hope for more blue.
I will post the result.
 
Ok so I feel asleep.
Woke up & tested him, gave him food & insulin.
+19-AMPS-272-.6
Well now we are really off schedule. It shouldn't be to hard getting back on.

Thank you everyone for your help.

Going back to sleep now. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top